Mouse DPI

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
What is yours set to? I'm trying to gnaw out how bad I am at FPS games, and I'm reading people are using ~1000 DPI. I'm setup at 8000. Yes, eight thousand. 1000 DPI would take my entire desk area to move from monitor one to monitor two.

I have an Anker mouse where I can setup four DPI settings. From 50 to 8000. I set one of them to 1000 and its impossible for me to use. Unless, am I missing something here? Unless I run 8000 and set mouse sensitivity to, like, .8 in game?
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
18,332
About 1300 maybe slightly more and either 500 polling or sometimes 800.
You should try playing Call of Duty MW with a X-BOX Controller it might help you out a bunch.
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
About 1300 maybe slightly more and either 500 polling or sometimes 800.
You should try playing Call of Duty MW with a X-BOX Controller it might help you out a bunch.
I've tried 800 with 8.0. I'd need 30" of space to do a full 360º. Is that correct?

I'm testing COD out against bots right now. 8k DPI and 6.00 is what I've been using. Anything less, and its unbearable. You guys must swing your mouse around a ton? Or use a giant area for your mouse?
 

auntjemima

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
9,483
I am running 1800 dpi accordig to Synapse for my Razer mouse. At 6400 is moves way too quickly. But not all games are the same for me either, but my mouse has a dpi button on the side that gives me 6 options.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
18,332
I use a controller and a small 24" screen I only use mice for point and click games like Grim Dawn.
Right now in Razer Synapse I have 4,000 DPI and 500 polling my desk though is on a incline I have a drafting table I think some of the desks out there are too high.
Like all the gaming desks they sell on Amazon are either 29" high or 30" mine is like 26-27" but it's full adjustable.

After watching my Nephew playing COD Blops 3 with a controller he just blew me out of the water of anything I thought I could do with a mouse.
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
I'm on a 24" 1080 monitor. Probably six years old. Nothing fancy.

So you guys that are running with ~1000 DPI, you must take up a giant area on your desk to move around in?
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
18,332
Is your monitor 60hz?

If you really want an edge in games turn down the graphics to like low makes stuff easier to see.
 

auntjemima

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
9,483
I'm on a 24" 1080 monitor. Probably six years old. Nothing fancy.

So you guys that are running with ~1000 DPI, you must take up a giant area on your desk to move around in?

I am on a 23" 1080p Acer monitor @ 60hz. I don't know how much of that makes a difference, but my mouse maxes out at 6400 and that is far past controllable to me. I would need to check my windows settings as well, as I am sure they are both crontrolling my mouse speed.
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
Yep, 60hz. Probably the cheapest monitor you can buy.

My Anker mouse maxes out at 8k DPI. I like it because I can reach from my main monitor to my second one in about an inch.

But those that are using "low" DPI, how much room do you dedicate to your mouse area? At 800 DPI, I need 9" to go from one side of the screen to the other. At 800 DPI and 8.00 settings, I need 30" of space to do a 360º in COD. My typical settings I'm used to is 1.5". Just seems like the mouse to going drastically slow at 800 DPI.
 

auntjemima

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
9,483
I lift my mouse a lot, probably subconciously. Likely contributes to not needing to move my mouse as far.
 

BassTek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 13, 2002
Messages
6,230
I run 800 DPI, sensitivity set in game so I can do a 180 degree turn in one swipe of the mouse when not scoped in. I then set my scoped sensitivity to average pro settings to see how it feels. With R6:Siege it doesn't feel bad but with CS:Go I felt like I needed a huge pad to use pro settings. I have a SteelSeries 5L which is a fairly large pad and used a good portion of it.
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
Man....800 DPI. Its slow motion.

Reason I want to work on this is, because in game on the killcam in slow motion you can see how I'm all over the place. But with 800 DPI I'd be wipping my mouse all around the desk. I did change my ADS to .50 however.

I just can't see lifting my mouse up and down everything I want to swing 180.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
18,332
If you pick up a 144hz monitor you will see everything better gaming with a 60hz is like trying to look though a fuzzy TV screen.
 

