Ryzen 8 Core is actually made of 2 quad dies? (It's Not)

Snowdog

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 22, 2006
Messages
11,262
I spotted this supposed Ryzen Delid shot, and that looks like two small dies to me.

Actually it's a pretty smart way to go IMO. They can do one tape out and deliver cores in quads as needed.

AMD-Ryzen-7-Delid-840x516.png


Edit: Doh!

I should have looked at the die shot before posting. It's obviously a single die. I thought that was thermal paste and the line between indicated dual dies.
 
Last edited:

Bandalo

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
2,660
You can't do a real 8C CPU on two separate dies. The cores need to have shared cache and memory, and that's not going to work when the cores have to communicate across dies. As you can see, it's all a single die.

ryzen-die.jpg
 

Snowdog

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 22, 2006
Messages
11,262
You can't do a real 8C CPU on two separate dies. The cores need to have shared cache and memory, and that's not going to work when the cores have to communicate across dies. As you can see, it's all a single die.

Yeah, it's a single die. I should have looked at the Die Shot first. ;)

But of course you can do it with two dies. The old Intel Core 2 Quads, were two Dual cores in one package.

intel-core-2-quad-q6600-cpus1.jpg
 

Bandalo

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
2,660
Yeah, it's a single die. I should have looked at the Die Shot first. ;)

But of course you can do it with two dies. The old Intel Core 2 Quads, were two Dual cores in one package.

intel-core-2-quad-q6600-cpus1.jpg

It's technically possible, at the speeds these things USED to run at. But at current speeds and memory bandwidth, the performance penalty is far too high. Consider in those old quad core chips, the two sets of dies talked to each other over the FSB. No shared L3 cache. That's not gonna fly at 4Ghz.
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
43,901
and pay attention, he clearly states that they used TWO solder pads, hence the split. it is not 2 separate dies.
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,231
Yeah, it's a single die. I should have looked at the Die Shot first. ;)

But of course you can do it with two dies. The old Intel Core 2 Quads, were two Dual cores in one package.

also AMD magny-cour which was 2x6 core die's. i had completely forgotten about the C2Q's being two dies as well.
 

SimGuy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2003
Messages
360
You can't do a real 8C CPU on two separate dies. The cores need to have shared cache and memory, and that's not going to work when the cores have to communicate across dies. As you can see, it's all a single die.

So beautiful.... that could be a painting. :)
 
Top