Deathloop (Arkane Studios)

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
17,567
6.5 hours in Just got done with the Carnival FunHouse this is one of the best single player games I played in a while. I kept going back to the Fizz first aid station but all the guys in the funhouse respawned so I stopped doing that.
 
Last edited:

ghostwich

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
2,085
What I've noticed is that (finally) codes and puzzles have randomized solutions.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Q-BZ
like this

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,105
Are VRAM or normal RAM usages going up over time? Or maybe it’s using more GPU power as time goes on for some reason?

It doesn't seem like it based on some quick tests. What I'm noticing is that walking toward an object seems to create a weird "shake" that I can't unsee. It's almost like a little earthquake. Panning left or right slightly while walking makes it especially noticeable. Most levels start off in a hallway or enclosed area, so it's not that strong. In larger/open areas, the effect seems to compound itself...which is probably why it feels like it gets worse. It isn't game breaking or unplayable or anything, but I find myself constantly wanting to fix it. The only way I've been able to fix it is to put everything in performance mode, which makes the game look blurry as hell. I'm guessing it's rendering 1080p (or even 720p). Setting my FPS max in the Nvidia panel to 60 seems to also reduce the effect, too. I'm having fun with the game, but I hope future updates are able to fix or alleviate this.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
17,567
I was playing online but was invaded without notice killed me x3 times in a a row with one shot. Then when I went back to the main hub title selection or level selection in game everything I did was reset for visionaries I just killed luckily I backed up my save every time I played x3 copies of it. Unless your bored with the game and want to PVP back up your saves. Then play with single player mode or friends only.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
17,567
  • Deathloop: Today’s Game Ready Driver includes support for NVIDIA Reflex in the newly-released, critically acclaimed action game from Arkane. Switch Reflex on in the game options, and your system latency will be reduced by up to 40%, for a more responsive experience. Learn more in our new NVIDIA Reflex article.
Nvidia drivers released today not sure if it will make your game perfect =)
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
17,567


IGN gave this 10/10 last week labeled it as masterpiece.

If they add a bunch of DLC new maps and targets this game would rock.

I signed up for the DLC guns they pretty much rock it's duel wield pistols.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Q-BZ
like this

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
19,391
I'm playing in single player all the way so I don't have random invaders. This game is doing the usual Arkane thing to me and making free time disappear freakishly fast.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,105
  • Deathloop: Today’s Game Ready Driver includes support for NVIDIA Reflex in the newly-released, critically acclaimed action game from Arkane. Switch Reflex on in the game options, and your system latency will be reduced by up to 40%, for a more responsive experience. Learn more in our new NVIDIA Reflex article.
Nvidia drivers released today not sure if it will make your game perfect =)

No change on my end. Everything still has that weird mini-earthquake shake when panning around or moving in busy areas. Nvidia's latency options don't seem to be related. I have FPS to spare, though. If/when this gets resolved, I should have FPS performance in the 80's most of the time.
 

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
19,391
I will say this and this is completely subjective: I think they got a little carried away with some of these puzzles.

I liked Mooncrash in Prey. That article makes good points.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,927
Bethesda released a new Deathloop patch today that it says will partially fix the game's occasional stuttering issue...Version 1.708.4.0 is available now on both the Steam and Bethesda launcher versions of the game

As Digital Foundry tells it, the stuttering was simply a result of the camera movement stopping every 14 frames if playing with a mouse on 120 fps...they say it's not really your GPU or CPU struggling to produce a high framerate, it's the camera animation...if you change your framerate to something like 100 fps, the camera actually increases its speed for one frame, adding an unintended (if slight) extra bit of distance to your mouse movement...Variable refresh rate monitors with G-Sync or FreeSync at unlocked framerates would also appear to stutter

A less frequent issue Digital Foundry discovered is that when you load up a new map, every 600 frames may be a redundant frame, causing an actual stutter...

https://www.reddit.com/r/Deathloop/comments/psmtoq/deathloop_pc_stuttering_issue_update/
 
Last edited:

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
4,821
I will say this and this is completely subjective: I think they got a little carried away with some of these puzzles.

