Dell Alienware AW3423DW 34″ QD-OLED 175Hz (3440 x 1440)

Odellus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 25, 2010
Messages
1,814
I had a refresh reminder pop-up in the middle of a game one time after telling it not to do the pop-up notifications anymore, haven't had another one since then. I usually switch displays to my wall-mounted TV when I'm done for the day and Windows makes it go to sleep, at which point it'll do a refresh. It wakes up in the morning just fine when I switch back to it using Win+P.
 
Last edited:

Vega

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
7,031
You guys should not ever be turning this thing off manually with the power button which is what's probably contributing to all this nonsense. I was never ever prompted to do a refresh after the initial time because I don't slam the power button ever 15 minutes stepping away.

I never turn it off manually.

Its antics are its own.

Edit: What automatically popped up for me was Panel Refresh, not pixel refresh.


Panel Refresh​

Panel Refresh: To prevent permanent image retention caused by static content when you use the monitor for 1500 hours, you can manually activate this function to refresh the pixels. Alternatively, the function will be activated automatically when the accumulated usage time exceeds the factory default setting (1500 hours). The process takes approximately an hour to complete.

No way I have 1500 hours so far, so it also must be based off use type/brightness settings. It also lasted well over an hour too (power button pulsating red).
 
Last edited:

pj-

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 7, 2015
Messages
233
I've used f.lux forever to make the image less harsh when computering late at night. Would this cause uneven aging of the subpixels?
 

Arkanian

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 8, 2004
Messages
1,772

Hypez

n00b
Joined
Jun 30, 2021
Messages
44
I never turn it off manually.

Its antics are its own.

Edit: What automatically popped up for me was Panel Refresh, not pixel refresh.


Panel Refresh​



No way I have 1500 hours so far, so it also must be based off use type/brightness settings. It also lasted well over an hour too (power button pulsating red).
Any noticeable visual degradation in color or brightness after the panel refresh?
 

Draver

Weaksauce
Joined
Aug 21, 2018
Messages
116
Any noticeable visual degradation in color or brightness after the panel refresh?
Sometimes the color profile resets to DCI-P3 or something instead of sRGB. Resetting the creator mode settings usually fixes it.
 

Odellus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 25, 2010
Messages
1,814
I am interested in their use of adaptive-sync which means it might not have a fan. Curious on when we think these will be out. My order is still slated to ship late July.
It won't have one of the fans. The Alienware has two.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
5,802
Just a heads up, the various government/corporate/whatever 10% discount coupons are now working on this.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2022-05-24 204537.jpg
    Screenshot 2022-05-24 204537.jpg
    73.6 KB · Views: 0

JTCPingas

Weaksauce
Joined
Aug 30, 2021
Messages
80

Pastuch

Gawd
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
624
If it's the same but cheaper without using a G-Sync module, I see no problem. Not expecting availability to be any better once MSI announces an official release date, but I still hope.
Agreed but where the hell is the Samsung?
 

Hypez

n00b
Joined
Jun 30, 2021
Messages
44
I just got a panel refresh pop-up. Isn't it a bit early for that?
Have you put 1500 hours of use into it? If not I saw a post on I think it was reddit that someone came to the conclusion it's counting stand by time for the panel refresh cycle counter.
 

Odellus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 25, 2010
Messages
1,814
Have you put 1500 hours of use into it? If not I saw a post on I think it was reddit that someone came to the conclusion it's counting stand by time for the panel refresh cycle counter.
No way. I got it on March 8th, that'd be 19 hours of screen-on time every single day since then.
 

SoCali

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
1,090
You early birds should compare firmware version with those who got theirs recently to see if there is a discrepancy.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Messages
1
Anyone lucky enough to snag one at microcenter? How many did they have in stock? Been watching my local one's monitor listing like a hawk for the past week or so waiting for it to update 🤣
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
5,802
If you want one no reason to just wait and order via dell now that they are allowing coupon codes.
 

TimothyB

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
Messages
1,167
There is gamma flicker at low refresh rates or when a game is stuttering in VRR mode in darker scenes.

Yep, I once forgot I left G-Sync on for windowed apps and something glitched when I opened Modo, a 3D modeling program. The empty viewport with a very dark gray background looked like it was flickering. I then noticed it was hovering around 10fps once I started to move things, which I guess caused some unneeded chaos with G-Sync and the monitor. I closed the program, set G-Sync to fullscreen only, then when I opened Modo again, no more flickering and viewport FPS was at the usual 500 something with nothing in it.
 

Odellus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 25, 2010
Messages
1,814
Yeah, it sucks because there isn't a "soft" disable for specific apps if you want to use windowed G-SYNC, the screen has to switch to G-SYNC off mode.
For example, I have it disabled for MPC-BE because movies/tv shows make it flicker like crazy, so whenever I fullscreen it, it has to switch modes with the black screen delay and all. And if I perform any action that would cause DWM to draw something over top of it, it will switch back to on, ex. changing system volume. Very annoying. I wish G-SYNC had the ability to "ignore" specific programs as well as more customization, like being able to set a custom minimum refresh rate.
 

fyrie

n00b
Joined
Feb 14, 2016
Messages
62
I've definitely seen flicker with g-sync with certain desktop apps running. Setting it to full screen only doesn't seem to fix it across the board. Slack is a major offender for me. If I have that thing on with any flavor of g-sync enabled I get a good amount of flicker and the framerate is disrupted across the board.
 

