Unifi UAP-AC Will Not Adopt

Gillbot

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 27, 2001
Messages
8,409
I've googled the crap out of this and just want to know if this thing will not work with a cloud key. Previously I set up the UAP-AC with the Unifi app but recently I got a cloud key Now it won't adopt for anything.
1656216157280.png


I've tried the set-inform command a million times, it never aadopts.
1656216205640.png


1656216244460.png


1656216294537.png


Clicking the adopt button in the Unifi App or on the Cloud Key manage page does nothing and eventually it reverts back to unable to resolve.

1656216344882.png


Is this UAP-AC just not compatible? I've also tried the syswrapper.sh restore-default but nothing, wash rinse repeat.
 

Gillbot

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 27, 2001
Messages
8,409
Done a million times. The UAP-AC has an “up to date” older firmware version that hasn’t seen a recent revision. I’m just wondering if support for this unit has just been dropped and my efforts are futile, but ideally I’d like to get it associated and running. May need to just dump it and get a newer model, though I’d prefer not to if at all possible.
 

hawk82

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 2, 2001
Messages
1,473
Check out the messages log on the accesspoint and see if there is any additional info there:
I had a hard time once joining a switch to a UniFi controller. Turns out the switch shipped with really old firmware that couldn't join the controller due to a TLS handshake mismatch. I had to manually download and install 2 firmware updates to the switch before I could join it to the controller. Only way I figured this out what dmesg showed a TLS mismatch error which helped with my Google searches.
 

Gillbot

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 27, 2001
Messages
8,409
I’ll do some further googling. Most of my searches say the set-inform should do the trick but nothing happens. A few other pages just simply say that device isn’t compatible.
 

Attachments

  • 421C1665-392F-4D4D-8B00-F84ADB62B15F.jpeg
    421C1665-392F-4D4D-8B00-F84ADB62B15F.jpeg
    265 KB · Views: 0

SunnyD

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 6, 2004
Messages
3,264
Could be they dropped adoption support for older devices at this point. I haven't really been keeping up.
 

Gillbot

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 27, 2001
Messages
8,409
Check out the messages log on the accesspoint and see if there is any additional info there:

I had a hard time once joining a switch to a UniFi controller. Turns out the switch shipped with really old firmware that couldn't join the controller due to a TLS handshake mismatch. I had to manually download and install 2 firmware updates to the switch before I could join it to the controller. Only way I figured this out what dmesg showed a TLS mismatch error which helped with my Google searches.
I don't see anything that really stands out, though i'm not sure what i'm looking for.

[42949424.910000] Bridge interface br0 is down
[42949424.920000] IGMP Query send failed
[42949424.950000] br0: port 3(eth2) entering learning state
[42949424.960000] br0: port 2(eth1) entering learning state
[42949424.990000] br0: port 1(eth0) entering learning state
[42949425.040000] br0: port 3(eth2) entering disabled state
[42949425.970000] br0: topology change detected, propagating
[42949425.970000] br0: port 2(eth1) entering forwarding state
[42949426.000000] br0: topology change detected, propagating
[42949426.000000] br0: port 1(eth0) entering forwarding state
[42949427.660000] br0: port 2(eth1) entering disabled state
[42949427.670000] br0: port 2(eth1) entering learning state
[42949427.680000] br0: port 3(eth2) entering learning state
[42949428.680000] br0: topology change detected, propagating
[42949428.680000] br0: port 2(eth1) entering forwarding state
[42949428.690000] br0: topology change detected, propagating
[42949428.700000] br0: port 3(eth2) entering forwarding state
 

Gillbot

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 27, 2001
Messages
8,409
Well, I gave up trying to get it on the controller. Seems to work fine in stand alone so I put the app on another device and set it up without logging in to my UI account. Not sure why I couldn't set it up standalone from my phone other than I am looged in to my UI account and I couldn't figure out how to find it.
 

dbwillis

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
8,732
Set inform but maybe try the ip instead of name?
Id lean towards it getting dropped due to age.
Maybe for the heck of it, for up an older version of the controller and see if it adopts there?

edit - square body AP...might have been dropped...
 
Last edited:

Gillbot

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 27, 2001
Messages
8,409
Yeah, it's a square. It can be commissioned fine in the app you just can't adopt it with a controller. I'll just toss it in the garage and use it stand alone until I run across a deal on a new(er) one to replace it.
 
Top