Final Fantasy XIV Official Release Thread

GOD'SlittleSERVANT

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
7,228
Mother of hell, I wish my gf would play this damn game with me. I'm seriously in need of a hot gf that plays computer games.
 

[L]imey

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
2,035
hit 30 on my cnj this morning, time to level up arc so I can whm!

I'm only on level 25 of my story quest though sadly, so I need to hammer that out so I can pick up Cure2.

Still having a blast :)
 

[L]imey

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
2,035
Also, anyone know if you can do the "class quests" without finishing the story quests? Or is it all one chain?
 

octoberasian

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
4,082
[L]imey;1040190477 said:
Also, anyone know if you can do the "class quests" without finishing the story quests? Or is it all one chain?

To my knowledge, they are two entirely separate quest lines.

For example, I've done Thaumaturge and Marauder class quests without progressing further on my current leg of the main story quest.

However, if you want access to other classes, you will need airship access. And, if you don't want to run around, you'll need a Chocobo license. Both require you to be on or past the level 20 portion of the main story quest.

It's a stark difference from FFXI when if you didn't have the Airship permit, you couldn't continue further in the Zilart storyline. At the same time, with no access to Kazham or Norg, you couldn't get access to Ninja or Samurai jobs.

At least with FFXIV, they keep them almost entirely separate and independent from each other.
 

toffty

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
230
To my knowledge, they are two entirely separate quest lines.

Yep. From another perspective I started out with CNJ to get that to lvl 15 (wanted to get it out of the way). Progressed the main story quest line to a point, prior to airship in this case. I then ran to Ul'dah and got GLD. From there I lvled GLD and continued the main story quest as a GLD from where I left off.
 

bpizzle1

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
4,206
Gold spam has gotten completely out of hand now (at least on Diabolos). I'm used to gold sellers after playing so many mmos, but this is the worst I've come across by far. If you go to any of the 3 main cities, there is a constant wall of text spamming for gold. Some of the spammers have multi-line spam macros that make it look like your chat window is scrolling an advertisement for their website. No one can even get a word in /shout in any of the cities atm. If that wasn't bad enough, I'm constantly getting whispered advertisements as well. It's absolutely out of control. Hopefully, it will go down a lot after the first 30 days since subs will kick in, but SE really needs to try to do something about it right now too.
 

[L]imey

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
2,035
Sweet.... I can go get my unicorn quest now then.... Definitely doing that next time I log on..... Then swap to arc to work on white mage
 

coffaholic

Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2011
Messages
565
Gold spam has gotten completely out of hand now (at least on Diabolos). I'm used to gold sellers after playing so many mmos, but this is the worst I've come across by far. If you go to any of the 3 main cities, there is a constant wall of text spamming for gold. Some of the spammers have multi-line spam macros that make it look like your chat window is scrolling an advertisement for their website. No one can even get a word in /shout in any of the cities atm. If that wasn't bad enough, I'm constantly getting whispered advertisements as well. It's absolutely out of control. Hopefully, it will go down a lot after the first 30 days since subs will kick in, but SE really needs to try to do something about it right now too.

All I want is an Add to Blacklist option in the right click menu. Then I will be a happy man lol.
 

GOD'SlittleSERVANT

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
7,228
Gold spam has gotten completely out of hand now (at least on Diabolos). I'm used to gold sellers after playing so many mmos, but this is the worst I've come across by far. If you go to any of the 3 main cities, there is a constant wall of text spamming for gold. Some of the spammers have multi-line spam macros that make it look like your chat window is scrolling an advertisement for their website. No one can even get a word in /shout in any of the cities atm. If that wasn't bad enough, I'm constantly getting whispered advertisements as well. It's absolutely out of control. Hopefully, it will go down a lot after the first 30 days since subs will kick in, but SE really needs to try to do something about it right now too.

Yup, same on Goblin server. Same exact thing to be exact.
 

Damar

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 20, 2004
Messages
4,610
All I want is an Add to Blacklist option in the right click menu. Then I will be a happy man lol.

I click the name and do "send tell" then copy/paste the name right into the blacklist. Easier than trying to spell the funky names they use that make it hard to spell.

Balmung is insane with them too.
 

Snowknight26

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
4,423
Why do that when you can highlight text in the chat log to copy? Saves you a step.

If you're clicking send tell.. just change /tell to /blist add. Saves you a step.

Efficiency needs to be everyone's forte.
 

dremic

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
5,178
Why do that when you can highlight text in the chat log to copy? Saves you a step.

If you're clicking send tell.. just change /tell to /blist add. Saves you a step.

Efficiency needs to be everyone's forte.

theyre spamming way to quickly to even try that
 

coffaholic

Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2011
Messages
565
Lol, I completely forgot about the maintenance tonight till I got home and tried to login :p

Oh well, this is a good thing cause I can methodically work on my new 4670k overclock. Since I've gotten it all I've wanted to do is play so I only ran one stress test per day (when I was at work), and one at night when I'm sleeping. I haven't woken up or gotten home without it crashing. This is a bit of a different beast than Sandy was with the whole 2 options you needed to change, but I'm starting to figure it out I think. Finally got 11hrs stable @ 4.0ghz @ 1.2v topping out at 63c on the hottest core and am trying 4.1ghz now at the same voltage.

