I Bought a RTX 3080 Today!

I Bought a RTX 3080 Today!

  • Yes

    Votes: 74 10.7%
  • No

    Votes: 619 89.3%

  • Total voters
    693

undertaker2k8

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
1,681
Bay Area CL (home to Nvidia lol) brings up 6 or 7 cards around 1500...one guy is asking 2000 for a card he paid 836 for with taxes and is even posting the screenshot of the order lol. But yeah this was a stupid paper launch, scalpers aside, you'd see more cards show up in these places.
 

mnewxcv

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,783
Looks like Best Buy Canada charged my card last night and my EVGA XC3 Ultra has an updated delivery date of Friday after previously being invalid date! If I get it by the weekend I'll be happy!
When did you order?
 

Dayaks

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 22, 2012
Messages
8,849
So my Cyberpower shitbox 10900k/3080/1TB/16GB for $1899 ($1720 after 10% off bday coupon) came in. Even the $1899 seemed suspiciously low. It was the last day to use my coupon and said screw it.

Basically what I expected...

Good: it actually has a 10900k and 3080 Ventus; 1TB WD blue nvme.

Everything else is pretty much trash. I am going to replace the PSU with an EVGA 1600 I have sitting around.

Good wire management though.

To follow up on this:

E2003229-5C8A-4184-9BB8-D65DDB588741.jpeg


To add my 2x SATA SSDs (including my boot drive from my last PC because screw reinstalling a million programs) I had to take off the GPU and figured out the mobo.

So I figured out:
10900k
16GB PC-3000
3080 Ventus
Asus Prime Z490 V
1TB WD Blue NVME
Mystery power supply (only actually concerning part)
Noise levels ok
Temps looked great during the Timespy (I had side panel off). I would be concerned if it was left on since the one exhaust has the AIO on it; but I did like the push-pull setup. I’d move that to an intake if I left the panel on.

Overall for the price it’s great IMO. If anyone wants a 3080 and needs a new rig for cheap it could be an option. Full PCs stay on the site for a lot longer than just video cards. I don’t think bots look at them.

Also 4k/120 works fine over a crappy $20 16 ft HDMI 2.0 cable. I know some were concerned about that. YMMV but worth trying if you already have it.
 

DarkSideA8

Gawd
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
963
To follow up on this:

View attachment 286040

To add my 2x SATA SSDs (including my boot drive from my last PC because screw reinstalling a million programs) I had to take off the GPU and figured out the mobo.

So I figured out:
10900k
16GB PC-3000
3080 Ventus
Asus Prime Z490 V
1TB WD Blue NVME
Mystery power supply (only actually concerning part)
Noise levels ok
Temps looked great during the Timespy (I had side panel off). I would be concerned if it was left on since the one exhaust has the AIO on it; but I did like the push-pull setup. I’d move that to an intake if I left the panel on.

Overall for the price it’s great IMO. If anyone wants a 3080 and needs a new rig for cheap it could be an option. Full PCs stay on the site for a lot longer than just video cards. I don’t think bots look at them.

Also 4k/120 works fine over a crappy $20 16 ft HDMI 2.0 cable. I know some were concerned about that. YMMV but worth trying if you already have it.

Just curious - how does swapping the boot drive work these days? I've always had to wipe the old drive, install Windows and programs anew whenever I get a new Mobo and cpu.
 

mnewxcv

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,783
Just curious - how does swapping the boot drive work these days? I've always had to wipe the old drive, install Windows and programs anew whenever I get a new Mobo and cpu.
You definitely don't have to do thst anymore. I have a client who runs some software that requires a lot of configuring and data transfer if you were to wipe the drive. I've moved that image from a Dell with a ryzen 1700x, to a custom build with a 3800x, and finally to a laptop with a 4800h. No issues whatsoever, just installed the latest chipset drivers for each and got a new windows key.
 

DarkSideA8

Gawd
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
963
You definitely don't have to do thst anymore. I have a client who runs some software that requires a lot of configuring and data transfer if you were to wipe the drive. I've moved that image from a Dell with a ryzen 1700x, to a custom build with a 3800x, and finally to a laptop with a 4800h. No issues whatsoever, just installed the latest chipset drivers for each and got a new windows key.

I'm floored. Back when I used to upgrade every year I kept up with this stuff... But I have been using my builds longer - several years in some cases and it seems I've missed some developments
 

KickAssCop

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 19, 2003
Messages
7,009
Congrats guys! I am still hunting. My hunt might be over by end of this week though. :(
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
3,158
Just curious - how does swapping the boot drive work these days? I've always had to wipe the old drive, install Windows and programs anew whenever I get a new Mobo and cpu.

