[H] Ubuntu DC Appliance -- alternative approach to Linux crunching/folding

tear

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2011
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
1,568
PXE is, by nature, very different from an image like this.

Can you describe in more detail how you'd use a PXE image?
 

Pitbully

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
1,155
Just wanted to say thanks to tear and the gang for setting this up. I had it up and running on my new 4p system in less than 20 minutes today.

What is the easiest way to monitor cpu usage/temps with this OS? I'd like to be able to see my temps and CPU load easily if possible and I'm a linux newb here.:D

*edit*

I figured it out and downloaded system monitor, worked like a top!
 
Last edited:

tear

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2011
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
1,568
You're welcome!

P.S.
Avoid running System Monitor continuously -- there have been several reports of impaired
DC performance with active System Monitor...
 

f1y

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
8,107
+1
Fail @ DLB engage
you are failing when you hit load.

I gave it two new 850w PSUs, replaced all the heatsinks with new ones and checked the torque on them


My system still just does not like 4 processors. No OC, it's all stock.


Here's the video of it crashing:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuIAu_xz0cc&

I don't know why it list 32 cores. It should be 4x12 for 48 cores. Maybe I have a bad core or something? Or can this applicance only see 32?
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,479
Duff CPU and/or socket, as requested though. Post a new thread and we will assist a lot quicker, or look us up on irc
 

Grandpa_01

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2013
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
1,175
f1y in a terminal window run < fahdiag > and post it in a new thread in the main DC forum rather than here in the DC Guides sub forum. I am assuming you are using the DC Appliance since you posted in this thread the command should give the last 20 OS errors and the last 10 fah core errors which should help us diagnose the problem if they were captured.
 

tear

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2011
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
1,568
It doesn't do GPU folding out of the box.

"People say" that, depending on hardware configuration, one may need specific GPU driver
and/or CUDA. Plus, I heard that some cores are compiled against Ubuntu 14.x (which disqualifies
current appliance).

If there is most compatible software combination, let me know and I'll consider bundling it with
the appliance.
 

Gilthanis

[H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
8,572
Does the card work fine in another box? Does a different card work in the problem box? I have had cases where a card was bad but would work in one machine but not another. However, I wasn't using the appliance when experiencing it...
 

tear

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2011
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
1,568
JTG,

It may be related to nouveau [native Linux driver for NVIDIA chips]. Unfortunately I don't have
such a card so I have no way of reproducing the issue locally. Still, we'll try to figure out
what is going on.

First, can you take a step back and confirm that the box fully boots with the card removed?
 
Top