Oculus Rift Full Room Scale Setup

Toriessian

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
86
So when I got into VR I made a bad assumption. I thought I'd be more into seated VR games than room scale stuff. Once I got touch I realized how awesome full room scale games could really be. So I did the only thing I could do, I added [H]ardware until the Rift did room scale :) Heres is what I learned...

Update: I added a couple technical notes to the bottom. Look for the *s

What You Need

1 extra Oculus Rift Sensor (You don't need 2 like me)
PCI-E USB expansion card (If you have less than 2 USB controllers)
USB extension cables with POWER ADAPTERS (USB power is very important)
Occulus Tray Tool - https://forums.oculus.com/community...ng-profiles-hmd-disconnect-fixes-hopefully/p1

USB 3.0 controllers and Your Rift

If you start looking into the Rift and look over Oculus's setup instruction for Touch and "Touch with 360 tracking" you'll notice warnings all over the place that say not to plug more than 2 sensors into the USB 3.0 ports on your computer and to put the third sensor on USB 2.0. If you do this, you actually lose some of the tracking accuracy on your 3rd/4th sensors. The reason they say this is because you actually hit the USB 3.0 bandwidth limit for a single controller (controller NOT port, a USB hub will not help you here!) fairly quick with 2 sensors. 3 sensors on USB 3.0 on a single USB controller simply doesn't work. They flat up say not to use 4 for this reason. I was too [H]ard for that advice though and got obsessive. I wanted everything on USB 3.

Real world there is no actual tracking difference between USB 2 and USB 3. I forced all 4 of my sensors to track on USB 2 and I didn't see one lick of difference. If you want everything on USB 3 get a StarTech PEXUSB3S44V* (expensive) or one of the Inatek cards with a Fresco USB logic controller on it.

USB extension cables and sensor mounting

So now you've got USB controllers and you've got your sensors. I recommend taking your sensors off the stupid stick mounts Oculus put them on. The higher you put your sensors, the worse the included mounts are because they don't angle down very well. Luckily the tracking cameras unscrew off the sticks near the top and are standard 1/4-20 threads. Almost any camera mounts should work. I used some adhesive wall mounts made for GoPro hero cameras and had no issues.

You're going to need some USB extension cables to run to the cameras. Take the time and effort to run proper power to the cable extensions. The ones on Amazon from Superspeed can be plugged into a wall outlet with a generic AC adapter. I DO NOT RECOMMEND depending on the power from your PC for 32 foot cables. If you do and you hear a buzzing noise coming from your motherboard thats the sound of the capacitors that keep your USB ports powered dying :) RIP Asus Z87 :)


My Sensor Placement Setup

3 sensors are enough for most common room-scale setups. Place them in a triangle around the play area, 2 in corners to your left and right facing in, and 1 behind you. 4 sensors for my play area is WAY overkill.

The Rift tracking cameras are really good. Place them high and a slight downward angle. This gives you full use of the cameras field of vision. I don't have any tracking issues. The Rift software will complain during setup if you have 4 sensors but you can ignore that if you've followed my advice about extra USB controllers and powered USB extension cables :)

20170603_001236_HDR.jpg

20170603_001253_HDR.jpg



Your Final Goal

So once you have everything mounted, USB 3 and power sorted, and you setup the Rift, setup the sensors in the Oculus software. Run the communication test 4-5 times to make sure everything is good and your USB isn't flaky. If you see this you're ready to rock and roll. Finish setup, setup Steam and go play:

sensors.png


Notes

* - For the Startech USB card, for Windows 10 don't install the drivers off the website. Windows 10 has newer drivers. I learned that the hard way.
 
Last edited:

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,769
Very nice setup there you have!

Other option is just get a vive, two lighthouses and one USB for all. No cords from the lighthouses to the computer. It is made perfectly for room scale. Does sound like touch is better and image quality is also better with the Rift.

I figure next year the updated VR versions for both the Vive and Rift will be out plus all the Microsoft versions - will be fun.
 

Toriessian

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
86
I really do get the best of both worlds VR wise right now.

I get the comfort of the Occulus headset with touch and I don't have to screw with Re-vive to get Occulus exclusives working.
I also get to do anything roomscale.

I added a few technical notes to my post too.
 

kasakka

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
2,645
With this setup, are there any noticeable differences compared to the HTC Vive implementation?
 