Sancus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
1,100
Edge case low framerate VRR flicker and stuff like that is super common to all monitors and not really what I'd describe as a significant(or even worth talking about) flicker problem, but OK lol.
I've definitely seen flicker with g-sync with certain desktop apps running. Setting it to full screen only doesn't seem to fix it across the board. Slack is a major offender for me. If I have that thing on with any flavor of g-sync enabled I get a good amount of flicker and the framerate is disrupted across the board.
I run Slack on Win10 and even with a game in windowed mode(w/Gsync Windowed enabled) and Slack on the screen at the same time(wtf?) there's no flicker at all or any visible issues. Disabling hardware acceleration in Slack prefs(Advanced) might help though.
 

Sancus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
1,100
I'm guessing that is it because I get the mouse slowdown too.
To be clear, it works fine for me with hardware acceleration on. I don't know why people are having that problem, but it's not purely because of the display. If that option helps, then it's probably some kind of driver issue.
 

Chief Blur Buster

Owner of BlurBusters
Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
280
Yeah, it sucks because there isn't a "soft" disable for specific apps if you want to use windowed G-SYNC
Actually, you can!

NVIDIA Control Panel (NVCP) lets you force-disable or force-enable G-SYNC for specific apps, but it's a very non-intuitive procedure.

You can do it in a blacklist approach (NVCP Enable G-SYNC globally and disable per-app)

Or you can do it as a whitelist approach (NVCP Disable G-SYNC globally and enable per-app)

First, do this:
- Always enable G-SYNC on your monitor (if it's a G-SYNC Compatible, it may be a "FreeSync" setting or "AdaptiveSync" setting)
- For blacklist approach, enable G-SYNC globally in NVCP (Display -> Set up G-SYNC -> Enable for all apps, windowed too)
- For whitelist approach, disable G-SYNC globally in NVCP (Display -> Set up G-SYNC -> Clear checkbox)

Then:
1. Then create an application-specific profile via "Program Settings" tab of "Manage 3D Settings".
2. Choose the application (e.g. steam.exe or photoshop.exe) in "Select a program to customize"
3. Select "High performance NVIDIA processor" if it prompts you for a preferred GPU instead of integrated GPU.
4. In the list of "Specify settings for this program", scroll down to "Monitor Technology"
5. Change "Monitor Technology" away from "Use Global Setting" to use "Fixed Refresh Rate" (blacklist) or "G-SYNC" (whitelist)

Voila!

Repeat per-app for the applications you want to surgically force-enable or force-disable G-SYNC in.

Both approaches of blacklisting and whitelisting works. But regardless of approach you do, monitor menus VRR setting should always be enabled before you begin to configure per-app. Otherwise, "Monitor Technology" disappears if you disable VRR in the monitor OSD.

Per-windowed-application G-SYNC configuration!
 
Last edited:

Soulshot96

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 7, 2022
Messages
92
Does anyone here have an issue where the monitor keeps defaulting back to HDR 400 True Black? I must have set HDR 1000 in the menu at least a dozen times now but it seems to randomly switch back to HDR 400.
No, but I've heard of people saying this. Many also reported that it was nothing more than a UI bug however, and that the monitor was in fact still in HDR1000.
 

Soulshot96

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 7, 2022
Messages
92
This thing takes an eternity to switch resolution, enable/disable HDR, etc.
I was dealing with this on Windows 10, but moving to 11 completely solved it for me, plus got me AutoHDR. Then again, I am also running HDR on the desktop, so that might be a contributing factor. Was in 10 as well though, and it was still cycling through some bullshit modes in every fullscreen game, even if desktop and game were using the same settings. 11 just...fixed that for me. Been very happy all around for almost 3 months now.
 

Soulshot96

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 7, 2022
Messages
92
Seeing some posts in here about potential burn in, so I figured I'd also chime in on my experience so far.

Been using this thing since the first week of March (got it a bit before the official launch via Dell Premier). Max brightness the whole time, HDR1000, in HDR mode the whole time cause it's just more convenient to use Windows like that for me (fuck mode switching all the damn time), with 80% brightness on the SDR slider in windows (targeting 400 nits in Chrome because that's what I'm used to on my IPS displays, sue me lol). ABL is noticeable at times but leagues ahead of the LG's I've used.

I work from home and have a good bit of downtime, so this thing has had a lot of gaming, youtube, excel, reddit; you name it. Taskbar hasn't been hidden either. No mitigations on my part. Just normal use with a ~5 minute screen timeout because I don't like to leave any displays on when I'm away for longer anyway. It ran it's first 1500h pixel refresh like a week or so ago and came out just fine. No burn in on any color that I can tell. Only thing of note is its vertical banding got a smidge worse on 5% grey. Nothing noticeable in normal content though. Still haven't heard the fan on my unit either, for what that's worth.

Still very happy overall.
 

Soulshot96

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 7, 2022
Messages
92
At least you'll stay tanned in winter.
Lol...I'm quite used to these kinds of comments at this point. It is what it is.

That said, if it helps you sleep at night, I keep it fairly well lit in my office, with LED 5 bulbs I can turn on if need be, plus bias lighting behind my main monitor. Almost never sitting in the dark unless I have a movie or a game with a dark setting on.
 

Draver

Weaksauce
Joined
Aug 21, 2018
Messages
116
I was dealing with this on Windows 10, but moving to 11 completely solved it for me, plus got me AutoHDR. Then again, I am also running HDR on the desktop, so that might be a contributing factor. Was in 10 as well though, and it was still cycling through some bullshit modes in every fullscreen game, even if desktop and game were using the same settings. 11 just...fixed that for me. Been very happy all around for almost 3 months now.
Are you using non HDR side monitors with it ?
 
Top