No thread about the framework laptop?

travm

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
1,702
Yes, the motherboard is modular. New versions are in the works. Now I can't promise that an AMD board will be for this chassis in the future. This is a productivity notebook for the DIYer.

Have you opened a modern notebook? It used to be that they had access ports for RAM, HDD, and removable batteries. Almost none do anymore. This thing, you undo 5 screws, the keyboard pops off with magnets and anything can be replaced. Speakers, Screen hinges, you name it. Watch any of the videos on youtube for it. It's not a "value" laptop. Can't be, too small a company. They don't have the economies of scale that Dell and HP do. This is about supporting a company that hopefully will change the game.

As it is, the base model, which is the one I ordered, is only down a couple hundred MHz and 4megs of L3 from the $700 additional top of the line model. Perfect for my non-gaming needs. When I game, I turn to my desktop.
Interesting niche, but with laptops IME the chassis and or screen are the fail point.
I remember when OCZ made a modular laptop and it was just not very good.
This looks like a better product for sure, but I think I'd still take the run of the mill ThinkPad over this. Maybe after a year or two history will prove my position wrong.
Still exciting when people get projects like this across the finish line, and much respect to the developers.
 

daglesj

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
5,546
A few days later and I'm still enjoying this. Had a hunt around and found a couple of Higher output USB C chargers I had laying around. One was from a crappy 32GB HP mini laptop a customer didn't want anymore. It's output is only 5v 3A but it charges 20% every hour so should keep the laptop going when needed. As its smaller than the Framework charger that will go in my laptop bag. I set the max battery charge limit to 90%

Managed to hit 6775 MBps with the SN850 NVMe so the infrastructure is capable.
 

OFaceSIG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
3,198
A few days later and I'm still enjoying this. Had a hunt around and found a couple of Higher output USB C chargers I had laying around. One was from a crappy 32GB HP mini laptop a customer didn't want anymore. It's output is only 5v 3A but it charges 20% every hour so should keep the laptop going when needed. As its smaller than the Framework charger that will go in my laptop bag. I set the max battery charge limit to 90%

Managed to hit 6775 MBps with the SN850 NVMe so the infrastructure is capable.
I bought the framework charger as I didn't have a spare PD charger. I too, set the max to 90%.
 

daglesj

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
5,546
Yeah I bought the framework charger too but I wanted to find other usable options laying around. I did find a clover plug adapter which plugs straight into the charger so no need for the wall power cable.

Always good to leave a little breathing space on a battery. I did this from new with my Mate 10 Pro phone nearly 4 years ago. Max 90% charge (usually just 80%) No overnight charging too. I still have 93% capacity on that 4000mAh battery.
 

OFaceSIG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
3,198
Agreed... overnight charging, unless your phone has a specific mode to compensate for it, is a no no. OnePlus has a mode like this.
 

Varmint

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
1,782
lol, $749 with i5, no ram, no wifi, no hdd, no OS.

No thanks.

Being able to upgrade the mainboard is a clever idea, but a high cost would render it pointless. This is definitely a "check back in a few years" company to me.

And no Thunderbolt, which is one of the main points buying Intel in a laptop like this, imo.

I think I’d rather have the XPG for $750, it’s lighter and has upgradable ram and SSD which is the important stuff, and Thunderbolt.

The repairable feature gets much more interesting in a gaming laptop imo.
 
  • Like
Reactions: travm
like this

OFaceSIG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
3,198
And no Thunderbolt, which is one of the main points buying Intel in a laptop like this, imo.

I think I’d rather have the XPG for $750, it’s lighter and has upgradable ram and SSD which is the important stuff, and Thunderbolt.

The repairable feature gets much more interesting in a gaming laptop imo.
All four ports are thunderbolt 4.
 

OFaceSIG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
3,198
Thanks, I see now it says USB4 on the USB-C port adapter caption.

It's definitely way up there on the cool factor.
Yeah there are already some videos using thunderbolt docks and external GPUs out there. Interesting stuff.
 

daglesj

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
5,546
Yeah I'm enjoying using mine a lot. Not hit any major snags so far. Not bothered to re-paste the CPU with Kryonaut as I intended as it's all running fine. It does drop things a little apparently but I'll give it some time. No rush.
 