Toriessian

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
86
I've only used a vive twice so its tough for me to compare. I have rock solid tracking in a 3m x 2.5m play area unless i do something silly like curl up in a ball on the floor in one corner.

The differences are mostly app specific. Some things just have quirks on one headset or the other.
 

Sonicks

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
1,401
I'm going to be getting a Rift pretty soon myself and I'm curious, how much over the base cost did the extra hardware run you?
 

Toriessian

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
86
I'm going to be getting a Rift pretty soon myself and I'm curious, how much over the base cost did the extra hardware run you?

One thing to note about my setup is that its complete overkill tracking wise for the size of my play area. The rift sensors are good enough to track the most common play area sizes used by
Steam VR users with 3 sensors. 3m X 2.5m is more than doable with 3.

Here is a link to the steam stats based on how big everyones play areas are.
https://steamcommunity.com/app/358720/discussions/0/350532536103514259/?ctp=2

Prices:
Extra Sensors - $60 each (2 come with Rift + touch. Try it with 3)
32Ft USB cable - $35
16Ft USB cable - $16
2 power adapters - $8
Startech USB card - $80 (overkill. Try it with a cheaper card and 3 sensors first)
Go Pro Mounts + parts - $50
 

Sonicks

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
1,401
That's not bad at all.

With the recent price drop of the Rift+Touch, all the extra hardware you got still puts it under the original cost of just the Rift itself.

Not too shabby! When I do get it I think I'll go with a third sensor and go from there. I don't have a huge dedicated office room so a fourth may be necessary. Good info and thanks for sharing!
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
9,149
I am going to try the triangle setup of the sensors. Some people say it works better than the extra 1 in the corner.
 

evilwon

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
169
One thing to note about my setup is that its complete overkill tracking wise for the size of my play area. The rift sensors are good enough to track the most common play area sizes used by
Steam VR users with 3 sensors. 3m X 2.5m is more than doable with 3.

Here is a link to the steam stats based on how big everyones play areas are.
https://steamcommunity.com/app/358720/discussions/0/350532536103514259/?ctp=2

Prices:
Extra Sensors - $60 each (2 come with Rift + touch. Try it with 3)
32Ft USB cable - $35
16Ft USB cable - $16
2 power adapters - $8
Startech USB card - $80 (overkill. Try it with a cheaper card and 3 sensors first)
Go Pro Mounts + parts - $50

Have a link to the power adapters? I've only got 2 sensors right now and have t16' active USB extenders set to arrive here this week.
 

reaper12

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
2,660
I like your post, but, you should really amend it.

Since the 1.12 update the USD requirements have been reduced dramatically. Most modern motherboards should have enough USB ports for the Rift even with 4 sensors. So you might not need to buy a USB card at all. AS you said in the notes at the bottom, there is no difference between tracking on USB 2 and USB 3. I did a lot of testing and haven't noticed any difference at all. I sold the Inatek card after the 1.12 update came out.

Before the 1.12 update I was thinking of getting 4 sensors too, but tracking has been so good since then I don't I will bother. I might get the 4th sensor when I buy another set of touch controllers for foot tracking ;)

I like your setup too. I went a different route, I have them in 3 corners facing the play area. One is high up, one is a little lower and the last one if lower again, sort of spiralling downwards. My tracking has been spot on so haven't felt the need to change it.
 

Toriessian

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
86
I will this weekend. I'll make the warning about nerd raging about USB 2 vs. USB 3 a little higher up. I got oddly obsessive about that when I was doing my setup.
I really didn't like seeing USB 2 on that sensor setup screen lol
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2016
Messages
639
Personally, I'm sticking with my quad-sensor, dual-USB-controller setup, even after 1.12 (and we're on 1.16 now).

Tracking is noticeably improved in a way that you'd expect from any system with a line-of-sight limitation: the more reference points you have around the room, the less that you have to worry about total occlusion throughout your play area. You do get to worry about extra cable clutter and some really lengthy runs, though.

The extra USB card is critical if you want to run a third or fourth sensor on USB 3.0, lest the Oculus software start complaining about dropped frames because the USB host controllers can't handle all that raw 1080p60 frame data. Of course, this wouldn't be a problem if Oculus just did the NaturalPoint thing and did the blob processing on-sensor; this is why TrackIR devices don't need anything more than USB 2.0, if that. They're only sending processed coordinates, not raw camera frames.
 

reaper12

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
2,660
I will this weekend. I'll make the warning about nerd raging about USB 2 vs. USB 3 a little higher up. I got oddly obsessive about that when I was doing my setup.
I really didn't like seeing USB 2 on that sensor setup screen lol

haha, yes, I was still OCD about that USB 2 in my setup screen as well! But after a lot of testing and therapy :) I found out there was no difference so learned to trust it.

