Supermicro H8QGi/6 and H8QGL Next Generation OC BIOS

Status
Not open for further replies.

tear

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2011
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
1,568
CPU-Z...

I'm postulating either a bug in CPU-Z or human error. Paste a pic for further investigation.

If BIOS says DDR3-1333, then that's _exactly_ what the memory has been set up for.

Generally there isn't a lot to gain [at least folding-wise] by using fast memory with IL or AD chips.
Money's better spent on faster CPUs.

We've gone a bit too much OT, feel free to start a new thread on non-OCNG-related topics.
 

amps2volts

n00b
Joined
Jul 28, 2012
Messages
20
Hmm ok yeah not sure either. Will start another thread and post pictures when get it running again. Yeah know not much gain in memory on bulldozer amd piledriver cores so would think server version would be same.

Reason why trying to push every ounce out of server with ram is because have two ati 7990 cards installed for remotefx. They lose like 20% performance in this server and think its because of ram not in 1866 quad.

Will try some diffrent sticks to. Thanks for all your help tear.
 

loft

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 10, 2004
Messages
258
Finally got around to flashing this bios, but it seems I can't go above 237 clock speed on my 6128's; but I see several posts from others stating they were able to get higher. As soon as I try 240+ the system locks up as soon as it starts folding. No ht-retries or temp issues (running at 32c under load) either. Thoughts?
 

Larsl_OCN

n00b
Joined
Apr 17, 2013
Messages
8
So now that I bricked my board how do I get a new bios chip. H8QGi+-F. The board powers up and tries to boot but never get to post. But then after a couple minutes starts flashing sleep mode. No post error beeps. No video. No flashes on my jump drive. Is there a jumper that selects a emergency boot bios like on my gaming motherboards.
 

tear

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2011
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
1,568
loft, it's very likely that one (or more) of your CPUs can't handle it.

Though before looking at CPUs I'd suggest that you:
1. Relax memory timings (see advanced section of ocng-cu), then
2. (If you're using XMP memory) try disabling XMP (but w/regular timings)
3. (ditto) try disabling XMP (w/relaxed timings)

See what results you get at, say... 240 MHz ?
 

tear

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2011
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
1,568
So now that I bricked my board how do I get a new bios chip. H8QGi+-F. The board powers up and tries to boot but never get to post. But then after a couple minutes starts flashing sleep mode. No post error beeps. No video. No flashes on my jump drive. Is there a jumper that selects a emergency boot bios like on my gaming motherboards.
Three questions:
1. Which ROM did you use?
2. How did you flash the ROM?
3. What CPUs are you using?
 

Larsl_OCN

n00b
Joined
Apr 17, 2013
Messages
8
Three questions:
1. Which ROM did you use?
2. How did you flash the ROM?
3. What CPUs are you using?

1. H8QGi/6 rom
2. with a messed up jump drive (fixed now) I should of read some more before I started
3. 6128's
 

tear

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2011
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
1,568
1. Please provide exact file name.
2. I'm more interested in the process itself. What command line did you use, exactly?
 

Larsl_OCN

n00b
Joined
Apr 17, 2013
Messages
8
1. Please provide exact file name.
2. I'm more interested in the process itself. What command line did you use, exactly?
I was not getting it to work so I read in the Aimbios readme if you had a bad flash to rename the rom to super.rom and hit ctrl home on boot up. So I did I renamed your rom to super.rom and this is where im at now.
 

tear

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2011
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
1,568
That is not what I asked.

When you performed initial (bad) flash. How did you do it? What did you type in the command line?

EDIT: let me ask you different question that will help me better understand what happened -- was the board operating fine when you decided to go down SUPER.ROM path?
 
Last edited:

loft

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 10, 2004
Messages
258
loft, it's very likely that one (or more) of your CPUs can't handle it.

Though before looking at CPUs I'd suggest that you:
1. Relax memory timings (see advanced section of ocng-cu), then
2. (If you're using XMP memory) try disabling XMP (but w/regular timings)
3. (ditto) try disabling XMP (w/relaxed timings)

See what results you get at, say... 240 MHz ?

I'll give it a shot and report back. I won't be able to try it until tomorrow afternoon, if I have any other issues I'll leave it at 237. All in all it's a decent increase for what I paid for the chips (ebay special $35/ea)
 

Larsl_OCN

n00b
Joined
Apr 17, 2013
Messages
8
That is not what I asked.

When you performed initial (bad) flash. How did you do it? What did you type in the command line?

EDIT: let me ask you different question that will help me better understand what happened -- was the board operating fine when you decided to go down SUPER.ROM path?