Man you must have been doing it wrong. You haven't had to do that since the XP days. I'm on a win7 install that's gone through 3 different mobos/CPUs.
 

DarkSideA8

Gawd
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
963
Man you must have been doing it wrong. You haven't had to do that since the XP days. I'm on a win7 install that's gone through 3 different mobos/CPUs.

I admit that I tried it once out of laziness back when I enjoyed Wn7. It worked - but I had stability issues and ended up wiping and reinstalling everything.

Although now that I think about it - some time after that I had a failing psu issue - so perhaps the instabilities were related to the psu and not plugging in the old SSD into the new Mobo /cpu combo.

Shrug - I ll try to just swap out the SSD on the next build and see what happens!
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
3,158
I admit that I tried it once out of laziness back when I enjoyed Wn7. It worked - but I had stability issues and ended up wiping and reinstalling everything.

Although now that I think about it - some time after that I had a failing psu issue - so perhaps the instabilities were related to the psu and not plugging in the old SSD into the new Mobo /cpu combo.

Shrug - I ll try to just swap out the SSD on the next build and see what happens!

Definitely just swap. Occasionally you run into problems but my advice is uninstall any custom drivers before doing so. That can trip up windows and W10 has even fewer problems with that due to most just getting them from windows update.
 

Evil Scooter

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 22, 2000
Messages
4,555
Man you must have been doing it wrong. You haven't had to do that since the XP days. I'm on a win7 install that's gone through 3 different mobos/CPUs.

Last time I upgraded CPU & MOBO to current rig I ended up having to buy another win 10 license. I called MS support and they demanded to know where I purchased my copy of win 10... I could not remember. I upgraded from Win7. GL with the upgrades...lol
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
21,702
does Newegg etc have a set time when they add new 3080 inventory to their site or is it just random throughout the day?...how often do they receive new stock- daily, weekly?
 

exlink

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 16, 2006
Messages
6,003
I was being facetious. I know there is a key, but Amazon sent me squat.
There are rumors going around that the promotion was pulled from some retailers at the end of last month as they ran out of keys to give away. Whether or not thats true who knows.
 

Mylex

Gawd
Joined
Aug 30, 2018
Messages
852
I got one of those emails from EVGA with the special link and was able to order the FTW3 Ultra gaming. Took a while since the site kept crashing but i got confirmation email of success just now.
I hope more take notice of this becuase its simple enough of a solution I'm only thinking of nefarious reasons why no one has done it besides EVGA.
 

motqalden

[H]ard|DCOTM x4
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
2,588
I hope more take notice of this becuase its simple enough of a solution I'm only thinking of nefarious reasons why no one has done it besides EVGA.

Yeah it was a fairly painless process. I had clicked the notify me link on the EVGA site, right at the time of when the original release day / time was, so today when i saw someone posting about this new 5 hour notify / cart window i was excited. I was kind of surprised that i already got an email about this.
I got the email at 1:53 PM PST today and didn't realize i had it till 2 hours later but that is still plenty within the timeframe window. The first couple of times i clicked the link it didn't load the site right but after a few more tries it worked fine.
I agree all retailers should be doing something similar. My order is in EVGA and still showing "pending verification" which is i guess the manual review to make sure I am not a scalper.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
21,702
since I currently have a GTX 1070 I'm thinking of buying a 2060 or 2070 Super from EVGA and then doing the Step-Up...90 days should be enough time for the 3080 to get in stock...am I right or am I right?
 

exlink

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 16, 2006
Messages
6,003
since I currently have a GTX 1070 I'm thinking of buying a 2060 or 2070 Super from EVGA and then doing the Step-Up...90 days should be enough time for the 3080 to get in stock...am I right or am I right?
I believe once you place a step-up request in those first 90 days then it'll still process even if you are outside of the 90 day window. But I think you'd get one before then anyway.
 

TaintedSquirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
11,143
I believe once you place a step-up request in those first 90 days then it'll still process even if you are outside of the 90 day window. But I think you'd get one before then anyway.
This is right, you have 90 days to apply for step up. The actual step up queue has no time limit.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
21,702
I believe once you place a step-up request in those first 90 days then it'll still process even if you are outside of the 90 day window. But I think you'd get one before then anyway.

