PCIe to Six Pin Power Cable...?

AceMidman

n00b
Joined
Aug 25, 2020
Messages
1
Hello,

Though I'm sure that my 750W PSU can handle the GTX 1660 I just bought, it doesn't have enough pins available for the new GPU. Does anyone have a good solution for this problem? I've found cables that run sata power to a six-pin male for GPUs - does anyone know if those are a legitimate solution? Here's a link to the cable I mean:

https://www.officedepot.com/a/products/697987/StarTechcom-6in-SATA-Power-to-6/


Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
2,286
You have a 750w PSU without a single 6-pin PCIe power cable? I find that idea hard to credit. What is your PSU?
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
5,524
If you have a PSU that old, and that's really old at this point if it doesn't have the PCI-E 6 pin, it's probably time to upgrade.
 

Kardonxt

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 13, 2009
Messages
3,588
This a common "trick" on extremely low end PSUs.

1. Sell a 300watt garbage PSU as an 800 watt PSU.
2. Only put enough connectors on it to pull 300 watts
3. Profit off newbs
 
  • Like
Reactions: x509
like this

lagsmoke

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
225
Hello,

Though I'm sure that my 750W PSU can handle the GTX 1660 I just bought, it doesn't have enough pins available for the new GPU. Does anyone have a good solution for this problem? I've found cables that run sata power to a six-pin male for GPUs - does anyone know if those are a legitimate solution? Here's a link to the cable I mean:

https://www.officedepot.com/a/products/697987/StarTechcom-6in-SATA-Power-to-6/


Thanks!

Get a new legit PSU. SATA to 6 pin cables will technically work for awhile but tend to burn out quickly. By burn out I mean literally melt.
 

Angry

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
470
If it has SATA it should be new enough to have 6pin PCIE, unless its as Kardonxt said.
 
Top