Varmint

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
1,782
Yeah I'm enjoying using mine a lot. Not hit any major snags so far. Not bothered to re-paste the CPU with Kryonaut as I intended as it's all running fine. It does drop things a little apparently but I'll give it some time. No rush.

The review's only complaint was a loud fan, how do you find the fan noise and is it adjustable?
 

OFaceSIG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
3,198
The review's only complaint was a loud fan, how do you find the fan noise and is it adjustable?
The only time I ever heard the fan was when I played Portal 2 on it for about 30 seconds. Beyond that, I've never heard the fan. It's silent just putz-ing around in the OS.
 

daglesj

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
5,546
The review's only complaint was a loud fan, how do you find the fan noise and is it adjustable?
Yeah the fan ramps up but those Intel chips are spicy hot. Very high boosts. But it only kicks in during intensive stuff. Not adjustable afaik.
 

OFaceSIG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
3,198
Others have said this so I'm definitely not the first. My only real "concern" is the battery life. 6 hours-ish is normal for me.
 

uOpt

Gawd
Joined
Mar 29, 2006
Messages
795
Well, at least there is a good chance that you can buy (and insert) a new battery when the charge capacity goes down.

Which is much more than I can say for my MSI barebones that now has 0% battery.
 

daglesj

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
5,546
One thing that is very apparent from the Framework forum is Linux is a mess compatibility wise. 75% of the posts are "X doesn't work with distro X"
 

OFaceSIG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
3,198
One thing that is very apparent from the Framework forum is Linux is a mess compatibility wise. 75% of the posts are "X doesn't work with distro X"
Honestly, whenever I have a need for Linux I run it in a VM.
 

hajalie24

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
1,471
Yes, the motherboard is modular. New versions are in the works. Now I can't promise that an AMD board will be for this chassis in the future. This is a productivity notebook for the DIYer.

Have you opened a modern notebook? It used to be that they had access ports for RAM, HDD, and removable batteries. Almost none do anymore. This thing, you undo 5 screws, the keyboard pops off with magnets and anything can be replaced. Speakers, Screen hinges, you name it. Watch any of the videos on youtube for it. It's not a "value" laptop. Can't be, too small a company. They don't have the economies of scale that Dell and HP do. This is about supporting a company that hopefully will change the game.

As it is, the base model, which is the one I ordered, is only down a couple hundred MHz and 4megs of L3 from the $700 additional top of the line model. Perfect for my non-gaming needs. When I game, I turn to my desktop.

Yeah I'm enjoying using mine a lot. Not hit any major snags so far. Not bothered to re-paste the CPU with Kryonaut as I intended as it's all running fine. It does drop things a little apparently but I'll give it some time. No rush.

How is the trackpad? Is it easily replaceable if it goes out?

The trackpad on my Dell 9360 slowly went out and I couldn't even replace it. Dell did not care at all since it was out of warranty. The part I found off Aliexpress was obviously not original and didn't click right.

Oh and then eventually it just died out of the blue. All the comments saying "just buy a Dell or HP" .. well their build quality is crap.
 
  • Like
Reactions: travm
like this

OFaceSIG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
3,198
How is the trackpad? Is it easily replaceable if it goes out?

The trackpad on my Dell 9360 slowly went out and I couldn't even replace it. Dell did not care at all since it was out of warranty. The part I found off Aliexpress was obviously not original and didn't click right.

Oh and then eventually it just died out of the blue. All the comments saying "just buy a Dell or HP" .. well their build quality is crap.

The trackpad is nice for a trackpad. I'm not a trackpad person, I use a Logitech wireless mouse and it's little USB transceiver. The trackpad is replaceable and on the framework store says "coming soon". However every single major component is supposed to be replaceable so I think you'll be good on that front.

I have never really excited about a laptop. They've always been a means to an end for me. This is the first one as a PC builder I've really wanted to get behind.
 

hajalie24

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
1,471
The trackpad is nice for a trackpad. I'm not a trackpad person, I use a Logitech wireless mouse and it's little USB transceiver. The trackpad is replaceable and on the framework store says "coming soon". However every single major component is supposed to be replaceable so I think you'll be good on that front.

I have never really excited about a laptop. They've always been a means to an end for me. This is the first one as a PC builder I've really wanted to get behind.

Thank you. Do you ever use the screen outdoors? Do you think it's bright enough?