BassTek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 13, 2002
Messages
6,230
Man....800 DPI. Its slow motion.

Reason I want to work on this is, because in game on the killcam in slow motion you can see how I'm all over the place. But with 800 DPI I'd be wipping my mouse all around the desk. I did change my ADS to .50 however.

I just can't see lifting my mouse up and down everything I want to swing 180.

Well COD is a different game than Siege so I can't say what DPI I would use in COD. For Siege I will generally know where I want to attack and have the mouse there already and only have to react within a small area like a door frame or a window so my final input is generally a flick to a head. It did take some adjustment from just moving my hand to moving my whole forearm for large movements but I think overall it is more accurate for me.
 

sharknice

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
2,853
What is yours set to? I'm trying to gnaw out how bad I am at FPS games, and I'm reading people are using ~1000 DPI. I'm setup at 8000. Yes, eight thousand. 1000 DPI would take my entire desk area to move from monitor one to monitor two.

I have an Anker mouse where I can setup four DPI settings. From 50 to 8000. I set one of them to 1000 and its impossible for me to use. Unless, am I missing something here? Unless I run 8000 and set mouse sensitivity to, like, .8 in game?


My DPI is 800 and I have no problem moving across 8 monitors. Make sure you have mouse acceleration (aka enhance pointer precision) off, windows pointer speed at 6/11, etc. This guide would help you a lot https://www.eliteownage.com/mouseguide.html
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
Sooooo I sort of feel like an idiot on this one.

Mouse pads. Haven't used one in ten years at least. What are the chances that is causing my issue?

800 DPI on eight monitors would like like 15' of desk space.
 

sharknice

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
2,853
Sooooo I sort of feel like an idiot on this one.

Mouse pads. Haven't used one in ten years at least. What are the chances that is causing my issue?

800 DPI on eight monitors would like like 15' of desk space.


If you're using a 1920x1080 monitor at 800 dpi (pixels 'dots' per inch) it would take 2.4 inches to move completely across one.

The surface could be causing an issue with tracking. It's explained in the guide I linked, but it could be a bunch of other settings too. I would just go through the guide.
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
If you're using a 1920x1080 monitor at 800 dpi (pixels 'dots' per inch) it would take 2.4 inches to move completely across one.

The surface could be causing an issue with tracking. It's explained in the guide I linked, but it could be a bunch of other settings too. I would just go through the guide.
I've got a measuring tape right here.

11" from one edge, to the other at 800 DPI.
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
Because you have bad settings affecting your mouse.
Hrm.

This is what I'm looking at:

fdsafadsfdas.png



gfdsgfdsgfsdAAA.png

jhgfjhfgjhf.png
 

Drexion

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 14, 2004
Messages
1,460
800DPI, simply because it's what I've been using for more than a decade.

Most professional gamers use 400-800 DPI, even though they use gaming mice which are capable of up to 16,000 DPI. Reason one was back in the day most mice only allowed multiples of 400 to be set (400, 800, 1200 etc). Reason two being when these high-dpi sensors were first introduced many years ago, the higher DPI values were not perfectly stable, there was some skipping/stuttering/hardware estimation at high values. Nowadays the problems are fixed but most players stuck to the DPI values they've been accustomed to.

Also if you're talking about mouse distance moved, then its actually eDPI you're thinking about (effective DPI), ie a multiplier of your in game sensitivity and your mouse DPI. You could double your DPI, half your in game sens, and you would notice no difference. So just saying you use 'xxx dpi' alone doesn't really mean anything.

Finally usefulness might vary from game to game. For example in some games the DPI value might affect non-gameplay menus (like inventory, map etc) where in other games it wouldn't. So in those kinds of games you might want to change your DPI but keep the same eDPI (for the same in game-sens but different in-menu sens).
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
Yea, something isn't adding up. I'm chatting with a guy on Reddit, and he's telling me it takes 5" to do a 180º. With the same settings, it takes me 25".
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
This is 8k DPI and 6,00 in game sensitivity:



To swing this whole 180, is 3" or ~8cm.
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
Man, this stuff gets involved if you let it.