Yes I believe it was still working fine.
 

tear

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2011
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
1,568
Ok, if that's the case, then I would expect the boot block to be still intact.

That said, I'd probably retry SUPER.ROM method several times (make sure you have correct
ROM image, too).

Notes:
- Press Ctrl+Home like crazy
- Be patient -- I'd give SUPER.ROM method at least 5 minutes to flash
 

Larsl_OCN

n00b
Joined
Apr 17, 2013
Messages
8
Nope nothing. The usb drive never lights up. Caps lock or num lock don't activate on the keyboard. Not sure the keyboard is activating. Is there a way to reset the bios or do I just need to get a replacement chip.
Thanks for all your help.
 

tear

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2011
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
1,568
Try PS/2 keyboard if you haven't done so already.

Note that my "retry SUPER.ROM" suggestion is based on your answer here:
EDIT: let me ask you different question that will help me better understand what happened -- was the board operating fine when you decided to go down SUPER.ROM path?
Yes I believe it was still working fine.

This assumes that breakage occurred as a result of attempted SUPER.ROM flash.

Consequently the implication is that (at one point in time) you were able to trigger
SUPER.ROM flash.

Does that make sense?
 

Larsl_OCN

n00b
Joined
Apr 17, 2013
Messages
8
I am using a ps2 keyboard.

Do you know where I can get a bios chip.H8QG6 0.A11
 
Last edited:

tear

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2011
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
1,568
I can get you preflashed chip if you ask me nicely and cover the cost of S&H :)

But, again, note that you'll need supporting equipment per my earlier post.

BTW, Supermicro does RMA/repairs w/o proof of purchase IIRC. You should consider giving them a shot, too.
Though note it takes them 4-6 weeks to get things done.
 
Last edited:

Larsl_OCN

n00b
Joined
Apr 17, 2013
Messages
8
I can get you preflashed chip if you ask me nicely and cover the cost of S&H :)

But, again, note that you'll need supporting equipment per my earlier post.

BTW, Supermicro does RMA/repairs w/o proof of purchase IIRC. You should consider giving them a shot, too.
Though note it takes them 4-6 weeks to get things done.

Please may I have a chip. :D
Do I just need to buy the kit or do I need to add the BBF SO8 Test Clip also?
 

AXm77

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 4, 2012
Messages
176
I got my H8QGi today.
After start I see this:

IMAG0268.jpg


:confused: :confused: :confused:

Anyone saw "cow" BIOS on H8QGi (rev. P01 from 07/20/2010) ???

Is it safe to flash it with Hard BIOS?
 
Last edited:

musky

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2012
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
3,154
The link still works. How the forum is handling links does not work. Just paste the address into your browser and it should download.

As far as will it work, as long as the board is an H8QGi, it should. Make sure you have an older copy of the flash utility - step 2 in post 1 has addresses for the correct downloads.
 

AXm77

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 4, 2012
Messages
176
I think that will be not so simple:

IMAG0269.jpg


That was try with newest Supermicro BIOS.
Original BOIS screenshot:

IMAG0271.jpg


Do AFUDOS has switch to disable ROM ID check?
 

AXm77

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 4, 2012
Messages
176
Thanks tear, working perfectly. :)

No more "Mooo", just regular BIOS beeps :D
 
Last edited:

AXm77

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 4, 2012
Messages
176
Why is speed so different between "clockspeed" and "dmesg"?
Dmesg one is true, I guess?
speed.jpg
 
Last edited:

tear

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2011
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
1,568
dmesg method [with OCNG4] shows NB frequency, not CPU frequency.

Nowadays, clockspeed is the recommended method :)

I'm guessing you are using 6168 processors (1.9 GHz) ?
CPU clock: 1900 x ~242 / 200 = ~2300
NB clock: 1800 x ~242 / 200 = ~2178
 

AXm77

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 4, 2012
Messages
176
You are correct, system have 2x6168 and 1x6134 and I promise do not ask questions after 20h day.
Thanks again.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2012
Messages
7
Also updated my Moo BIOS to the [H]BIOS. Much nicer now. I purchased my motherboard from the same Ebay seller. Paid the $499 price. His prices have dropped back when he could not sell any at the $599 cost.

Overclocking testing on 6176's starting soon.
 

Thanassos

n00b
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
44
Thanks for this guys, (Even if I get a big [H] on boot up now :p)

Another 4P 6174 @ 2.64Ghz up and running. Might try to push harder at the end of the week. People had much luck pushing these higher? Perfect little heater for some of these 3 degree nights in Australia at the moment.

Just waiting on a Tech Tray :)

V8nBgBF.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top