I liked Mooncrash in Prey. That article makes good points.
IMO, Prey & Mooncrash are *really* hard to beat in terms of the atmosphere and general aesthetic. I enjoy deathloop, but Prey is brilliant, at least to me.

Personally, I really wish we would have gotten a Prey 2, but I doubt we ever will because apparently the sales were never that great.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Q-BZ
like this

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,105
I'm not super far into Deathloop, but I prefer Prey thus far. That's no knock on Deathloop, either. I think Prey is one of the sleeper best games from the last 5-6 years. The game was nothing like I was expecting, either. I was under the impression it was a sci-fi shooter like the original. Instead, it was more like System Shock (or Bioshock) with Dishonored-style combat and stealth. I think the name did them no favors. It wasn’t very descriptive and it was the name of another game that was almost nothing like it.
The game is on Gamepass and is easily worth the price for a month or two by itself. It conveniently doesn't suffer from issues like a lot of other Gamepass titles can.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Q-BZ
like this

ghostwich

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
2,085
Bethesda released a new Deathloop patch today that it says will partially fix for the game's occasional stuttering issue...Version 1.708.4.0 is available now on both the Steam and Bethesda launcher versions of the game

As Digital Foundry tells it, the stuttering was simply a result of the camera movement stopping every 14 frames if playing with a mouse on 120 fps...they say it's not really your GPU or CPU struggling to produce a high framerate, it's the camera animation...if you change your framerate to something like 100 fps, the camera actually increases its speed for one frame, adding an unintended (if slight) extra bit of distance to your mouse movement...Variable refresh rate monitors with G-Sync or FreeSync at unlocked framerates would also appear to stutter

A less frequent issue Digital Foundry discovered is that when you load up a new map, every 600 frames may be a redundant frame, causing an actual stutter...

https://www.reddit.com/r/Deathloop/comments/psmtoq/deathloop_pc_stuttering_issue_update/
Seems like a bug from the "private" beta has snuck into this hotfix- scrollwheel or clicks sometimes register twice.

I use the thumb buttons for crouch (mouse 4) and melee (mouse 5) which seem to have this issue. Left/right click haven't been as bad, and I rarely scroll to select weapons (easier for me to use numbers, or even the weird circular UI). It could be related to not only a mouse click/action but also the corresponding activity - so ADS might not be affected, but crouch might be.

Something to keep in mind. I have reported it to Bethesda support (for what it's worth).

Edit: nevermind on the bug making it from the beta to the hotfix- this is just the same private beta pushed to the public channel.
 
Last edited:

ghostwich

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
2,085
I'm not super far into Deathloop, but I prefer Prey thus far. That's no knock on Deathloop, either. I think Prey is one of the sleeper best games from the last 5-6 years. The game was nothing like I was expecting, either. I was under the impression it was a sci-fi shooter like the original. Instead, it was more like System Shock (or Bioshock) with Dishonored-style combat and stealth. I think the name did them no favors. It wasn’t very descriptive and it was the name of another game that was almost nothing like it.
The game is on Gamepass and is easily worth the price for a month or two by itself. It conveniently doesn't suffer from issues like a lot of other Gamepass titles can.
Just FYI- Mooncrash is not on Gamepass, you must purchase it separately.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,105
Today's update helped my performance. It isn't perfect, but it's better. The microearthquakes and object shaking is only a fraction of what they were. I haven't had time to tinker with visual settings, but that's with most settings maxed (except no RT) and adaptive set to "quality." Even 120Hz looks okay. I'll play around a little in the morning, but the update helped my issue at least a bit.

