MSI GeForce RTX 3090 GAMING X TRIO losing video signal

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,717
I just bought the MSI GeForce RTX 3090 Gaming X Trio GPU and so far I have an issue with it on my LG OLED 55" set, which is the BX model from last year 2020. Most of the time when it boots into Windows, the video card fails to produce video signal to my TV and half of the time my GPU is unusable. When it does successfully boot into Windows with a video signal, sometimes launching games or simply turning off my TV off and on will cause the TV to lose signal. I've already tried my GPU with a different monitor and TV and it works fine, my previous video cards worked perfectly fine with my TV.

Any ideas what is wrong with my GPU? Really annoyed I paid a lot of money for a flagship GPU only to be unusable with my said TV half of the time.
 

M76

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
12,383
Try a different DP on the GPU, they are supposed to be equal, but they are not really.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,717
So far I've tried 2 different cables, turning off those power settings and have updated the drivers and firmware, nothing has worked. Though the issue is not major, but an annoyance really, the workaround is I can turn off the TV and back on again will usually reproduce signal again but repeating this procedure can be annoying.
 

M76

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
12,383
So far I've tried 2 different cables, turning off those power settings and have updated the drivers and firmware, nothing has worked. Though the issue is not major, but an annoyance really, the workaround is I can turn off the TV and back on again will usually reproduce signal again but repeating this procedure can be annoying.
Have you not tried moving the TV to other ports on the card? Try all of them before giving up.
 

Sir_David

n00b
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
21
What Nvidia driver version are you using? I was having problems with certain games giving me random black screens. I dropped down to 466.77 and the problem went away.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,717
The latest one, 471.68.

I bought another HDMI 2.1 cable and it seems the problem has been solved, been running it for days now without any issues and my black screen/no signal at launch issues are gone with this new cable. Guess my other cables didn't provide enough bandwidth for this card, though I previously had a 3070 and a 6900 XT with the same cable and TV screen without issues.
 

thecold

Gawd
Joined
Nov 12, 2017
Messages
988
The latest one, 471.68.

I bought another HDMI 2.1 cable and it seems the problem has been solved, been running it for days now without any issues and my black screen/no signal at launch issues are gone with this new cable. Guess my other cables didn't provide enough bandwidth for this card, though I previously had a 3070 and a 6900 XT with the same cable and TV screen without issues.

Seen this one many times, normally with display port cables, though. Glad it's solved!
 
Top