I'm very tempted. I don't really need and part of me wants to wait for v2 but part of me also thinks it might be a while, plus I bet the resellability of this thing will be great. And if they come up with a new feature I'd like such as a brighter or higher resolution screen I can just buy it and easily replace it. I remember trying to upgrade a Dell from a TN 1368p panel to a 1080p IPS model and it was a disaster. Absolutely no thought to compatability in mind. My limitation was literally that the ribbon cable was incompatible or something.

I think when I get good deals on some of the parts like RAM or SSD I'll also get this.
 

OFaceSIG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
3,198
Thank you. Do you ever use the screen outdoors? Do you think it's bright enough?

I'm very tempted. I don't really need and part of me wants to wait for v2 but part of me also thinks it might be a while, plus I bet the resellability of this thing will be great. And if they come up with a new feature I'd like such as a brighter or higher resolution screen I can just buy it and easily replace it. I remember trying to upgrade a Dell from a TN 1368p panel to a 1080p IPS model and it was a disaster. Absolutely no thought to compatability in mind. My limitation was literally that the ribbon cable was incompatible or something.

I think when I get good deals on some of the parts like RAM or SSD I'll also get this.
To be honest I don't know if I've ever used it outdoors. I run the brightness at about 30-40% most of the time and full brightness is painful for me to look at. So maybe?

I definitely saved some money providing my own RAM, NVME, and OS key for this. Getting 2666MHz RAM and a Samsung 980 from Microcenter was vastly cheaper then the component prices on their site. Don't be tempted to splurge on faster RAM. Tigerlake only supports up to 2666MHz on laptops.
 

daglesj

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
5,546
It's a bright screen compared to most laptops I see. Like O said I use mine at 35% brightness on mains and battery and it's fine. I would prefer a matte screen but the rest of the package outweighed that con.

However, i would point out...3200Mhz ram is fully supported on the Framework. Kingston Fury CL20 1.2v FTW!;)
 

OFaceSIG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
3,198
It's a bright screen compared to most laptops I see. Like O said I use mine at 35% brightness on mains and battery and it's fine. I would prefer a matte screen but the rest of the package outweighed that con.

However, i would point out...3200Mhz ram is fully supported on the Framework. Kingston Fury CL20 1.2v FTW!;)

Is it a setting in the BIOS? I thought 2666 was the limit. Woot!
 
Last edited:

daglesj

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
5,546
Is it a setting in the BIOS? I thought 2666 was the limit. Woot!

I just slapped it in and 3200DDR4 is listed in the BIOS, Windows Task Manager and CPU-ID. It will run 3200 but not as XMP and it has to be 1.2v ram. The Framework Community Forum is a good place for info.

Enjoy!
 

KazeoHin

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
8,458
Things I don't buy a laptop without:

Touchscreen

Cellular modem

Things I recently have been wanting: an AMD ryzen 6000 laptop.

This notebook is a cool idea, but its still early days.
 

daglesj

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
5,546
Things I don't buy a laptop without:

Touchscreen

Cellular modem

Things I recently have been wanting: an AMD ryzen 6000 laptop.

This notebook is a cool idea, but its still early days.

Other than the AMD chip, some retro choices there. Maybe a 2014 Dell Lattitude maybe? ;)
 

Varmint

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
1,782
It's a bright screen compared to most laptops I see. Like O said I use mine at 35% brightness on mains and battery and it's fine. I would prefer a matte screen but the rest of the package outweighed that con.

However, i would point out...3200Mhz ram is fully supported on the Framework. Kingston Fury CL20 1.2v FTW!;)

I put the same RAM in my new NUC 11. Fastest RAM available for the NUC.
 

daglesj

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
5,546
I put the same RAM in my new NUC 11. Fastest RAM available for the NUC.

Yeah seems there are dual and single rank versions of the ram. I have single rank version but it benches damn fast. (so many bought 3200 XMP ram and it sticks at 2666). It's hard to work out which is which and harder to find the dual rank ones. The code names they give are cryptic. Though I think the real issue with single rank ram is when they just put in a single stick to cut costs. Plus it affects AMD more than Intel chips. I have two 8GB sticks.

I have to say I'm pretty impressed when you put all the right parts together how good mobile chips are now. Just need to get those thermals down...or make slightly thicker laptops.
 
Top