I also don't need to buy the card from the EVGA website right?...I can buy an EVGA card from Amazon or Newegg or Best Buy and still qualify for the Step Up right?...my only concern is that Step Up orders are probably low priority and I might be able to snag a 3080 directly from somewhere else before I receive the 3080 Step Up card
 

TaintedSquirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
11,143
MSI appears to be scalping their own cards.

https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comments/j6i8v1/msi_is_scalping_their_own_3080s_on_ebay_links

https://www.reddit.com/r/hardware/comments/j6idky/msi_scalping_their_own_3080s_on_ebay_links

As said, MSI is scalping their own 3080s on ebay under the name Starlit Partner. Browsing the Starlit Partner seller reveals that everything they sell is MSI, most (maybe all) new in a box. They have the nerve to say "We work closely with the manufacturer." Because they are literally the manufacturer.

https://trademarks.justia.com/871/87/starlit-87187184.html

https://www.ebay.com/itm/MSI-GeForc...024641&hash=item3b4f2c16bd:g:qsEAAOSwlJlfcLzv

A card retailing for 759.00, currently being sold *by the manufacturer on ebay* for 1359.00, and they are absolutely selling out of them. There were some available when I started looking into it and now the auction simply says 0 available, 4 sold.

How is this legal, and even if it's legal, how are they not being absolutely crucified for it already?
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Mylex
like this

Mylex

Gawd
Joined
Aug 30, 2018
Messages
852
I also don't need to buy the card from the EVGA website right?...I can buy an EVGA card from Amazon or Newegg or Best Buy and still qualify for the Step Up right?...my only concern is that Step Up orders are probably low priority and I might be able to snag a 3080 directly from somewhere else before I get the Step Up card
Correct it just needs to be new from one of those sites.
 

Mylex

Gawd
Joined
Aug 30, 2018
Messages
852
MSI appears to be scalping their own cards.

https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comments/j6i8v1/msi_is_scalping_their_own_3080s_on_ebay_links

https://www.reddit.com/r/hardware/comments/j6idky/msi_scalping_their_own_3080s_on_ebay_links

As said, MSI is scalping their own 3080s on ebay under the name Starlit Partner. Browsing the Starlit Partner seller reveals that everything they sell is MSI, most (maybe all) new in a box. They have the nerve to say "We work closely with the manufacturer." Because they are literally the manufacturer.

https://trademarks.justia.com/871/87/starlit-87187184.html

https://www.ebay.com/itm/MSI-GeForc...024641&hash=item3b4f2c16bd:g:qsEAAOSwlJlfcLzv

A card retailing for 759.00, currently being sold *by the manufacturer on ebay* for 1359.00, and they are absolutely selling out of them. There were some available when I started looking into it and now the auction simply says 0 available, 4 sold.

How is this legal, and even if it's legal, how are they not being absolutely crucified for it already?
The evidence is pretty damning they really need to explain this action. Is it a rogue division, doubtful, or they are preying on their customers.
 

RareAir23

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
307
since I currently have a GTX 1070 I'm thinking of buying a 2060 or 2070 Super from EVGA and then doing the Step-Up...90 days should be enough time for the 3080 to get in stock...am I right or am I right?

polonyc2 What you're thinking of doing I've already done. Amazon has a shipment of eVGA 2070 Supers coming in during the middle of this month. I'm ordering one and will use it to Step Up to the 3080. eVGA does have the 3080 FTW3 Ultra eligible in their Step Up program right now. Now it's a question of fulfilling a Step Up for it once one comes in. Out!
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
21,702
polonyc2 What you're thinking of doing I've already done. Amazon has a shipment of eVGA 2070 Supers coming in during the middle of this month. I'm ordering one and will use it to Step Up to the 3080. eVGA does have the 3080 FTW3 Ultra eligible in their Step Up program right now. Now it's a question of fulfilling a Step Up for it once one comes in. Out!

the big question is: how long will it take to fulfill those Step-Up orders?...early 2021?...I'm sure EVGA wants to sell as many of their 3080/3090 cards as possible at full MSRP and not send out as Step-Up replacements...and why are 2070 Super cards so in demand and out of stock?
 

exlink

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 16, 2006
Messages
6,003
the big question is: how long will it take to fulfill those Step-Up orders?...early 2021?...I'm sure EVGA wants to sell as many of their 3080/3090 cards as possible at full MSRP and not send out as Step-Up replacements...and why are 2070 Super cards so in demand and out of stock?
End of production. Combined with people who sold off their previous card in anticipation of the 3080/3090 only to be faced with massive shortages. So they take the same step-up route that you are.
 
Top