Video quits after a few minutes from bootup.

jcg624

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
299
My video card is the newest part in my system.
I have a Sapphire RX480 4GB card. Bought it close to 2 years now maybe a bit less.

My PSU is and OCZ psu. I think it is 700 watts.

recently after booting up. the Video just quits. system makes beep like sound then screen goes black.

is it possible my PSU unti is starting to go. PSU age is close to 7 years.

I have a gigabyte motherboard with a Phenom 940 X4 in it.

I can walk away from computer after logging in and withing a couple minutes will hear the sound

screen will be black the light on monitor will be blinking too.



Thanks
 

ccityinstaller

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
4,241
Sounds like a PSU upgrade could be a good idea considering the age. Go into the Windows system logs and see if there is an entry with the AMD driver "stopped responding"...I just had a VEga 64 die while the rest of the system (and 2 VEGA 56s) were completely fine..Turns out the PSU was on its last legs and my $700+ card was not dead!
 

jcg624

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
299
Would this
SeaSonic SSR-650RM 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply New 4th Gen CPU Certified Haswell Ready be a decent psu to get.

This is the video card I have. I bought it in late November 2016 been working great.

SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX 480 DirectX 12 100406NT+4GOCL 4GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2017
Messages
992
Would this
SeaSonic SSR-650RM 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply New 4th Gen CPU Certified Haswell Ready be a decent psu to get.

This is the video card I have. I bought it in late November 2016 been working great.

SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX 480 DirectX 12 100406NT+4GOCL 4GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

COULD YOU MAKE THE TEXT ANY BIGGER?
 

ccityinstaller

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
4,241
HOLY LARGE TEXT BATMAN :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:....Yes that 650W would be more then enough for your system, and its a great unit to boot.

Did you check the system logs for any display related errors like I mentioned?
 

jcg624

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
299
Sorry about the large text I copied and pasted. I am currently at work but will check the logs later.
 
Top