Hit a WCG (World Community Grid) milestone? Post it here:

Jherek

n00b
Joined
Jul 12, 2011
Messages
29
mcm1_7.jpg
with over 30,000 results.
 

Jherek

n00b
Joined
Jul 12, 2011
Messages
29
arp1_2.jpg
Got Gold on Africa Rain Project. A worthy project, I'm sure, but each task takes almost forever. Going to switch that machine over to conquering Covid instead. Except for when I need to run air conditioning, I'm going to keep kicking Covid around till it's dead and gone.
 

Gilthanis

[H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
8,574
View attachment 343518 Got Gold on Africa Rain Project. A worthy project, I'm sure, but each task takes almost forever. Going to switch that machine over to conquering Covid instead. Except for when I need to run air conditioning, I'm going to keep kicking Covid around till it's dead and gone.
What machine is it?
 
  • Like
Reactions: EXT64
like this

Jherek

n00b
Joined
Jul 12, 2011
Messages
29
What machine is it?
It's an I5 3570S - oddly the B75 motherboard doesn't recognize that it's an S processor and runs it at the *full* 3400 mhz. Got all 4 cores going 24/7 till I need AC or Covid dies.

I got started in a serious way doing World Community Grid a few winters back. I keep the house at 58-60 degrees in winter, so to spare the furnace/gas bill. I have one well-insulated room in which I run all my folding machines - it's also my bedroom, workroom, music room, etc. I've got 8 computers going, which keeps the room plenty warm even on the coldest winter nights. I used to run a space heater in winter, but it occurred to me to use the old machines instead... so my power bill is about the same - but cancer and covid are being fought and there's more points for team [H]. Also, there's a gentle *white* noise from the machines... almost all my fans are 12CM or larger and max 1200 RPM. Once it warms up, the machines go off, of course.... but that I5 is gonna keep going. Except for 2 machines I actually use for ordinary computer purposes, the others are stripped bare of power consuming, noise producing, waste - I opened the sides of the cases, unplugged all the fans (aside from CPU fans) no peripherals, no monitors plugged in, no video cards, etc. In case anyone is curious, here's the rundown of my folding machines from most powerful to least:

1. I5 3570K - I run it as high as 4.3 ghz if it gets really cold, but usually keep it at 3.8. My main computer for daily use.
2. I5 3570S
3. Phenom II x 4 3.0 ghz. Got it under-volted at 1.325 - no peripherals, monitor not even plugged in. Does about 60% of what the above I5 does. Nothing seemingly will kill it.
4. I3 Sandy Bridge at 3.3 ghz. A piece of junk Dell I found at a yard sale for 5 bucks. Does almost as much as the above Phenom II.
5. I3 1st Gen. 3.3 ghz. Another piece of junk Dell found at a yard sale for 5 bucks. Does about 15 percent less than above I3.
6. Athlon II dual core 3.4 ghz. My old main computer, now an AV computer. For my purposes, it's great at what it does.
7. Athlon 64 x2 @ 2.4 ghz. This one is a real museum piece. It doesn't get a lot done, but it keeps the air warmer. It was gathering dust in the closet till December of 2020, when I thought to press it back into service. I underclocked/volted it, for max efficiency and quiet.
8. A garbage single core laptop.

All told that's 25 threads for [H] - Currently doing about 2.5 percent of all [H] folding on WCG. Yes, I'm aware that most of them should be retired, but "waste" heat isn't a bad thing if you need space heating, as I do in my specific use case. I had considered upgrading some of the CPUs, but with the computer market - even for oldish equipment - that's a bad idea. A used I5 2400/2500 cpu for the Sandy Bridge Dell is running about 30 bucks now on Fleabay, which is twice what it was before Covid. And I'm not going to drop 40 bucks for a used Phenom II x6. Prices are just mad these days. I decided that if I'm going to spend anything on computer stuff, it's going to be a Ryzen to replace my main computer.
 
Last edited:

Gilthanis

[H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
8,574
Don't worry, I run a lot of old antiquated devices too. Just curious on what you have churning out work. Open Pandemics has been BETA testing GPU applications lately. MIP would not be a good choice for your rigs unless you ran it in a mix of other projects due to it wanting a lot of L3 cache.
 
  • Like
Reactions: EXT64
like this

Jherek

n00b
Joined
Jul 12, 2011
Messages
29
I have no GPU's of note - the least bad are the onboard graphics for the I5s. I wonder if Open Pandemics would take advantage of those? You're right about MIP - the points are terrible, but it's a good cause, of course. I've got over 14 years on MIP, but switched over to MCM and Covid instead. No pressure, but I wouldn't mind learning what others are using for folding rigs. :geek:
 
  • Like
Reactions: EXT64
like this

SmokeRngs

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2008
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
17,900
Thanks to some considerable help from my 5800x I finally cracked 50 million WCG points.

It's replaced a 2600x which was put in the server to replace and retire my longest running Q6600. I still hate the thought of retiring that beast as it has done great duty for well over a decade and overclocked to a minimum of 3.2Ghz but most of the time at 3.6Ghz.
 

Jherek

n00b
Joined
Jul 12, 2011
Messages
29
SmokeRngs' wrote: "It's replaced a 2600x which was put in the server to replace and retire my longest running Q6600. I still hate the thought of retiring that beast as it has done great duty for well over a decade and overclocked to a minimum of 3.2Ghz but most of the time at 3.6Ghz."

Perhaps press it back into service for next winter's heating needs?
 

SmokeRngs

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2008
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
17,900
SmokeRngs' wrote: "It's replaced a 2600x which was put in the server to replace and retire my longest running Q6600. I still hate the thought of retiring that beast as it has done great duty for well over a decade and overclocked to a minimum of 3.2Ghz but most of the time at 3.6Ghz."

Perhaps press it back into service for next winter's heating needs?
Space is a serious issue and I don't really have the space for more than two systems full time otherwise it would be a consideration.
 

EXT64

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2020
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
775
That's ok - I only race in runtime with how messed up WCG points are these days :D
 

EXT64

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2020
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
775
Do GPUs count towards runtime at all, or is it only accounting for CPU work (and the slight bit of CPU overhead)?
 

pututu

[H]ard DC'er of the Year 2021
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
2,576
If you have nvidia card, you need to allocate one cpu (actually 0.972) for one gpu task. Only the cpu runtime is counted towards your runtime badge. So in this example, I only got 0.05 hrs of cpu runtime credit which happen to be the same as the gpu run time (elapsed time).

If you have amd card, it is even worse. I can't remember exactly but you only need about 0.2 cpu for each gpu task. Meaning your cpu time could be 0.01hr but the elapsed time is 0.05hr (this is how long your gpu will run), so you get 0.01hr cpu runtime credit.

1630813587352.png


1630813734886.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: EXT64
like this
Top