Looking into TEC for my i7 930

damstr

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 26, 2005
Messages
1,468
For some reason my chip just likes to run really really hot. 71C load with a Feser triple 120mm radiator. I thought my pump might of been dying but my 5970 load temps around right around 45-47C which is normal.

I currently have everything you see listed in my sig. From the research I've done so far it seems like the high end PSU's can directly power the TEC. I was hoping to do just that. Have the end of the TEC just go right into a molex connector with nothing else on that rail.

Anyway the CPU waterblock I'm using is the HEATKILLER 3.0. I was curious how I go about hooking everything up and how will I know if I need insulation? I was looking at this peltier from Danger Den.

http://www.dangerden.com/store/226-watt_peltier.html

Not sure if it's overkill for my CPU.

Also these need cold plates correct? So it would go waterblock>coldplate>TEC>CPU?

Thanks!

BTW here is a pic of my current setup. Note that I'm only using a single 5970 now. Sold the other one.

DSC00725.jpg
 

Rossi~

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
3,479
For some reason my chip just likes to run really really hot. 71C load with a Feser triple 120mm radiator. I thought my pump might of been dying but my 5970 load temps around right around 45-47C which is normal.

I currently have everything you see listed in my sig. From the research I've done so far it seems like the high end PSU's can directly power the TEC. I was hoping to do just that. Have the end of the TEC just go right into a molex connector with nothing else on that rail.

Anyway the CPU waterblock I'm using is the HEATKILLER 3.0. I was curious how I go about hooking everything up and how will I know if I need insulation? I was looking at this peltier from Danger Den.

http://www.dangerden.com/store/226-watt_peltier.html

Not sure if it's overkill for my CPU.

Also these need cold plates correct? So it would go waterblock>coldplate>TEC>CPU?

Thanks!

BTW here is a pic of my current setup. Note that I'm only using a single 5970 now. Sold the other one.

DSC00725.jpg

71c is perfectly fine for a 930 @ 4.1GHz, infact it's pretty damn cool especially since you're running a 5970 in the same loop. i7 chips run hot.
 

damstr

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 26, 2005
Messages
1,468
Yeah maybe it is cool but I want to oc it further and with me hitting 71c with only 1.270v leaves little room for overclocking further.
 

Archmage

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 13, 2000
Messages
3,027
I hate to say this, but that TEC won't work on an overclocked i7.

You'd need the biggest TEC around (400+ watts), a separate PSU, and probably a custom waterblock. (Not to mention you'll definitely need additional radiators to handle the extra heat)

If anything, the setup you're considering will give you WORSE temps at full load at any overclock higher than can be achieved with your current setup.

You can use TECs to chill the water, however, but that requires several TECs in parallel, a separate PSU with voltage control, some custom waterblocks for the TEC chiller, and a lot of $$$.

If you have just a single radiator running the i7 AND 5970, then your best upgrade right now might just be an additional radiator (That could give you 4-7C lower temps at full load right away). You could also look into checking whether or not the CPU is flat, and your thermal compound application is evenly distributed (and even consider switching compounds for an extra 1C or so - if every little bit matters to you).

Edit: And if you had the right TEC (400+w) and waterblock (Bigger, to accommodate the 60mm TEC) for the job, then it'd go Waterblock | TEC | Coldplate | CPU. The Block, TEC, and Coldplate create a high-pressure sandwich. They must be clamped VERY tight and evenly. Most people don't go this route because it's horribly inefficient, but if you do... then one of your few options is to contact UltraSonic on Xtremesystems. He manufactures a proper block for the job, and he has written software to help you estimate the results beforehand. I'll grab some necessary links soon...
 
Last edited:

Rossi~

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
3,479
Yeah maybe it is cool but I want to oc it further and with me hitting 71c with only 1.270v leaves little room for overclocking further.

