Printing over VPN

Joined
Nov 9, 2017
Messages
47
Hello.

I just installed a new wireless router from TP-Link. The router software has a VPN server built in and I'm able to connect to my home network using OpenVPN. Once connected, it gives me a local network IP, 10.0.0.X. My home network gives out 192.168.0.X addresses. Is there any way I can access the home printer through VPN? I assume I can't find it because I'm on two different networks? I tried to change the range that the VPN server gives to client machines, but it says it conflicts with the other pool and won't let me change it. Any idea's?

Thank you!
 

Dead Parrot

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 4, 2013
Messages
2,831
You may have to modify a routing table to force requests from the remote PC to the 192.168.0.x range to go though the 10.0.0.x gateway address. If the router docs are any good, should be an example somewhere. Be sure to make a mirror entry so the printer can talk back to the remote PC.
 

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,779
You may have to modify a routing table to force requests from the remote PC to the 192.168.0.x range to go though the 10.0.0.x gateway address. If the router docs are any good, should be an example somewhere. Be sure to make a mirror entry so the printer can talk back to the remote PC.
Yup you need to create a routing rule that allows VPN to talk to internal 192 network.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2017
Messages
47
Thanks for the reply! This is the advanced routing page. Can I use *’s? I’m not sure what to add here.... the local network is 192.168.0.x and the VPN network is 10.8.0.x
 

Attachments

  • C28F2C7F-D1BD-41D4-9FC0-F402D0DF3125.png
    C28F2C7F-D1BD-41D4-9FC0-F402D0DF3125.png
    207.5 KB · Views: 0

IdiotInCharge

NVIDIA SHILL
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
14,679
Or another route -- is it possible to get both the internal network and the VPN into the same subnet, using the same DHCP server?
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2017
Messages
47
There are some NAT settings and the advanced routing page like I posted above.. that’s all I see.
 

Dead Parrot

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 4, 2013
Messages
2,831
Its been a while since I have dealt with VPNs but I think you need to add a route ON THE REMOTE side something along the lines of 192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0 with a gateway of 10.8.0.2 -- interface tun0.
You will need a similar route on the HOME side of 10.0.0.0 / 255.255.255.0 gateway 10.8.0.? (depends on what the HOME side lists as the gateway) -- interface tun0.
 

Cmustang87

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
4,498
Why would you need to create a route if the router OP is connecting to for VPN is directly attached to both the VPN user and the printer? The VPN default gateway should already be the router VPN tunnel.
 
Top