The [H]ardForum Perpetual Freebies Thread

Format _C:

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
3,815
1155 i5/i7 sandy bridge or ivy bridge cpu
Will a Xeon E3-1245 v2 SR0P9 work? I'm bidding on a lot of 9 on eBay I need two and I'll pass on the other 7 to [H] member if I win the auction!
Let me know if that will work?
I put a Xeon E3-1225 V2 in my HP 8300 Elite not officially supported but the motherboard sees it properly and it works fine this (if I win the auction) will replace that

Edit: I got outbid sorry
 
Last edited:

nxcess

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2004
Messages
2,670
Will a Xeon E3-1245 v2 SR0P9 work? I'm bidding on a lot of 9 on eBay I need two and I'll pass on the other 7 to [H] member if I win the auction!
Let me know if that will work?
I put a Xeon E3-1225 V2 in my HP 8300 Elite not officially supported but the motherboard sees it properly and it works fine this (if I win the auction) will replace that

Edit: I got outbid sorry
I tried an E3-1220v2. The board didn't like it. I ended up ordering an i5 from the previous post.
 

treefortrichard

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
124

SAMSAMHA

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 19, 2005
Messages
1,960
I'm not sure what socket you're looking for
I have an e8400 and e6600
But I'm pretty sure the e6600 (which was the beast at the time) is the same socket
Both were working when pulled.
https://ark.intel.com/content/www/u...sor-e8400-6m-cache-3-00-ghz-1333-mhz-fsb.html
https://ark.intel.com/content/www/u...sor-e6600-4m-cache-2-40-ghz-1066-mhz-fsb.html
It would depend on the chipset of his motherboard. I believe that 9xx chipset works with e6600 but not E8400 as that would require the P3x/P4x series chipset.
 

gwarren007

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
19,446
Anyone have any old Pentium Ds kicking around? Looking for a 945 or 950 for testing.
Still need one? 945
20221126_190100.jpg
 
Last edited:

Jelly

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
1,070
Free for someone in CONUS : A NIB (still sealed) roll of Inland PETG 2.85mm "Natural" (which is clear) Prob cost just as much to ship as it is new with shipping these days but i'll pay it forward!
 

Mohonri

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 29, 2005
Messages
5,765
Man, I've fallen behind the times--my rig at home is running an i5-3570. Next year, though, I'll finally get around to building a new one!
 

staknhalo

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 11, 2007
Messages
3,612
Man, I've fallen behind the times--my rig at home is running an i5-3570. Next year, though, I'll finally get around to building a new one!

My 3570K was running games fine till about 2018 I started getting CPU limited with a 2070 - Div 2 and Shadow of the Tomb Raid I couldn't get over 45FPS @ 1440p IIRC even reducing settings

Games less demanding than that or older should be fine on it still - Resident Evil 2/3 Remake and Hellblade ran fine on it though so it was right around then it became hit or miss but could still play some fine
 

Mohonri

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 29, 2005
Messages
5,765
My 3570K was running games fine till about 2018 I started getting CPU limited with a 2070 - Div 2 and Shadow of the Tomb Raid I couldn't get over 45FPS @ 1440p IIRC even reducing settings

Games less demanding than that or older should be fine on it still - Resident Evil 2/3 Remake and Hellblade ran fine on it though so it was right around then it became hit or miss but could still play some fine
Fortunately, the games played most in our house are Starcraft 2, Minecraft, TF2, and Kerbal Space Program, so I haven't been suffering terribly. Amazingly, the Windows 7 installation on that computer is probably 7-8 years old by now.
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,970
What happens if it goes the other way around

🤣

Why is it the husbands always gotta get rid of shit
You get divorced. :jimlad::dead:

It is not right that there is a double standard though. I ask my wife every time she says needs new clothes where she is going to put them because every closet is full of her clothes--mine don't even have room so I have like 5 shirts and 2 pants I'm constantly cycling through.
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,970
Hi there does anyone have one of These?
Dell 33VKR or JDDXD

$12 for a piece of plastic is insane!

Gone
Have 2x Samsung 128GB MSATA drives!
2 x 4GB of 1600MHZ DDR3L SO-DIMMS
Wow, for that much if you search hard enough on ebay you should be able to just get a drive instead. (y)
 

GiGaBiTe

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
2,402
I have a e7400. Was working when pulled. LMK if you want before I recycle it.