EDIT: After tinkering with some other settings combos, they're still a little rough around the edges. Better, but not by a ton. Per the patch notes, there should be additional fixes, though: "Additionally, we are looking into a separate, but related issue that we have identified as a factor that may also be a cause of stuttering at high framerates. We will update further on this as soon as we have more information."
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Q-BZ
like this

StryderxX

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
1,409
Is anyone running into an issue where you can't enable vsync no matter what setting you try? I was playing this game on my living room PC which is connected to a Sony TV (4K 60) and vsync just doesn't work. All other games I play work perfectly with vsync enabled but not this one.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,105
Is anyone running into an issue where you can't enable vsync no matter what setting you try? I was playing this game on my living room PC which is connected to a Sony TV (4K 60) and vsync just doesn't work. All other games I play work perfectly with vsync enabled but not this one.

Works fine on my TV, although there are people in the Steam forums that have said it doesn't work for them. Ditto with the in-game FPS limiter. You can use the Nvidia control panel and/or Rivatuner Statistics Server to do it outside of the game.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
28,914
Is anyone running into an issue where you can't enable vsync no matter what setting you try? I was playing this game on my living room PC which is connected to a Sony TV (4K 60) and vsync just doesn't work. All other games I play work perfectly with vsync enabled but not this one.
Using the game setting or control panel setting? I would force it through your graphics control panel. I have not use the in-game V-Sync setting on anything in years.
 

StryderxX

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
1,409
Using the game setting or control panel setting? I would force it through your graphics control panel. I have not use the in-game V-Sync setting on anything in years.
I've tried it with in game settings and with the driver. Same results. It might have something to do with the latest Nvidia drivers. I'll try to fall back to the previous version and see if it makes a difference.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
17,567
I killed all the Visionaries but now I'm reading you gottta do them in a certain order in order to get to the ending.
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
11,977
For those that finished the game, is it intended to be played through multiple times? Or will one play through allow the player to experience all the story content?
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
17,567
There are 4 maps but each map has different routes you may need to play all the maps cycle the to discover all them secrets and Quests. Its a fun game Infusion of weapons is tricky just pick the most important stuff you want to keep. You will run across them several times.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,105
There's a new beta patch available (previous beta users don't even need to re-enter the code) that helped me tremendously. Things were playable before, but now they're smooth even if you aren't locked to 60fps. I was waiting for a patch before I seriously started playing, and this update is exactly what I hoped for.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
4,821
Only complaint right now with the game is difficulty TBH. I wish they would have put an option in. Yes, the game gets harder as you kill more of the key people throughout the day, but it's still, really, not that hard.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,927
Only complaint right now with the game is difficulty TBH. I wish they would have put an option in. Yes, the game gets harder as you kill more of the key people throughout the day, but it's still, really, not that hard.

I think they needed to balance the difficulty with the fact that there's no manual save feature...I would have loved it but making it too hard would have turned off a lot of casual gamers...
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
4,821
I think they needed to balance the difficulty with the fact that there's no manual save feature...I would have loved it but making it too hard would have turned off a lot of casual gamers...
So put a difficulty option? The problem is that the game is just too easy on PC since you don't have the controller limitations.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,105
I'm playing with a pad and I don't think it's that easy :p That's probably what they were targeting. It's middle of the road for my skill level.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
4,821
I'm playing with a pad and I don't think it's that easy :p That's probably what they were targeting. It's middle of the road for my skill level.
With a controller I think the difficulty would be spot on. However, when you’ve got a mouse and can easily headshot people it’s pretty easy when you add on how stupid the AI can be.
 

ghostwich

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
2,085
I completed the final loop last night. I think I did about 75% or so of the side missions, lore, etc.

I still disagree with the 10/10's.
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
11,977
I completed the final loop last night. I think I did about 75% or so of the side missions, lore, etc.

I still disagree with the 10/10's.

Is it easy to miss sidequests due to the nature of the game? I always do all side quests (except repeating fetch quests types) in games. Or is it fairly obvious you're about to lock yourself out of them if you progress further?
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
4,821
Is it easy to miss sidequests due to the nature of the game? I always do all side quests (except repeating fetch quests types) in games. Or is it fairly obvious you're about to lock yourself out of them if you progress further?
Well, there's no 'locking out'. At the end of each day everything resets. The only way you'd lock out a side-quest is by killing all the people in the correct order and beating the game.
 
Top