No video output on initial start

Snowdensjacket

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
364
Finished setting up my new 10900k and rtx 3080 last week. It's awesome paired with my lg oled. That screen with the new card is one of the biggest improvements to gaming I've ever experienced.

But when I initially boot the computer the video will output the bios screen but when entering windows their is no video output. If I reset the computer then when entering windows their is video output. This is 100% reproducible. No other issues.

I have an evga platinum 750 watt power supply. If I go into the bios for awhile before allowing the initial boot I still get no video output until I reset the computer. I turned off fast boot and this did not correct the issue.

Any other ideas for troubleshooting this? I have a second evga 750 watt platinum PS in another build I could swap out for but the card is getting power during the initial boot. Maybe reinstall windows? Could it be a driver issue? I've updated the GeForce drivers once in the last week and the problem persists.

Thanks
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
32,996
my system does this fairly often, a reboot works but i actually only need to flip inputs on my lg plasma. the system boots fine but the tv doesnt pick up the signal. try flipping inputs on the tv to make sure its not that. just to rule it out.
 

Snowdensjacket

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
364
my system does this fairly often, a reboot works but i actually only need to flip inputs on my lg plasma. the system boots fine but the tv doesnt pick up the signal. try flipping inputs on the tv to make sure its not that. just to rule it out.
Thanks I'll give it a try when I get home.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
28,276
my system does this fairly often, a reboot works but i actually only need to flip inputs on my lg plasma. the system boots fine but the tv doesnt pick up the signal. try flipping inputs on the tv to make sure its not that. just to rule it out.
It's probably the "deep sleep" power saving feature in HDMI. I don't know if it can be disabled on the LG OLED, but it is usually an option you can find on standard monitors. For some reason a PC doesn't trigger the display to wake up after the display output resolution changes when proceeding past the BIOS screen or boot logo.
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
14,329
Tha is a barely acceptable PSU for that CPU + GPU, but I can't imagine why that would have issues at startup.

I think researching the HDMi sleep is your best bet to solve this.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
28,276
Tha is a barely acceptable PSU for that CPU + GPU, but I can't imagine why that would have issues at startup.

I think researching the HDMi sleep is your best bet to solve this.
750W is the recommended output from NVIDIA for a 3080.
 

Snowdensjacket

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
364
my system does this fairly often, a reboot works but i actually only need to flip inputs on my lg plasma. the system boots fine but the tv doesnt pick up the signal. try flipping inputs on the tv to make sure its not that. just to rule it out.

Switching to an app and back doesn't work. I don't have anything else plugged in to one of the other HDMI inputs. I could go dig up an old blu-ray player to test out. Probably better than hard resetting my computer every day.

It's probably the "deep sleep" power saving feature in HDMI. I don't know if it can be disabled on the LG OLED, but it is usually an option you can find on standard monitors. For some reason a PC doesn't trigger the display to wake up after the display output resolution changes when proceeding past the BIOS screen or boot logo.

I can't find any way to turn this off and my quick search doesn't show anything. Maybe I can go ask the guys in the giant lg oled thread in the display section. Thanks!
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
14,329
750W is the recommended output from NVIDIA for a 3080.


And when the stock CPU also sucks down 330w when stressed, it's barely functional pairing:

To find the power limit associated with our chip paired with the Gigabyte Aorus Z490 Master motherboard, we ran a few Prime95 tests with AVX enabled (small FFT). During those tests, we recorded up to 332W of power consumption when paired with either the Corsair H115i 280mm AIO watercooler or a Noctua NH-D15S air cooler. Yes, that's with the processor configured at stock settings. For perspective, our 18-core Core i9-10980XE drew 'only' 256W during an identical Prime95 test.

https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/intel-core-i9-10900k-cpu-review/2

If you're also overclocking the 3080 , it can hit 350w on its own.
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
32,996
Switching to an app and back doesn't work. I don't have anything else plugged in to one of the other HDMI inputs. I could go dig up an old blu-ray player to test out. Probably better than hard resetting my computer every day.
shouldnt matter unless the tv wont let you switch. i just switch to an empty hdmi port and back. but that may not be you issue...
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
28,276
And when the stock CPU also sucks down 330w when stressed, it's barely functional pairing:

To find the power limit associated with our chip paired with the Gigabyte Aorus Z490 Master motherboard, we ran a few Prime95 tests with AVX enabled (small FFT). During those tests, we recorded up to 332W of power consumption when paired with either the Corsair H115i 280mm AIO watercooler or a Noctua NH-D15S air cooler. Yes, that's with the processor configured at stock settings. For perspective, our 18-core Core i9-10980XE drew 'only' 256W during an identical Prime95 test.

https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/intel-core-i9-10900k-cpu-review/2

If you're also overclocking the 3080 , it can hit 350w on its own.
I'd like to know what anybody would be doing in their normal daily driving where they'll hit anywhere near the load of Prime95 with AVX. Similar cautionary tales were told about the 9900K, but mine only uses 150-170W while gaming. From what I've seen the 10900K uses 200-220W in gaming, which scales almost perfectly with the per-core power consumption of the 9900K. I'm running my 9900K and hybrid 3090 on a 750W PSU. My UPS shows 680-700W whole system power in the most extreme cases. A platinum-class 750W PSU like mine will do just fine with a 10900K and 3080.
 

Snowdensjacket

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
364
I haven't had any power supply issues. If I do I guess I'll upgrade the psu. I did find a solution for the lg CX. In settings -> general -> additional settings -> power saving mode their is an option HDD power saving mode. I turned this off and now I get a picture on the initial startup. Must have been that deep sleep. Thanks everybody!
 

TheSlySyl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
1,592
I'd like to know what anybody would be doing in their normal daily driving where they'll hit anywhere near the load of Prime95 with AVX.
Rendering and/or transcoding. Which is something I do quite a bit of.

I just did a test and my 3900X + 1080TI + all my hard drives (8x SATA and 4x NVME), 8 case fans, etc. pulls about 577 watts at the biggest load I can put on it. 140~ of those watts are CPU and 280 are GPU.

Still gonna get a bigger power supply if I get ahold of a new videocard to be in that safe <75% load range.
 

DanNeely

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
4,089
I'd like to know what anybody would be doing in their normal daily driving where they'll hit anywhere near the load of Prime95 with AVX. Similar cautionary tales were told about the 9900K, but mine only uses 150-170W while gaming. From what I've seen the 10900K uses 200-220W in gaming, which scales almost perfectly with the per-core power consumption of the 9900K. I'm running my 9900K and hybrid 3090 on a 750W PSU. My UPS shows 680-700W whole system power in the most extreme cases. A platinum-class 750W PSU like mine will do just fine with a 10900K and 3080.
distributed computing projects is another one. Some projects like Primegrid 😉 can hammer the AVX subsystems with similar levels of brutality to Prime95.
 
Top