Oops, missed this. Thanks for the offer, but the board I needed the Pentium D for, maxes out at Pentium Ds, it doesn't take Core 2 parts. I would love to try a Pentium EE 840, which is the fastest CPU my board will take, but that's a bit much of an ask for the freebies thread.

I found an AGP HD4670 at work in the recycle pile (along with several other cards and motherboards) and the best motherboard I have that still has an AGP slot is this Gigabyte LGA775 board that only takes Pentium 4 or Pentium D CPUs.

If someone else can use it, I'll let them have it, as I'm awash in C2D CPUs at the moment. I'll be listing some stuff here soon when I can find time from work, been working 7 days a week heh.
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,970
Oops, missed this. Thanks for the offer, but the board I needed the Pentium D for, maxes out at Pentium Ds, it doesn't take Core 2 parts. I would love to try a Pentium EE 840, which is the fastest CPU my board will take, but that's a bit much of an ask for the freebies thread.

I found an AGP HD4670 at work in the recycle pile (along with several other cards and motherboards) and the best motherboard I have that still has an AGP slot is this Gigabyte LGA775 board that only takes Pentium 4 or Pentium D CPUs.

If someone else can use it, I'll let them have it, as I'm awash in C2D CPUs at the moment. I'll be listing some stuff here soon when I can find time from work, been working 7 days a week heh.
If you're talking about the AGP card, I could use it for sure. I may have one of the Pentium Ds that you are looking for, but I think they're earmarked for system upgrades atm.
 

GiGaBiTe

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
2,402
If you're talking about the AGP card, I could use it for sure. I may have one of the Pentium Ds that you are looking for, but I think they're earmarked for system upgrades atm.

I'm not giving away the HD4670 lol. It's going into my collection of nice old hardware.

There were some other AGP cards in that pile of stuff I found that I'm going to give away, but they're much older and probably won't have any interest. The best is an AIW Radeon 9600, but it's missing the pigtail. I went back and dug in the recycling pile but I couldn't find it. The other cards are a couple of TNT and TNT2 M64 cards.

Gwarren07 hooked me up with a Pentium D 945 and an additional 930, which is nice.
 

Format _C:

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
3,815
Wow, for that much if you search hard enough on ebay you should be able to just get a drive instead. (y)
I do have spare slim-line optical drives but this is actually for the Dell NR95F bay (I think they fit that also?) as I have it in my main PC (In sig not a Dell though) for a card reader and I don't want an unused optical drive sitting there (for looks I guess) as all 6 SATA ports are used with my 2 5.25" Blu-ray drives and 4 spinning disks

Yes I need to clean my case

I just want the piece of plastic where that slot loading DVD-Rom is for the looks like I said
Just encase someone is wonder the case is This
 

Attachments

  • Drives.jpg
    Drives.jpg
    330.9 KB · Views: 0

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,970
I'm not giving away the HD4670 lol. It's going into my collection of nice old hardware.

There were some other AGP cards in that pile of stuff I found that I'm going to give away, but they're much older and probably won't have any interest. The best is an AIW Radeon 9600, but it's missing the pigtail. I went back and dug in the recycling pile but I couldn't find it. The other cards are a couple of TNT and TNT2 M64 cards.

Gwarren07 hooked me up with a Pentium D 945 and an additional 930, which is nice.
Good! It should be loved. :)

If it's working, somewhere out there can use it, so I'd post it up for sure.

Nice that someone hooked you up with the cpu you needed. :) Took me a while to find mine as well.
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,970
I do have spare slim-line optical drives but this is actually for the Dell NR95F bay (I think they fit that also?) as I have it in my main PC (In sig not a Dell though) for a card reader and I don't want an unused optical drive sitting there (for looks I guess) as all 6 SATA ports are used with my 2 5.25" Blu-ray drives and 4 spinning disks

Yes I need to clean my case

I just want the piece of plastic where that slot loading DVD-Rom is for the looks like I said
Just encase someone is wonder the case is This
Gotcha, makes sense. I think you might be able to use a similar part number from other manufacturers as well, like Lenovo or HP that might be cheaper on ebay.

