First FB Sprint of 2018 starts on Mar 21, 6:00am/9:00am PST/EST

pututu

[H]ard DC'er of the Year 2021
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
2,573
Is this the site to download and install optimized apps for seti? Anyone has tried it? Not sure if this is worth doing so since this is a sprint event. Thoughts?
 

motqalden

[H]ard|DCOTM x5
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
2,911
bah. i didn't have enough gpu tasks downloaded i think and stalled out already... guess i will figure out the bunker thing another day. would rather submit work outside the contest then waste computing time. only 9 hours isn't much bunker... i will be more on the ball next time.
 
D

Deleted member 88227

Guest
Honestly you should have held on to them anyway. Much higher chance those will get validated during the sprint than the WU's you grab during the Sprint.
 

ChristianVirtual

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Feb 23, 2013
Messages
2,561
I use their custom-build app on Linux and cuda 8; last year it was a huge difference due to issues with lower versions of Cuda . Have the same things just started again and still works.

Not tried Windows , as I don’t have for crunching
 

atp1916

[H]ard|DCoTM x1
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
4,849
Figured out how to work with app_config. It needed to go into the project directory itself.

So, all cards are up per rig, and hitting 4 tasks per.

15 1070s, 32 1070 Ti currently.

When I get back into town, I'll be putting together another rig - another 6 1070 Ti and 2 1080s.
 

ChristianVirtual

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Feb 23, 2013
Messages
2,561
Performance of my 980Ti and 1080Ti under Linux/CentOS 7.4 with custom build seti@app

Screen Shot 2018-03-22 at 20.26.03.png
 

atp1916

[H]ard|DCoTM x1
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
4,849
And.....several of the machines down and I am in another city.

Nice
 

Gilthanis

[H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
8,571
Boooooo! lol Just give Skillz the keys to your place. He will make sure they are well taken care of... :whistle:
 

Gilthanis

[H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
8,571
Well..the solution is simple...stop going out of town.
 
D

Deleted member 88227

Guest
I should have over 300 results to upload when I go on my lunch break in about an hour. Then my machines will be running wild.

Yes, every time I leave more than a day my rigs get booted. Lol
 
D

Deleted member 88227

Guest
Unless we get some help we are not gonna win. Currently in second and first place is pulling away.

fastgeek you got anything going on this?
 
D

Deleted member 88227

Guest
No idea, but they're turning out some numbers for sure.

I just got my 48-core rig online and working. Was having issues with it booting before, but I somehow sorted it out. No idea what I did to be honest, but she's got 48 tasks running right now so there's that.

I dumped my first load a few hours ago which put us in 2nd place for a moment, but now we're falling way behind. Not sure we can catch them without some help now.

I have noticed we picked up a few new recruits so far so I am thinking my recruiting efforts are paying off in General Mayhem.

fastgeek we need ya buddy.
 

motqalden

[H]ard|DCOTM x5
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
2,911
Skills where are you seeing this info (new users etc)
? i was hoping to see my stats somewhere besides on seti but what i was getting on FreeDC didnt' seem to be updated yet
 

fastgeek

[H]ard|DCOTM x4 aka "That Company"
Joined
Jun 6, 2000
Messages
6,513
Just moved 18 systems over to SETI. Pretty sure it's everything except for the 4P E7 box and the 2P 6128. The E7 system is just a bitch due to the GUI in the latest version of Ubuntu (still haven't looked into that) and, silly as it may be, I want to take the #1 host spot in POGS with the 6128. :p

Project says I have 1800 WUs in progress and already have some pending validation; so hopefully it'll help.
 

Gilthanis

[H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
8,571
Skills where are you seeing this info (new users etc)
? i was hoping to see my stats somewhere besides on seti but what i was getting on FreeDC didnt' seem to be updated yet

https://boincstats.com/en/stats/0/team/detail/30839/memberMovement
http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/team_display.php?teamid=30839
https://boincstats.com/en/stats/0/user/list/0/0/30839/#25

https://boincstats.com/en/stats/-1/user/detail/40702078/projectList

If you have contributed to multiple BOINC projects, please attach at least one host to all the projects you have supported. You can suspend them or set them to no new tasks. However, the benefit is that it will sync all the projects you have supported to a single CPID. This can sometimes take a couple days to complete. But best practice is to always leave a host connected to everything. Otherwise stats sites may have you listed multiple times.
 
Last edited:

motqalden

[H]ard|DCOTM x5
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
2,911
https://boincstats.com/en/stats/0/team/detail/30839/memberMovement
http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/team_display.php?teamid=30839
https://boincstats.com/en/stats/0/user/list/0/0/30839/#25

https://boincstats.com/en/stats/-1/user/detail/40702078/projectList

If you have contributed to multiple BOINC projects, please attach at least one host to all the projects you have supported. You can suspend them or set them to no new tasks. However, the benefit is that it will sync all the projects you have supported to a single CPID. This can sometimes take a couple days to complete. But best practice is to always leave a host connected to everything. Otherwise stats sites may have you listed multiple times.


Thanks! despite having this seti account since 1999 i havn't touched seti in 10+ years so i am not registering in alot of these (much) but this is still usefull.

So are you saying it is going to link the data from my "badgerbunny" to my "motqalden" in a few days or so just because i have both projects in my boinc client now right? any way to link the Folding@home in with that? I think these 3 are really the only projects i have done. (so far ;) )
 

Gilthanis

[H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
8,571
Only BOINC projects. So, no folding@home. BOINC projects use a unique identifier called a CPID. Basically, this allows you to have different names (handles) at each project but still be considered the same person. The reason being is that most projects (basically non-WCG) you can have the same user name as other people due to the logins being email addresses. By keeping "all" the BOINC projects you create accounts to all under at least one computer roof, they will sync that CPID all to the same one. Most likely the oldest one. So, when you go to search the stats sites they are able to tie those all together since they will link with with CPID. You should also be making sure that you have the same email address and password for all of your BOINC projects too...