Your post is great for beginners though. Really covers all angles. Should be a sticky :)
 

reaper12

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
2,660
Personally, I'm sticking with my quad-sensor, dual-USB-controller setup, even after 1.12 (and we're on 1.16 now).

Tracking is noticeably improved in a way that you'd expect from any system with a line-of-sight limitation: the more reference points you have around the room, the less that you have to worry about total occlusion throughout your play area. You do get to worry about extra cable clutter and some really lengthy runs, though.

The extra USB card is critical if you want to run a third or fourth sensor on USB 3.0, lest the Oculus software start complaining about dropped frames because the USB host controllers can't handle all that raw 1080p60 frame data. Of course, this wouldn't be a problem if Oculus just did the NaturalPoint thing and did the blob processing on-sensor; this is why TrackIR devices don't need anything more than USB 2.0, if that. They're only sending processed coordinates, not raw camera frames.

You are living in the past man. There is no difference in tracking between plugging your third and fourth sensors into USB 2 vs USB 3.0. It's why you don't need an extra USB card anymore, unless you are running out of USB ports of course.
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
9,149
You are living in the past man. There is no difference in tracking between plugging your third and fourth sensors into USB 2 vs USB 3.0. It's why you don't need an extra USB card anymore, unless you are running out of USB ports of course.
If you have 2-4 sensors all on one usb 2, I think it might have a problem. I understand what the guys is saying about bandwidth. I guess we need info on how much bandwidth each camera uses.
 

reaper12

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
2,660
If you have 2-4 sensors all on one usb 2, I think it might have a problem. I understand what the guys is saying about bandwidth. I guess we need info on how much bandwidth each camera uses.

I am not sure what you are trying to say? You do realise that you could use 8/9 usb 2 ports and still not use the same bandwidth as 1 usb 3 port.
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
9,149
I still don't get what you are trying to say? Or how what you posted changes what I am saying? The third and fourth sensor don't need to be plugged into a USB 3.0 port to get perfect tracking.
I guess they just suggest usb 3.0 because they like the higher number? Or maybe you helped develop the Oculus and know that they are wrong. Let us know!
 

reaper12

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
2,660
I guess they just suggest usb 3.0 because they like the higher number? Or maybe you helped develop the Oculus and know that they are wrong. Let us know!

What? Did you even read the link you quoted and what I am writing? That link doesn't say anything about Roomscale or what's needed for the third and fourth sensors and it's also way out of date, it's was written before the release of the Touch controllers. Things have moved on since then. 360 setup wasn't even supported back then, now since 1.15 update it's offically supported.

This is a more up to date page

https://support.oculus.com/1814957818761397

Says that you only need USB 2.0 if you want to add more sensors.
Oculus recommends using USB 2 for the third and fourth sensor. They even supply a USB 2.0 extension cable with any extra sensor you buy.

I don't think you know what you are talking about.
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
9,149
https://support.oculus.com/help/oculus/1798990480336565?helpref=uf_permalink

2. Check for compatibility

Three unused USB 3.0 ports and one unused 2.0 port are recommended.

  1. 1x 3.0 USB port for the headset
    1x 3.0 USB port for the 3D Positional Tracker
    1x 3.0 USB port for Oculus Touch (available at a later date)
    1x 2.0 USB port for Xbox wireless controller
If you do not have any USB 3.0 ports available, you may use USB 2.0 ports instead. Note: using USB 2.0 ports
 

reaper12

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
2,660
And again, what are you trying to say?

Are you even reading what I am writing? That's an old page written before Oculus supported room scale, it was written before touch came out.

The discussion that you chimed in on was discussing USB 3 vs USB 2 for the third and fourth sensors. Please point out in your link anything that relates to this.
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
9,149
And again, what are you trying to say?

Are you even reading what I am writing? That's an old page written before Oculus supported room scale, it was written before touch came out.