Another thing to consider is that slot-load drive is actually rare and a bit sought after since it was used in macbooks and those tend to be more expensive as a replacement part. Of course, no one uses discs anymore (or macbooks with discs) so meaning something is more in demand than 0 isn't saying much, lol.
 

atwood7fan

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 20, 2006
Messages
109
Have a few things for shipping cost from zip 28025:
  1. i3-2120 CPU from an Optiplex 3010. Worked fine when removed.
  2. AM4 motherboard from an Alienware Aurora. Model on the board is AMMTS-SH REEV A00. I think the board is bad, but I don't have the proprietary FP connector to test it, nor a CPU to test in it, so maybe you will get lucky?
  3. 2x Pebble Time smart watches. Both work, include chargers. They both have some scuffing on the metallic parts of the front, but also have screen protectors so the screens themselves are in good shape. Have been sitting in a drawer for probably 3 years so not sure what the battery is like, but they did work last I checked.
  4. Droid mini smartphone. From the Verizon network. Probably 10 years old, but it works! No accessories.
 
Last edited:

kyang357

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
1,928
Fully working machines with a fresh win10 install activated with the affixed win7 coa. My 5 y/o nieces have moved to 1650 supers for their roblox and minecraft gaming. :):LOL:

Price of shipping (UPS ground) + $10 packing materials / food. Please message with your zip code + Paypal email for an invoice.

#1 HP EliteDesk 800 G1 USDT
I5-4570S
8GB
256GB SATA SSD
power brick (not pictured)
EDIT: Box is 18x13x5 10 lbs, shipping from 95209



#2 HP EliteDesk 800 G1 USDT
awful at unicycling = missing 1 rubber feet
I5-4590S
8GB
256GB SATA SSD
power brick (not pictured)
EDIT: Box is 18x13x5 10 lbs, shipping from 95209



#3 HP EliteDesk 800 G1 SFF
owed money to the mob = missing 1 rubber feet
I5-4670
8GB
256GB SATA SSD
EDIT: Box is 18x15x8 15 lbs, shipping from 95209


EDIT: added box size and weight
 
Last edited:

kyang357

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
1,928
Last edited:

GiGaBiTe

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
2,402
I'm back to looking for a Pentium D 945 or 950. The one I got had charred and corroded pads on it and obviously was very dead.

Just to be sure, cleaned the crap out of the pads and removed the corrosion and scorch marks, yep still dead. Three different boards wouldn't boot with it installed.
 

gwarren007

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
19,446
I had to flash the bios to be able to use the 945 after using the 930. That's why I sent it. They were pulled from working systems awhile back.
 

kakureru

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
2,087
I'm back to looking for a Pentium D 945 or 950. The one I got had charred and corroded pads on it and obviously was very dead.

Just to be sure, cleaned the crap out of the pads and removed the corrosion and scorch marks, yep still dead. Three different boards wouldn't boot with it installed.
probably was over volted by a few hundred million volts.
 

GiGaBiTe

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
2,402
I had to flash the bios to be able to use the 945 after using the 930. That's why I sent it. They were pulled from working systems awhile back.
Definitely wasn't a BIOS issue. Chip went thermonuclear after just a few seconds and the board mosfets were very unhappy.

GA-8VM800PMD-775 - Pentium D 945 supported since BIOS F4, board had F6 installed.
GA-965P-DS3 - Pentium D 945 supported since BIOS F10, board had F14 installed.
GA-P35-DS3R - Pentium D 945 supported since BIOS F3, board had F13 installed.

The Pentium D 930 worked fine on all three boards. The 945 did nothing at first, after cleaning the charring off the pads, it just went thermonuclear. I suspect whatever the last board it was in did something nasty to it.
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
43,745
Definitely wasn't a BIOS issue. Chip went thermonuclear after just a few seconds and the board mosfets were very unhappy.

GA-8VM800PMD-775 - Pentium D 945 supported since BIOS F4, board had F6 installed.
GA-965P-DS3 - Pentium D 945 supported since BIOS F10, board had F14 installed.
GA-P35-DS3R - Pentium D 945 supported since BIOS F3, board had F13 installed.

The Pentium D 930 worked fine on all three boards. The 945 did nothing at first, after cleaning the charring off the pads, it just went thermonuclear. I suspect whatever the last board it was in did something nasty to it.
did the chip i sent back in Apr. ever show up?
 
Top