Finally Win 11!

Joined
Apr 22, 2006
Messages
42
Loaded Win 11 when first released. Used it for a couple of days and removed it. Now, here it is again many updates later so loaded it again. Well, it's certainly different than W 10 but, "it's a keeper this time!" So a bit of a learning curve but, work great.
 

GotNoRice

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
11,257

There are two ways to create a local account, the less common way being to Domain Join, but the result is exactly the same. I have serious doubts that they removed the option to Domain Join, as that would cause all sorts of issues in a corporate environment.

Worst case scenario, if they actually did remove both options, then you could simply install Windows 10 and upgrade, or even the release version of Windows 11 and then upgrade. No one who upgrades from an older version is required to give up their local accounts.
 

LigTasm

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 29, 2011
Messages
5,507
I was pretty happy with Windows 11 for a bit, but now it seems they will be forcing you to have a microsoft account. I've been interrupted when my computer starts up every day now with it trying to make me create an account, and supposedly after the next quarterly update you're either going to have one or you're not using it.
 

GotNoRice

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
11,257
I was pretty happy with Windows 11 for a bit, but now it seems they will be forcing you to have a microsoft account. I've been interrupted when my computer starts up every day now with it trying to make me create an account, and supposedly after the next quarterly update you're either going to have one or you're not using it.

I just did a fresh install of the latest available Dev build (22557.1) and had zero issues whatsoever creating a local account via the Domain Join option. This shit isn't rocket science. No need for fake drama and misinformation.

Windows11account1.png


Windows11account2.png


Windows11account3.png


Windows11account4.png
 

LigTasm

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 29, 2011
Messages
5,507
I just did a fresh install of the latest available Dev build (22557.1) and had zero issues whatsoever creating a local account via the Domain Join option. This shit isn't rocket science. No need for fake drama and misinformation.

Believe what you want, but they already said it. That shit in your screenshot? I get it every time I boot up now so I stopped shutting the machine off at night. I was pretty happy when I did a fresh install and I didn't have to unplug the network cable like in 10, but that didn't last long.
 

GotNoRice

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
11,257
Believe what you want, but they already said it.

Did you actually READ what they said? Or just the headline of the article?

https://www.neowin.net/news/windows...t-account-and-internet-to-setup-their-device/
If you choose to setup device for personal use, MSA will be required for setup

"for personal use", so SELECT THE OTHER OPTION, "Set up for Work or School", and use the domain join option as illustrated in the screenshots. The build I installed is the exact same build they talk about in the article (22557).

You're the one "believing what you want", I'm here actually testing the OS and reporting what options it gives, so...
 

mvmiller12

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 7, 2011
Messages
1,294
Did you actually READ what they said? Or just the headline of the article?

https://www.neowin.net/news/windows...t-account-and-internet-to-setup-their-device/


"for personal use", so SELECT THE OTHER OPTION, "Set up for Work or School", and use the domain join option as illustrated in the screenshots. The build I installed is the exact same build they talk about in the article (22557).

You're the one "believing what you want", I'm here actually testing the OS and reporting what options it gives, so...

I agree, though I really did wish you did not have to play games with it to get it to just create and use a local account.

My Plex Server runs Windows 11 Pro on a local account. It does not require, nor does it benefit in any way from an MS account. Periodically when it reboots after updates, it tries to get me to "finish setup" by switching to a Microsoft Account and installing Office 365. When it does this, the computer does not auto log in and load any of its autostart background programs... such as the Plex Server software. I have to manually skip it to get the machine back to up and running status or it will just sit there waiting for me. I have some registry settings in that will hopefully prevent this from happening in the future.

If I have to, I could create a burner account that it auto logs in to, but it seems pointless.
 

LigTasm

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 29, 2011
Messages
5,507
Did you actually READ what they said? Or just the headline of the article?

https://www.neowin.net/news/windows...t-account-and-internet-to-setup-their-device/


"for personal use", so SELECT THE OTHER OPTION, "Set up for Work or School", and use the domain join option as illustrated in the screenshots. The build I installed is the exact same build they talk about in the article (22557).

You're the one "believing what you want", I'm here actually testing the OS and reporting what options it gives, so...

I didn't read that article, I read what came up in front of my face when I press the power button on my PC. This is a fresh install of Win 11 pro, it started doing this after exactly 14 days. I no longer dare to shut down my rig because if it decides I can't get out of that menu any more I'm going to have to go back to 10. For now, I can advance through the options (no domain login is available) and then go "back" several times and it lets me out.

Maybe its doing this because the key came from Windows 7 Pro? I don't know that information but its incredibly annoying. I've been very happy with 11 otherwise and I've posted as such here before.
 

Toboggan

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 10, 2004
Messages
191
The only bug I've noticed in Windows 11 is that the taskbar goes off the side of my screen, usually by only enough to push off the notifications button or part of the time, but that's it. I'm also running GetAllBack to have the Windows 7 start menu and taskbar so it just kind of feels like I'm in a retro dive of current space. Wiped Microsoft Edge from my system as best I could. No complaints here.
 
