[DEAD] Warm $1078 Dell G15 Ryzen™ Edition Gaming Laptop

NickM

Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
512
Damn. This is freekin tempting. If it's single channel, that leaves another slot to upgrade to 32, as that's a 2 slot board.
ETA: ordered one. Should have it by Friday (thank God I didn't order a dock-I wouldn't have seen it for 3 months!)
 
Last edited:

vegeta535

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 19, 2013
Messages
8,692
Good deal I paid $80 more for one with a 8 core Intel and a 120hz screen a month ago. This is a better laptop.
 

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,565
Damn that's really good. Few months ago got my wife a legion 5 with a 4800 and 1660ti for under 1k
 

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,565
https://www.techspot.com/review/2196-amd-ryzen-5800h/

After reading more about the 5800h I went ahead and pulled the trigger on this.
It's the first gaming laptop I've ever owned, I hope it's not a stinker. I'm keeping my expectations in check.
You wont be disappointed performance wise. the 5800H is a beast! Main thing these days with AMD based laptops and Nvidia GPUs

Single channel vs Dual Channel memory config
TDP watt spec for the GPU and in the 30XX line this can vary greatly

For this model is screen quality and cooling is what I would make sure is solid.
 

NattyKathy

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
1,188
Looks a pretty good deal, so far this year that price point will get either a quality machine with a 1660Ti or a shitbox with a 2060 but these look to be all-around decent. Too bad 3060 mobile isn't really faster than 2060 mobile but can't complain much about performance for that price and with that CPU.
 

fowlrock

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 27, 2002
Messages
2,388
Thanks for this post - got mine in yesterday. Doesn't feel like the normal cheap Dell plastic laptops. This feels more like a re-branded Alienware. Performance is great so far - will be adding another SSD as 500gb isn't much for modern gaming. Ran a couple RTX demos last night - surprised how well the 3060 mobile does vs the 1080 in my desktop.
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
40,511
Thanks for this post - got mine in yesterday. Doesn't feel like the normal cheap Dell plastic laptops. This feels more like a re-branded Alienware. Performance is great so far - will be adding another SSD as 500gb isn't much for modern gaming. Ran a couple RTX demos last night - surprised how well the 3060 mobile does vs the 1080 in my desktop.
did it end up being single or dual channel ram?
 

NattyKathy

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
1,188
Thanks for this post - got mine in yesterday. Doesn't feel like the normal cheap Dell plastic laptops. This feels more like a re-branded Alienware. Performance is great so far - will be adding another SSD as 500gb isn't much for modern gaming. Ran a couple RTX demos last night - surprised how well the 3060 mobile does vs the 1080 in my desktop.
Chassis is definitely m15-based by the looks of it so it's odd that it's not Alienware branded. I actually didn't even notice that it isn't Alienware until you pointed it out.
 

Jim Kim

2[H]4U
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
3,894
Thanks for this post - got mine in yesterday. Doesn't feel like the normal cheap Dell plastic laptops. This feels more like a re-branded Alienware. Performance is great so far - will be adding another SSD as 500gb isn't much for modern gaming. Ran a couple RTX demos last night - surprised how well the 3060 mobile does vs the 1080 in my desktop.
Mine's not coming in till next week. Pretty much guarantee it's single channel with one 16 GB sodimm. "EDIT Loaded0's video showed both slots populated"
I've got two 1 terabyte nvme drives but I don't know whether they're single or double-sided, still in packaging. I read you have to get standoffs for the motherboard but that shouldn't be an issue.
EDIT Info about the standoff and screw from Loaded0's youtube video "Dell G15 Ryzen Edition 2021 Gaming Laptop One Week Later Problems Fixes and M.2 SSD Install" https://www.youtube.com/c/Loaded0/videos . He's green but trying hard and smart to include time stamps. M.2 mount starts at 18:54

M.2 standoff and screw part number PXNWV $10 amazon


The motherboard doesn't have a MUX but I knew that going in.

The G15 is a frugal man's Alienware (EDIT Loaded0 said the motherboard has the Alienware logo, lol). It won't have all the bells and whistles but then again you get to keep both of your arms and legs.
,,.,,.,,..,.,
I've watched some videos on "memory ranking" and how it affects frame rates, laptops especially, and I'm just kind of confused. I don't really understand what's going on, I'm going to link them here.