I never move my entire arm. I rest the base of my palm on the desk and move from there. I never move my entire hand.

20191116_121909.jpg


Here is the area of the desk that I obviously use:
20191116_121927.jpg
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
Holy shit buy a mouse pad its the tracking that is off.
haha, is it really that bad? Its been like that for years and years. Hell, probably at least ten.

I've got a mat I use to work on my AR and brought that up. Used my mouse on that and it didn't seem to do anything. oh well. I'll order a pad then.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
18,332
Measure your desk first the medium size is good the thick ones dont curl up. The small one might be too small. It gives the dimensions on Amazon. I use Qck Thick since Walmart sells them in store.
 

auntjemima

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
9,483
You do not need a mouse pad. As you showed, your mat made no difference. I would imagine comix has an issue with the damage you have done on that cheap desk.
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
Measure your desk first the medium size is good the thick ones dont curl up. The small one might be too small. It gives the dimensions on Amazon. I use Qck Thick since Walmart sells them in store.
Eh, looking at the wear marks I think the small will be just fine. The small is 10x8. The area I have worn in is 6x7.
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
You do not need a mouse pad. As you showed, your mat made no difference. I would imagine comix has an issue with the damage you have done on that cheap desk.
$40 at Staples about 15 years ago. Had a scratch on it. Never noticed where. Its a neat setup because it holds both my monitors. The right side is elevated a bit right my eye level. Its banged up to all hell now, but I'm fine with it; as you can see. :D
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
I actually put my entire mat down on the desk. Its 36" wide. Fits my entire keyboard and mouse area. Feels like the same material a mouse pad would be? Its a little wonky though because my mouse and keyboard are never parallel to each other. My mouse is about 30º off.
 

auntjemima

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
9,483
The laser on a mouse is so fucking advanced now that that desk won't be an issue. Even before the biggest issue was going from one colour to another drastically. That area seems like it's solid.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
18,332
By the time the mouse runs over those chips in the particle board its game over and overriding shots could be a problem due to lack of control.
 

FighterAce124

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
4,004
I use 3k DPI and my mouse area is maybe 4-6" across in my current setup... I move across my two 24" displays without an issue in this small space. I also never noticed a difference between 800 on old mice and 3k once windows settings are adjusted - you cant adjust just dpi or just windows settings and not the other if you want the best experience. I guess if you leave the mouse settings in windows/software the same, yes, you could be looking at massive physical movements for low dpi...

I can go up to 9k dpi, but I dont see a reason to. I suck the same at 800, 1500, 3k, 5k and 9k.
 

viivo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 7, 2005
Messages
1,698
At 2560x1440, 1500 DPI has long been my default. I don't play online shooters so accuracy doesn't matter. I just can't do the huge sweeping mouse movements that low DPI necessitates.
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
So I found this:

kjhgkjghkjgh.png


This happens across the board. So my mouse is complete off its settings.
 

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
20,074
I found the higher the dpi "mouse", the better it tracks on my bare sofa material for living room gaming.
The best so far is the Logitech G502 Hero (16,000 dpi), it tracks consistently, fluidly and doesnt pause/stop tracking if it encounters a small dip. Much better than my previous Corsair Scimitar RGB (12,000 dpi) which had 1/2 to 2 second pauses and less fluid tracking.

The dpi I use makes no difference to this.
I use 1600 or 2400dpi depending how little I want to move my hand.
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
6,838
I found the higher the dpi "mouse", the better it tracks on my bare sofa material for living room gaming.
The best so far is the Logitech G502 Hero (16,000 dpi), it tracks consistently, fluidly and doesnt pause/stop tracking if it encounters a small dip. Much better than my previous Corsair Scimitar RGB (12,000 dpi) which had 1/2 to 2 second pauses and less fluid tracking.

The dpi I use makes no difference to this.
I use 1600 or 2400dpi depending how little I want to move my hand.
I'm ordering the G502 tonight.
 
Top