Last edited:

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
21,371
I still occasionally run into issues where clicking open programs on the taskbar does nothing at all. I can alt+tab through them and such, but it's like the taskbar occasionally just doesn't work right.

I've noticed that seems mainly for machines with multiple monitors, too. At my office, nearly everyone has 2-3 monitors and this is a common issue. On my home machine, which is connected to a single large-format TV, it's a rare occurrence. In general, lots of Win11 issues seem related to multiple monitors.
 

GotNoRice

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
11,257
I didn't read that article, I read what came up in front of my face when I press the power button on my PC. This is a fresh install of Win 11 pro, it started doing this after exactly 14 days. I no longer dare to shut down my rig because if it decides I can't get out of that menu any more I'm going to have to go back to 10. For now, I can advance through the options (no domain login is available) and then go "back" several times and it lets me out.

Maybe its doing this because the key came from Windows 7 Pro? I don't know that information but its incredibly annoying. I've been very happy with 11 otherwise and I've posted as such here before.

The issue here appears to be that we are discussing two completely different and unrelated things. All the recent articles are discussing a change in the latest dev build that relates to the ability to create a local account during the initial setup process. None of the articles are talking about the nag prompt that occurs after you install windows, which is apparently what you are talking about. The nag prompt will never force you to create a Microsoft account, and none of the articles are suggesting that. That is a fear you created based on your own paranoia.

Have you tried simply disabling it?

nagpromptdisable.jpg

To be clear, I don't use a Microsoft Account on any of my computers, and don't intend to. We are very much on the same page in that respect. I just seem to be willing to give Microsoft the benefit of the doubt moreso than you are, because thus far I have not had a single situation, ever, where I was forced to actually use a Microsoft Account. I sympathize with Microsoft to some extent because you never hear anyone bitching when Google forces you to use a Google account, or when Apple forces you to use an Apple account, etc. But so far Microsoft has always left a back-door for enthusiasts and until that changes, there is no need to latch onto fear and paranoia.
 

mvmiller12

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 7, 2011
Messages
1,294
The issue here appears to be that we are discussing two completely different and unrelated things. All the recent articles are discussing a change in the latest dev build that relates to the ability to create a local account during the initial setup process. None of the articles are talking about the nag prompt that occurs after you install windows, which is apparently what you are talking about. The nag prompt will never force you to create a Microsoft account, and none of the articles are suggesting that. That is a fear you created based on your own paranoia.

Have you tried simply disabling it?

View attachment 446877

To be clear, I don't use a Microsoft Account on any of my computers, and don't intend to. We are very much on the same page in that respect. I just seem to be willing to give Microsoft the benefit of the doubt moreso than you are, because thus far I have not had a single situation, ever, where I was forced to actually use a Microsoft Account. I sympathize with Microsoft to some extent because you never hear anyone bitching when Google forces you to use a Google account, or when Apple forces you to use an Apple account, etc. But so far Microsoft has always left a back-door for enthusiasts and until that changes, there is no need to latch onto fear and paranoia.

Thanks for the tip - because it is buried under a list of all the programs on my PC that offer notifications, I never scrolled down far enough to see it.
 

cdoublejj

Gawd
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
669
i remeber in my day you could create a local account if you watned, no domain, no pulling cords, no side stepping, no bullshit. i've very tempted to spedn $60-80 USD per machine for 2 years extendend patching support from 0patch
 

GotNoRice

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
11,257
i remeber in my day you could create a local account if you watned

You still can.

no domain

No domain required to use the Domain Join option. It simply creates a local account and allows you to proceed into windows. If you wanted to join a Domain, that is something you would do after setup, totally optional.

no pulling cords

No need to disconnect any cords when using Domain Join option on Windows 11 Pro.

Try actually understanding how things work instead of getting worked up over the headline of a click-bait article.
 

ZodaEX

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
4,463
So to summarize. A GTX 3050 should probably remove the GPU bottleneck that my HD7750 is currently causing me in Witcher 3 it sounds like.
After all this forced Win11 account drama, I like the idea of staying with my current motherboard and CPU because I can always drop back to Windows 7 on it if Microsoft keeps introducing Cringe shit to Win11/10.
 

Motley

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
2,497
The latest Win 10 update has the weather temp on the task bar. I updated to 11 and the weather temp is not on the task bar any more.

Any way to get the weather temp on the task bar?
 

cdoublejj

Gawd
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
669
You still can.



No domain required to use the Domain Join option. It simply creates a local account and allows you to proceed into windows. If you wanted to join a Domain, that is something you would do after setup, totally optional.



No need to disconnect any cords when using Domain Join option on Windows 11 Pro.

Try actually understanding how things work instead of getting worked up over the headline of a click-bait article.
It was a time when you simply made an account locally by choosing to create an account, no other wording, no domain joining. no cloud accounts, just accounts. Good ol Gates and Balmer lead MS, when they had QA and testing labs. Never needed to learn much no how! Why buttons said what they meant and most all was self explanatory. no work arounds for basics. Pepridge Farm remembers.
 
Top