 
Last edited:

fowlrock

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 27, 2002
Messages
2,388
1625795176781.png
 

NickM

Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
512

I can confirm that the 16GB config is shipped with 2-8's and is dual channel. Mine has a WD SN530. Not a lot of info on it and forgot to run Crystal Disk to see what it does-was busy wiping and reinstalling 10 Pro plus starting my other installs...
New BIOS dropped just a couple days ago does have MUX switch.
Update that BIOS as soon as you have the machine.
ETA: Radeon Adrenaline detects the panel as Freesync with a 60-165 Hz range.
Crystal Disk added. Not as good as my 2TB 970 EVO Plus that will be going in the second slot when the mounting kit arrives, but better than the PM991 results I've seen posted by others.
 

Attachments

  • Crystal Disk SN530.png
    Crystal Disk SN530.png
    3.1 MB · Views: 0
Last edited:

Jim Kim

2[H]4U
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
3,894
Dang it. I managed to trigger every bit of fraud prevention that Dell has, and even my banks. My order got put on hold. I got it straightened out today, the laptop will be coming in the first week of August at the sale price.
And it better, I've already ordered the nvme standoff.😉

Now to search the [H]ardforum for homemade laptop cooler.
 

Jim Kim

2[H]4U
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
3,894
I know I’m preaching to the choir but this is just a reminder to either clean install the OS or remove the Dell bloatware.
 

Jim Kim

2[H]4U
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
3,894
There is some decent information in this video.
He was having low battery life when not gaming and emailed Nvidia, they recommended some settings to change.
Also he explains how he got g-sync working on an external monitor, he needed a specific cable.
Not sure whether he determined what HDMI spec it is but I think it's 2.1, Don't quote me.
 

NickM

Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
512
There is some decent information in this video.
He was having low battery life when not gaming and emailed Nvidia, they recommended some settings to change.
Also he explains how he got g-sync working on an external monitor, he needed a specific cable.
Not sure whether he determined what HDMI spec it is but I think it's 2.1, Don't quote me.

I don't believe that you can get Freesync working over HDMI. I think that the monitor has to be GSync. Freesync from an Nvidia card will work over DP though.
 

Jim Kim

2[H]4U
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
3,894
Lenovo has a better version and it costs $500 more.

PROs
Metal top and bottom.
Better keyboard. Touch pad doesn't have a "loose" corner.
16" screen
16:10 500 nit 2560 x 1600 IPS, Dolby Vision™, Free-Sync, G-Sync
(Link says 2tb but i bet it's 512gb, i would verify before ordering)
Same cpu/ram/gpu

Cons
Battery life
Cost

DoorbusterLegion 5 Pro Gen 6 (16” AMD) Gaming Laptop $1550
https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/laptop...on-5-series/Legion-5-Pro-16ACH6H/p/82JQ008JUS
 

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,565
To me it's over priced ATM. I was able to get a 2020 legion 5 for 950$ with a 4800h 16gb ram and 1660ti.
 

Jim Kim

2[H]4U
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
3,894
The good news is Dell sent me an email with FedEx tracking number. Hopefully FedEx will receive the laptop in the next couple of days.
I know you're never supposed to price shop after you've ordered something but in this very forum I saw somebody got a Walmart store only deal that really has me twisting my gloves. 😉
https://hardforum.com/threads/rtx-30-laptops.2006511/page-2#post-1045068884
"Legion 5 Pro (Ryzen 7 5800h, RTX 3070 140w, 16" QHD screen) at Walmart for $1,399"
Lucky bugger. 😭

Edit
FedEx has it. squeee
 
Last edited:

Jim Kim

2[H]4U
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
3,894
FedEx says out for delivery. wheee

If you got one of these you may want to update your BIOS

Previous Bios added MUX (- Added Enable Hybrid Graphics/Advanced Optimus (when available) option in BIOS Setup Menu)

And the Bios released on July 27 should also be a nice win

Fixes & Enhancements​

- Updated the Thermal Algorithm to reduce the system temperature and fan noise.
- Enhanced the Dynamic Boost feature to support 15 W in G Mode to improve the performance of the graphics card.

Not quite sure what they mean by 15 W in G Mode unless it throws the 3060 into full 125 w when the G-Key pressed.
 

vegeta535

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 19, 2013
Messages
8,692
I been using the Intel based one and it has been pretty solid. The only issue I had it huh up doing the initial boot. I proceed to wipe it clean and do a fresh install of windows 10 and have had no issues.
 

