Program for Windows that load balances multiple cellphone tethers?

Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
52
Are there any programs that would allow me to use multiple cellphones in a load-balanced manner to give myself not just more bandwidth but also redundancy with windows? If I had 2 4G/5G cellphones connected via USB for tethering internet is there a way to load balance them/offer redundancy so if 1 drops/fails the data routes to the other phone?

I have another large post below for a major project I am working on and asking multiple questions and I figured this specific question would go best here.
https://hardforum.com/threads/mobile-stream-box-boys-a-must-read.2019192/


I have found this but are there other/better options?
https://speedify.com/blog/combining...uide-to-tethering-two-phones-to-a-windows-pc/
 

Nobu

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
8,835
Sounds like you want a router/switch between your PC and the modems.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
52
Sounds like you want a router/switch between your PC and the modems.
what do you mean? I am trying to get 2 cellphones tethered to a single PC for internet so I have 2x the bandwidth and redundancy. I am working on a battery-powered mobile stream box that will not have wifi let alone a power outlet. See the linked post for context.

How do I get 2 cellphones tethered to a computer so I can bond the 2 connections and have redundancy? The link I posted supposedly can do that but are there other options?

Is there a micro switch/router that can do this?
 

Nobu

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
8,835
what do you mean? I am trying to get 2 cellphones tethered to a single PC for internet so I have 2x the bandwidth and redundancy. I am working on a battery-powered mobile stream box that will not have wifi let alone a power outlet. See the linked post for context.

How do I get 2 cellphones tethered to a computer so I can bond the 2 connections and have redundancy? The link I posted supposedly can do that but are there other options?

Is there a micro switch/router that can do this?
The best way to do that is in an external device which routes the packets to the upstream modems transparently, based on load and availability. Probably wouldn't be a cheap piece of hardware, almost certainly not portable.

Otherwise, I'm not sure how you would do it in the client device -- would have to either be supported in the OS or done via some driver/framework, I guess, but I'm not aware of any off hand.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
52
The best way to do that is in an external device which routes the packets to the upstream modems transparently, based on load and availability. Probably wouldn't be a cheap piece of hardware, almost certainly not portable.

Otherwise, I'm not sure how you would do it in the client device -- would have to either be supported in the OS or done via some driver/framework, I guess, but I'm not aware of any off hand.
KK, did you check out my link? Seems promising for a software solution. Not sure if it's the best. I'll have to test it out over the next few months and post back when I do.

Do you have any examples of hardware that would do that? I am curious. Maybe it would work.
 

Nobu

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
8,835
KK, did you check out my link? Seems promising for a software solution. Not sure if it's the best. I'll have to test it out over the next few months and post back when I do.

Do you have any examples of hardware that would do that? I am curious. Maybe it would work.
So, a quick search for "link aggregation windows support" turned up this: https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us...regation/81e647f9-d89e-4028-8370-7e8bb0e3dc2f

As I suspected, you'll need a driver which does this. That software in your first post probably includes a driver which does this. How well it works, dunno. Will probably depend on how well your other devices work with it, and how good their implementation is. I would look around and see what other software is available, and if anyone has used it. Might be some reports on other networking forums.

I don't frequent this subforum, but I haven't seen anyone else doing that here. Doesn't mean they don't, though -- might just not be talking about it.
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,950
So the solution you're looking for is made by a company called cradlepoint. They're usually not cheap, but they are 'the' name in the cellular multi-wan niche.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Nobu
like this
Joined
Sep 24, 2021
Messages
52
Last, I looked at cradle point they didn't have anything useful like this but that was 5-8 years ago so maybe it changed. Maybe they don't suck anymore? lol

Do you have a specific product name in mind or is it just check them out type of thing?

Is the duel-modem filter what I am looking for? Would my normal sim card work or would the cellphone company block my SIM card in one of these modems? I have unlimited data but they in the past didn't like these things when I looked at them 5-10 years ago, which is why I was looking at a software option.
https://cradlepoint.com/products/endpoints/

Yea what I am seeing here doesn't look like it's sold to the end-user....How would I even get a data plan on something like this? They definitely don't look like you can add a normal sim card to it. So probably data by the GB/$1 *cringe* device fee is one thing but paying by the GB is not realistic. I don't think we are there yet but I would gladly like to be wrong lol.

lol CDW sells these for like 2-4+ grand maybe more lol. These things aren't even that expensive but chalk it up to licensing laws and you got a multi-grand product that probably is a few hundred bucks to make lol
https://www.cdw.com/product/cradlep...s-router-wwan-lte-802.11a-b-g-n-ac-ax/6540515
https://www.cdw.com/product/cradlep...entials-for-ibr900-lte-router/6134398?pfm=srh
https://www.cdw.com/product/cradlep...-e3000-c18b-wireless-router-w/6100672?pfm=srh


Hell they are even made out of plastic.....:ROFLMAO:

lol, this is pathetic.
https://www.business.att.com/products/wireless-broadband.html
5G plans with speeds of up to 100Mbps* and only on the first 175GB....the 100Mbps isn't even garuenteed on the first 175GB lol...after that....who knows. 5G and you might only get 100Mbps for $225 and its only the first 150GB. WTF.
 
Last edited:
Top