Gonna leave it running while I start season 5 of Breaking Bad and see how it goes.
 

MorgothPl

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
3,020
The changes rock - repair cost down, and we also get server-only form of duty finder. This will help build community and make sure you will run the party with people of your own server.

Now for a rant, are people so stupid, that they can't understand simple instructions, or even think for themselves? Was healing Copperbell - first people were not moving from AoE of those mobs that explode on death, and got oneshotted, which were followed with "why no hjeeel?" - and the reply "I'm no fucking Jesus, I can't heal stupidity and raise dead at same time". Then there was the slime boss. Was first time there, and didn't read any guides, but it was so simple to figure out what to do with the exploding caps.

After five minutes, me and one of DDs were spamming chat with: "leave that explosive cap alone", "don't spam aoe you moron", "get that add, before it kill the cap", "move of blast range you cretin" which then turned into "You no speakz englishz, dickhead?". Took us 12 minutes to kill the boss. Luckily the final boss was much simpler :)
 

RealityCrunch

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 16, 2011
Messages
1,393
Luckily the worst dungeon experience I've had was simply due to players being new, and after giving advice they improved their performance on subsequent boss attempts (Copperbell).

Then again, I tend to stay far away from Random Dungeon systems, and only used the Duty finder up to level 30.
 

cageymaru

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Messages
21,487
We're pleased to announce that FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn PlayStation 3 users will be able to upgrade to the PS4 version for free!

Also, PS4 users will be able try out the Beta Test when it launches on Feb. 22, 2014! Stay tuned for more info in the future!

From Facebook.
 

Breath_of_the_Dying

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 8, 2007
Messages
1,454
Got up to low 40s yesterday and started running cutters.

When the tank DCed on the final boss, everyone else died pretty quickly. As an archer, I soloed the Chimera from about 50% to dead. I love playing Archer, but I've yet to find a good use for a bard up to cutters yet.
 

Brianmz

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 23, 2012
Messages
274
Yep R.I.P AK Speed runs with latest patch, now only doing it to reach weekly cap, hate that place, they should have made 2 more dungeons or so, to get tombs from...that way it wouldn't be so bad, seeing the same place over and over is just bad.
 

[L]imey

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
2,035
I'm sad, I worked all night last night on a project for work since the servers were down thinking I'd get up this morning before my baby does and get a blissful hour in. Of course the servers are still down this morning :(

Oh well, maybe better luck tomorrow morning.
 

dremic

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
5,178
Yep R.I.P AK Speed runs with latest patch, now only doing it to reach weekly cap, hate that place, they should have made 2 more dungeons or so, to get tombs from...that way it wouldn't be so bad, seeing the same place over and over is just bad.

theres like 4 or 5 that you get tomes from. nobody does the others though because theyre way longer and AK you could exploit
 

[L]imey

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
2,035
Same crap happened in GW2 at release, the guys who rushed to the end got to use an exploit for x number of days before it got fixed to make a fortune and get good gear.

Then it got fixed so everyone who couldn't spam to endgame got up to level cap and had to deal with the minority controlling the economy.

I hope we don't end up with a case of haves and have-nots because of the AK exploit.
 

toffty

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
230
[L]imey;1040193522 said:
Same crap happened in GW2 at release, the guys who rushed to the end got to use an exploit for x number of days before it got fixed to make a fortune and get good gear.

Then it got fixed so everyone who couldn't spam to endgame got up to level cap and had to deal with the minority controlling the economy.

I hope we don't end up with a case of haves and have-nots because of the AK exploit.

Since you can't trade the stones or the items that are bought with them I wouldn;'t be too concerned. Add to that the amount of gil it cost those who sac-pulled (tank had to die each between each boss at least once), then it seems like they suffered more since gil is not that easy to come by at end game. I think it'll work out to be no issue at all.

Edit: In fact i think the ones that will be most successful are those tht gathered and crafted from the start.
 
Last edited:

dremic

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
5,178
[L]imey;1040193522 said:
Same crap happened in GW2 at release, the guys who rushed to the end got to use an exploit for x number of days before it got fixed to make a fortune and get good gear.

Then it got fixed so everyone who couldn't spam to endgame got up to level cap and had to deal with the minority controlling the economy.

I hope we don't end up with a case of haves and have-nots because of the AK exploit.

its not that big of an impact tbh. and the queue times for AK during peak hours actually prevented the benefit significantly.

30 min queue + 15-25 minutes AK run is longer then the actually clearing the dungeon now
 

Brianmz

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 23, 2012
Messages
274
Did ak when it was instant queue :p, and i was talking about myth, primals are worthless for it, only other worthwhile place is coil.
 

dremic

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
5,178
Did ak when it was instant queue :p, and i was talking about myth, primals are worthless for it, only other worthwhile place is coil.

oh true true, it wont take long to get that cap still though. unfortunately we didnt get a double reset this week. was hoping for AF+2 chest. now i gotta wait till monday :p


im just gonna do my relic quest this week.
 

cageymaru

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Messages
21,487
Finally made it to Leviathan server. Convinced my buddy to come also. Time to level! :)
 
Top