The discussion that you chimed in on was discussing USB 3 vs USB 2 for the third and fourth sensors. Please point out in your link anything that relates to this.
Well they say to use usb 3 for the sensor/tracker. If you put multiple sensors in, and it's on a usb 2, it might not have enough bandwidth. If it didn't matter, then they would just say use usb 2 for everything and be done.
They say that usb 2 will "work". If you have multiple cameras on the same usb 2, it might not have enough bandwidth but will still "work"
Now if it's on usb 3 it might be just fine. Personally I would rather just have all usb 3 and be done. Also just because it works with 1 person or some or alot doesn't mean everybody.
If that doesn't explain it simple enough then do whatever floats your boat! I want the best experience I can get and a few bucks ain't gonna kill me. :)
 

reaper12

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
2,660
Well they say to use usb 3 for the sensor/tracker. If you put multiple sensors in, and it's on a usb 2, it might not have enough bandwidth. If it didn't matter, then they would just say use usb 2 for everything and be done.
They say that usb 2 will "work". If you have multiple cameras on the same usb 2, it might not have enough bandwidth but will still "work"
Now if it's on usb 3 it might be just fine. Personally I would rather just have all usb 3 and be done. Also just because it works with 1 person or some or alot doesn't mean everybody.
If that doesn't explain it simple enough then do whatever floats your boat! I want the best experience I can get and a few bucks ain't gonna kill me. :)

You see that's where you are wrong, Oculus actively recommend that you use USB 2.0 for the third and forth sensors. That's what has changed since the 1.12 update. Before that you needed all USB 3.0 sensors to get decent tracking. Since 1.12, you get the same level of tracking with USB 2.0.

This is where you are confused, there is no bandwidth problem on USB 2.0. Only with USB 3. If you use too many sensors connected to the same USB 3.0 hub you will have problems, that's why you need to get an extra USB 3.0 card.

Personally you can do whatever you want, but, you spending extra money to get the same level of experience of someone who has USB 2.0. IF you have money to waste on PLacebo than go for it!! Whatever floats your boat.

Oh, And shouldn't I throw the same line back at you. Oculus have made 360 roomscale official in their last update. They recommend USB 2, they even supply USB 2 extension cables with their sensors. But I guess you know more than the developers at Oculus? :p
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
9,149
You see that's where you are wrong, Oculus actively recommend that you use USB 2.0 for the third and forth sensors. That's what has changed since the 1.12 update. Before that you needed all USB 3.0 sensors to get decent tracking. Since 1.12, you get the same level of tracking with USB 2.0.

This is where you are confused, there is no bandwidth problem on USB 2.0. Only with USB 3. If you use too many sensors connected to the same USB 3.0 hub you will have problems, that's why you need to get an extra USB 3.0 card.

Personally you can do whatever you want, but, you spending extra money to get the same level of experience of someone who has USB 2.0. IF you have money to waste on PLacebo than go for it!! Whatever floats your boat.

Oh, And shouldn't I throw the same line back at you. Oculus have made 360 roomscale official in their last update. They recommend USB 2, they even supply USB 2 extension cables with their sensors. But I guess you know more than the developers at Oculus? :p
Yes, I am wrong. I will enjoy my usb 3 sensors very nicely. :)
 

evilwon

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
169
Kids...kids.....I'll chastise both of you.

First, they do say that USB 2.0 ports are fine for sensors 3+. Nothing wrong with using USB 3.0, but not necessary according to the documentation.

Second, what person thinks that buying a $25-80 USB 3.0 card is going to break the bank after spending upwards of $600-700 on the rift depending on if you have the controllers and extra sensors? Beyond that, it is not a placebo. I've already maxed out my USB 3.0 ports that I can use on my system.

How about both of you go back to playing nicely with your Rifts instead?
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
9,149
Kids...kids.....I'll chastise both of you.

First, they do say that USB 2.0 ports are fine for sensors 3+. Nothing wrong with using USB 3.0, but not necessary according to the documentation.

Second, what person thinks that buying a $25-80 USB 3.0 card is going to break the bank after spending upwards of $600-700 on the rift depending on if you have the controllers and extra sensors? Beyond that, it is not a placebo. I've already maxed out my USB 3.0 ports that I can use on my system.

How about both of you go back to playing nicely with your Rifts instead?
Yes, they do. 2 sensors they say will take up to 80% of the bandwidth? I have a few usb devices so I decided to error on the side of cauthion. Yeah, I should of just went with the $80 one. If I do a 4th sensor I might do that.

I will go back to my pornhub VR now! ;)
 
Top