Jim Kim

2[H]4U
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
3,894
I been using the Intel based one and it has been pretty solid. The only issue I had it huh up doing the initial boot. I proceed to wipe it clean and do a fresh install of windows 10 and have had no issues.
Yeah, I got no qualms with nuking the dell-ware and putting a clean install of Windows on it after toying with it for a day or two (or if the initial boot poopies the bed)
 

NickM

Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
512
FedEx says out for delivery. wheee

If you got one of these you may want to update your BIOS

Previous Bios added MUX (- Added Enable Hybrid Graphics/Advanced Optimus (when available) option in BIOS Setup Menu)

And the Bios released on July 27 should also be a nice win

Fixes & Enhancements​

- Updated the Thermal Algorithm to reduce the system temperature and fan noise.
- Enhanced the Dynamic Boost feature to support 15 W in G Mode to improve the performance of the graphics card.

Not quite sure what they mean by 15 W in G Mode unless it throws the 3060 into full 125 w when the G-Key pressed.
I'm thinking they *might* be referring to where CPUz reports it as an 80 watt card, not as a 115...just guessing though. I see there is also a vBIOS update for the card posted just today.
 

Jim Kim

2[H]4U
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
3,894
I'm thinking they *might* be referring to where CPUz reports it as an 80 watt card, not as a 115...just guessing though. I see there is also a vBIOS update for the card posted just today.
Thanks for that information. I went ahead and installed it even though it didn't show up as a requirement.
And then I grabbed cpu-z and it shows erroneously that the 3060 is an 80 w device.
So that's just an error on the CPUz side.

I'm really loving the laptop.
I have no idea what brand make or model nvme they stuck in there. It's definitely not the fastest on the face of the Earth but I'm sure it's the cheapest.

Here it is if anyone wants to take a gander at what the heck it is.
OM3PDP3-AD NVMe KDI 512GB

My Google-fu failed me

EDIT
I typed in KDI ssd, it's a Kingston Digital.
Doubt I'll be taking it to the racetrack.
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
40,511

NickM

Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
512
odd theyre using different drives for the same unit. maybe a different batch. yours is better, still could be faster though.
https://www.harddrivebenchmark.net/hdd.php?hdd=NVMe PC SN530 NVMe WDC 512GB&id=27848
View attachment 379939

other mid range drives rate waaay higher. the Kingston one is around 11k.
View attachment 379940

still faster then ssd and still dances circles around any old spinner.
Already stuck a 2TB 970 EVO Plus in the second slot, as well as upgrading to 32 GB.
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
40,511
Already stuck a 2TB 970 EVO Plus in the second slot, as well as upgrading to 32 GB.
so youre around $1300(current price) all in for a pretty bitchin system?! kinda kickin myself for not grabbin one, but just couldnt justify it as im not really mobile that much...
 

Jim Kim

2[H]4U
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
3,894
Already stuck a 2TB 970 EVO Plus in the second slot, as well as upgrading to 32 GB.
NickM ,
Did you just buy the mounting bracket or did you also get a 80mm heat shield.
The short nvme drive that came with it has a 30 mm heat shield with thermal pad.

Do you think a heat shield is necessary?
Thanks for your time.

On a side note I just put a 1 TB drive in to replace the 512 and I did not have any success installing Windows on it.
No errors or anything but it kept going back to the installing/copying files screen. The drive is new but it's also been sitting in my drawer for 2 years (still in unopened blister pac).

When I have some time I'll try it as the spare drive.
 

NickM

Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
512
NickM ,
Did you just buy the mounting bracket or did you also get a 80mm heat shield.
The short nvme drive that came with it has a 30 mm heat shield with thermal pad.

Do you think a heat shield is necessary?
Thanks for your time.

On a side note I just put a 1 TB drive in to replace the 512 and I did not have any success installing Windows on it.
No errors or anything but it kept going back to the installing/copying files screen. The drive is new but it's also been sitting in my drawer for 2 years (still in unopened blister pac).

When I have some time I'll try it as the spare drive.

This is what I used-comes with the bracket, the screws, and the heat spreader: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B097MXJQLJ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
I don't know if the spreader is necessary, but figured I'd get the whole kit anyway.
A side note, PCIe bus and graphics bus are both listed as 4, not 3. Graphics is x8.
 

Jim Kim

2[H]4U
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
3,894
This is what I used-comes with the bracket, the screws, and the heat spreader: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B097MXJQLJ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
I don't know if the spreader is necessary, but figured I'd get the whole kit anyway.
A side note, PCIe bus and graphics bus are both listed as 4, not 3. Graphics is x8.
You rock!
i went ahead and installed a the 1TB inland Premium SSD (same one I could not get Windows to install on) in the spare slot.
And the 512GB Kingston for comparison
 

Attachments

  • disk bench terabyte.png
    disk bench terabyte.png
    29.9 KB · Views: 0
  • diskmark 512gb.jpg
    diskmark 512gb.jpg
    102.4 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:
Top