Transcend SSD first 30% slow and unstable speed, why?

xman123

n00b
Joined
Oct 31, 2022
Messages
4
Hi,
I have problem with relative new transcend SSD, when I test it with HD Tune software I have unstable and very slow speed first 30% of ssd and rest 70% very stable and good, here is screenshot:
81584250_ssd.png

For other drives in this PC I don`t have this problem, I have stable speed test...

Here is info from Transcend SSD Scope software:

Model Name, TS480GSSD220S
Firmware, VD0R01A0
Support Interface, SATA-3
Current Interface, SATA-3


SMART Info

[0x01], Raw data error rate, 0
[0x05], Reallocated sector count, 0
[0x09], Power-On hour count, 8763
[0x0C], Power cycle count, 30
[0xA0], Uncorrectable sectors count when read/write, 0
[0xA1], Number of Valid Spare Blocks, 107
[0xA3], Number of Initial Invalid Blocks, 62
[0xA4], Total erase count, 25940
[0xA5], Max erase count, 61
[0xA6], Min. erase count, 0
[0xA7], Average erase count, 39
[0xA8], Max Erase Count of Spec, 3000
[0xA9], Remain Life (percentage), 98
[0xB5], Total Program Fail Count, 0
[0xB6], Total Erase Fail Count, 0
[0xC0], Power-Off Retract Count, 25
[0xC2], Enclosure temperature, 37
[0xC3], Hardware ECC recovered, 0
[0xC4], ECC fail count, 0
[0xC7], Ultra DMA CRC Error Count, 0
[0xC8], Total bad block count, 62
[0xC9], SSD protect mode, 0
[0xCA], SATA Phy error count, 0
[0xCB], Reallocation event count, 0
[0xE8], Available reserved space, 100
[0xF1], Total LBA Written (each write unit=32MB), 119425
[0xF2], Total LBA Read (each read unit=32MB), 256912
[0xF5], Total GB written to NAND (TLC+SLC), 705415
[0xFA], Total GB written to NAND (SLC), 695916


System Info

CPU, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz
MotherBoard, Z87-G43 (MS-7816)
OS, Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1
OS Version, 6.1.7601
OS Base, x64
Graphic Card, Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600
DRAM, 7.88 GB
DRAM Left, 1.66 GB
 

xman123

n00b
Joined
Oct 31, 2022
Messages
4
This is system drive! Well this PC is used for video surveillance system and current position is not easy for access and also no monitor, keyboard etc., for all my need I have remote access...but this SSD look like not working stable...
 

Azrak

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 4, 2015
Messages
1,090
Was video surveillance software running at time of test?
Perhaps pagefile needed flushing in order to accommodate the memory requirements of the benchmark resulting in heavy I/O at the start of the test. If you run the test again back-to-back, does it still have the same behavior for the first 30 seconds of the second run?
 

mwroobel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
5,150
This is system drive! Well this PC is used for video surveillance system and current position is not easy for access and also no monitor, keyboard etc., for all my need I have remote access...but this SSD look like not working stable...
You can’t expect consistent benchmark results from your system drive. There are a number of other processes reading from and writing to the drive and they will cause spikes and dips in your benchmarks. The more processes accessing the drive during your benchmark run the worse it will be, and the timing will generally be variable on how bad it is.
 

xman123

n00b
Joined
Oct 31, 2022
Messages
4
All running software stopped, cpu/SSD usage almost 0% and I have 99% same result!

@mwroobel Well, look like it is not true because now I do same test on my PC with old samsung ssd and with over 20 open yandex windows and in every window I have 10+tabs, viber, anydesk, winscp, windows explorer...cpu usage 10-20%, 296 processes and 3900 threads and this is test result:
81600019_Samsung_SSD_850.png

as you can see it is a lot better, stable speed...this is a lot older ssd, storage used 90%, also this test is on older laptop with less cpu power...
 

Bowman15

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 7, 2015
Messages
1,905
Look in your performance logs at the hard disk processes to see if anything else is going on. It has SLC cache so it should not be doing that. Unless they did the switcheroo and sold you a knock off depending on where you bought it.
 

xman123

n00b
Joined
Oct 31, 2022
Messages
4
If I good know CrystalDisk mark don`t have option to test 0-100% of ssd memory on way how it doing HD Tune!? ATTO?
 
Top