You've got like 15c to play with there. But as the other guy said, if you want to improve what you have the another radiator would be the best option after reseating your block again and making sure it's flat and using decent thermal paste.
 

damstr

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 26, 2005
Messages
1,468
You've got like 15c to play with there. But as the other guy said, if you want to improve what you have the another radiator would be the best option after reseating your block again and making sure it's flat and using decent thermal paste.

Well the main reason I was interested in TEC is I simply do not have anymore room inside my computer for any radiator and I definitely don't feel like getting a new case.

Thanks for the input so far!
 

Archmage

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 13, 2000
Messages
3,027
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=248544 - Here is a guy who has done something similar, but the forum is telling him he shouldn't have (they're right). He's getting 59C loaded on a q9650@4Ghz - a regular waterblock can do that (or better). The situation would be worse on an i7.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=4318031&postcount=23 - Specific post from Ultrasonic2 showing his TEC-block. Notice the temps - at full load it still reaches 60C with a 450W TEC (i7 at 4.2Ghz, 1.456v). He says the block works with a 600W TEC.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=4315840&postcount=5 - specific post explaining that a TEC-chiller is the most efficient way to utilize TECs on modern CPUs. That picture is of a possibly failed TEC-chiller, not sure, but it gives you the general idea: Distribute the TEC-cooling capacity over several TEC's at lower voltage (higher efficiency). There will need to be a corresponding block for the other side of the TECs of course. One side will be the "hot loop" with the radiators to dissipate heat. The other side will be your chilled CPU/GPU loop (no radiators).

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=248367 - This guy wants to run a 48-TEC chiller! Good lord... you can glean some useful tidbits from the comments.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=248950 - 4th post has a link to Ultrasonic's TEC-calculator-ware, and 5th post by Ultrasonic points out what is wrong with the Original Post.

- You're NOT going to be able to run TECs without adding another radiator or two. Your system is already pushing the limits of your radiator, but it's working fine - add in the heat of any workable TEC-setup, and the water temp will increase like hell.

This isn't fitting in your case...

So we're left with:

- Another radiator
- Stronger fans on existing radiator
- Re-mount waterblock, check for CPU-flatness using a razor's edge (to see if any light is visible beneath it while in contact with the CPU)

Unless someone else has an idea? You could try the HK 3.0 mod on this page: http://skinneelabs.com/heatkiller-i7.html - I think I've read that some people have had issues with the material coming loose or something... or that there is a better material to use. Either way, I'm not sure I'd do the mod.
 
Last edited:

damstr

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 26, 2005
Messages
1,468
Thanks for all the links.

I've rechecked my block and it's making really good contact with the cpu. I've added more thermal paste, taken some away, loosened/tightened the block and these load temps are the best I can do.

Oh well TEC was a thought but I guess these damn i7's just run to damn hot.
 

vjcsmoke

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
4,511
Add another 360 rad to your loop. You can mount one externally via a Rad Box.

TEC and Peltier cooling systems are notoriously inefficient. They are also obnoxiously loud compared to water cooling systems. Just read some reviews of Coolermaster's V10 to see typical experience.

You might also consider adding an air conditioning window unit to your room to help with ambient temps.
 

rickss69

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
328
Come over to the Boreas from Coolit and you will never go back to conventional water cooling. ;)

DSC00346-2.jpg


ScreenHunter_01Apr182208.jpg
 

Elloquin2

n00b
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
1
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=4318031&postcount=23 - Specific post from Ultrasonic2 showing his TEC-block. Notice the temps - at full load it still reaches 60C with a 450W TEC (i7 at 4.2Ghz, 1.456v). He says the block works with a 600W TEC.

Sorry just have to pipe in and make a minor correction here as you've gotten it a bit confused. That block actually has 2 50x50mm 226Qmax TECs in it. So the 450W # is the combination of the two. The block also works with 2 331Qmax TECs for a total of 662W. As for how well it performs see my post here http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=253739
 
Top