Simple answer, yes just leave them both attached and the client will fix everything else for you. Just no FAH
 

motqalden

[H]ard|DCOTM x5
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
2,911
only downside of switching things up here was my power draw went from 1000 watts to just over 700. I had to turn on the heat today for the first time in a while :beaver:
seems Seti doesn't push my gpu's too hard.
 

ChristianVirtual

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Feb 23, 2013
Messages
2,561
only downside of switching things up here was my power draw went from 1000 watts to just over 700. I had to turn on the heat today for the first time in a while :beaver:
seems Seti doesn't push my gpu's too hard.
That’s why I like Seti for Summer times ...
 

fastgeek

[H]ard|DCOTM x4 aka "That Company"
Joined
Jun 6, 2000
Messages
6,513
Looks like there are two big contributors for XtremeSystems.

Stoneman has this CPU and GPU armies (total 23 rigs)

Well I can't do anything about GPUs; but pretty sure 'my' CPUs laugh at those AMDs. :sneaky::ROFLMAO::sneaky::ROFLMAO:

Seven hours in and my RAC is up to 1,730 and maybe 18K points? (Think I was at 961K earlier) Not a whole lot; but do have a few irons in the fire... so to speak. :)

State: All (3378) · In progress (1800) · Validation pending (1277) · Validation inconclusive (2) · Valid (299) · Invalid (0) · Error (0)
 

atp1916

[H]ard|DCoTM x1
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
4,849
I'll be back in town late tonight (close to 11CST). Half my rigs are down, so we'll see my full capacity here in about a day.

Sprint ends on the 25th though so i feel we have time to potentially catch up and make this a close one.

That being said, league 1 is crazy. Yuck. :D

Edit: Skillz Does your optimized GPU app make that much of a diff versus the 'regular' ones downloaded by the boinc client? I get the feeling my current machines could be putting out more... I have them pushing 2 tasks per GPU..
 
Last edited:

fastgeek

[H]ard|DCOTM x4 aka "That Company"
Joined
Jun 6, 2000
Messages
6,513
League 1 is absolutely nuts. IMHO Gridcoin, and any other "pool" type outfit, should be banned from FB. Also, I hate to say this, but a part of me thinks sandbagging to stay in L2 might not be such a bad idea. I know, I know, it goes against every fiber of my competitive being... but man... look at those numbers over there.
 

atp1916

[H]ard|DCoTM x1
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
4,849
fastgeek would agree. I think it is a great idea in general to have ways to harness GPU power for the greater Folding good, but there is no way i would even think about competing in a format like Sprints if i were somehow in a team on League 1.

That being said, having machines configured to fold as well as they can mine is a bit more detailed.

When the funds become available, i am going to:
1) get better CPUs (min 4/4)
2) up sys ram to 8GB
3) up SSDs to 256GB

Mining will be as usual, but folding will be even better :D
 

Gilthanis

[H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
8,571
League 1 is absolutely nuts. IMHO Gridcoin, and any other "pool" type outfit, should be banned from FB. Also, I hate to say this, but a part of me thinks sandbagging to stay in L2 might not be such a bad idea. I know, I know, it goes against every fiber of my competitive being... but man... look at those numbers over there.

Sandbagging would mean that you would always need to stay in 4th place. The current FB rules bumps the top 3 teams up and the bottom 3 teams down each year. This is why we don't have any real competition this year neither. Because the only teams that were seriously trying got bumped up to League 1 this year. I don't see getting bumped to League 1 as being a bad thing. I see it as an opportunity to grow further. If we can show everyone the solid performance a smaller team can dish out, we are more likely to get new recruits. Also, people are more willing to join a team when they are on the climb and more likely to drop off when either on top or near the bottom. We are in a good "fun" position IMO.
 

Gilthanis

[H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
8,571
Is this the site to download and install optimized apps for seti? Anyone has tried it? Not sure if this is worth doing so since this is a sprint event. Thoughts?

I honestly don't know as I didn't get any direct answers last year in the formula-boinc thread https://hardforum.com/threads/formula-boinc-2017.1922108/page-7
And nobody brought it up during the SETI Wow Event last year if I'm reading correctly - https://hardforum.com/threads/seti-home-wow-event-2017-by-seti-germany.1938559/

I'm at work, so am just skimming.

One of these days I may actually verify stuff again and update the first post in our SETI thread - https://hardforum.com/threads/seti-seti-beta.1828513/
 

pututu

[H]ard DC'er of the Year 2021
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
2,573
I'm playing around with one rig on the GPU but don't see much gain. Maybe need to optimize the GPU application setting parameters after the sprint. Meantime, keep crunching....

BTW, I've tried both lunatics v0.44 and v0.45b6. V0.45b6 is just slightly better, I think. Perhaps it is Windows and not Linux :(
 

fastgeek

[H]ard|DCOTM x4 aka "That Company"
Joined
Jun 6, 2000
Messages
6,513
I remember using some of Crunch3rs optimized apps for various projects in the past and they were great. That said, the linked versions are years old now. Maybe I'll try switching over one of the Skylake boxes to his app next week for giggles since, IIRC, it does mention AVX and that's one thing the Skylake Xeons improved.
 
Top