[Deal of the century, HOT] Opteron 8346 HE pair: $150 - 30% cash back = $105 + ship!

Blue Fox

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
11,814
Okay...It didn't click when I was looking through the 2CPU thread (that I posted the link to) and found Dave's Picasa link. That picture was in there, and I knew it was the QuadFather board, but indeed that is a non-FX series CPU running on an FX "only" board...and without ECC...VERY INTERESTING. Bummer of it is that I think I really do need the PCI-X slots for my FC HBAs, and I can't seem to get a board with PCI-E and PCI-X unless I go to ECC setup. Man, the ability to use non-ECC DDR2 makes that f'in sweet for most people. DDR2 is cheap as shit now.
ECC DDR2 is dirt cheap too. $34 per 2gb stick on newegg. Only a bit more than regular desktop memory.
 

axan

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
1,935
hmm interesting, might pickup 4 for some future projects
 

sabregen

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
19,502
hmm interesting, might pickup 4 for some future projects

you, Ockie, Blue Fox, w1retap, and nitrobass24 can all kiss my butt. You bastards keep me up at night with your damned toys! :rolleyes:
 

CaptainMorgan

[H]ollywood
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
6,486
See above. I edited the post. You'd need something like one of these (do your own homework from this list. compatibility insurance is your responsiblity): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...0200302 1071323148&page=1&bop=And&Order=PRICE

So does that Tyan board support both these processors? I see two reviews that state it does not work, and the most recent states that it will. Could someone clarify, Ill be in for 1 if it supports the processors in this Ebay auction...

Thanks!
 

esturk

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 12, 2005
Messages
422
I am thinking of building a server, hmmmm.

Aren't we all. What do we think the odds are that these are really the stepping he claims? ( no tlb bug ). There is so much conflicting information in that ebay post!
 

sabregen

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
19,502
this one should: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813151099

But not the one for $60, I don't think. I called Tyan earlier today, they told me only rev -E boards supported opty quads (at all, regardless of series). From what I have gathered, it was due to certain manufacturers deciding to not use the full Socket F spec for future CPU support. AMD's idea all along was "all Socket F processors in any Socket F system"
 

sabregen

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
19,502
680a = dual 590SLI MCP chips, FYI. each one capable of 6x SATA, x16 PCI-E and x8 PCI-e (times 2 for both chips)
 

sabregen

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
19,502

sabregen

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
19,502
If you've got plans for your new toys (in relatation to this thread), I've started a new thread here. Hopefully we can do some project spinoffs. My current "build" should run just over $600 for the parts I'd need (cpu+board+ram). Chime in over in multiprocessing if you bit!
 

sabregen

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
19,502
i have tried to trace the $ through to this guy, but it looks like he just bought 1 CPU previsouly, and he's not selling anything ATM.
 

wankelguy13b

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2006
Messages
282
Is the stepping on this chips good? To the part number, it's B2 stepping. Does that still contain the TLB bug?
 

Noetic

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 11, 2001
Messages
1,286
Great...... I bit..... another piece of computer stuff to rationalize.
 

Noetic

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 11, 2001
Messages
1,286
What is the consensus choice on affordable motherboards for these puppies?
 

osrk

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
2,004
I seriously hate you guys. I bit :\

Now i'll have 14.4ghz of cpu power mwhahaha.

Seriously though we're all looking for a cheap mobo for these puppies any recommendations? Preferably something below the $200 price range.
 

sabregen

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
19,502
Not all under $200, but all under $300. Leaning heavily towards something with an Nforce 3600 pro chipset that has PCI/PCI-E & PCI-X for my build, although that damned ASUS 680a board and went with dual SLI configs (if you had a dual GPU cards in SLI that would be 8CPUs and 8GPUs...FTW). Don't even want to know what it would take to power that bitch.

edit: I guess you couldn't do 8 GPUs because any dual GPU card is also going to be dual slot, and limit your config to ONLY 3 cards, or 6 GPUs :rolleyes:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130117R
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131140R
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131038R
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131131R
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131248R
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131141R
 

osrk

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
2,004
I'm leaning towards that MSI speedstar but i don't know if it will take 2 quads...
 

xBanzai89

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 24, 2007
Messages
4,791
Is the stepping on this chips good? To the part number, it's B2 stepping. Does that still contain the TLB bug?

They have the TLB bug. I could have sworn I heard that if there is a low clock like these are, it isn't affected by it. Don't quote me on it though.
 

osrk

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
2,004
TLB bug is overrrated, I'm running a phenom 9600 with nary an issue and i run folding@home while doing other things and i don't have any issues.
 

xBanzai89

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 24, 2007
Messages
4,791
^That is what I may do. I think I'm just going to list them in a FS thread. If no one buys them in the coming months, then I'll my make a server.

Are these still under warranty? If they are could I try sending them to AMD (under a rma), to see If I could get ones w/o the TLB bug?
 

sabregen

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
19,502
Moving anything server related isn't as easy as it seems.

+1. I have a Supermicro board + Single Core S940 Opty's +4GB of RAM for $200 (whole combo) and have had only a few bites. I also have an Nforce professional based board that can do SLI, has U320 SCSI RAID, has SATA, PCI, PCI-X and PCI-E with 2xdual cores and 16GB of RAM for sale...same story. :rolleyes:
 

Dark Shade

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 2, 2006
Messages
1,872
So I take it the S2912G2NR won't handle these chips? The Tyan site said it only handles 2xxx series Opterons. Is this correct, or will a BIOS update like the commenter said work?
 

sabregen

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
19,502
from tyan phone support call I made on Friday: "only board model #'s ending in '-E' will get updates for quad core support"

no, the 2912 (non -E) does not support these CPUs. no BIOS update to make it happen, and no replacement BIOS chip will allow it to function
 
Top