Daily Mining Profits

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
53,520
Finally go off my lazy bum and got some cards back in action after Sparkpool went kaput with the rest of the CCP action.

1633418271876.png
 

BassTek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 13, 2002
Messages
6,303
i've tried hiveon, ethermine and flex. I feel ethermine and flex have been the best. Have you visited miningpoolprofits.com?
I’ve used Ethermine, 2miners, Hiveon and Flexpool and I think I might just move back to Flexpool soon and pay for HiveOS.

It’s tough to compare apples to apples with the difficulty and other variables always changing but Flexpool did seem to hit more big blocks that actually affected my daily earnings compared to the others. Ethermine was consistent and HiveOn is ok if you don’t want to pay for HiveOS and have multiple rigs.

2Miners had the worst stat reporting of the bunch so I never really knew what was going on with that pool.
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
53,520
i've tried hiveon, ethermine and flex. I feel ethermine and flex have been the best. Have you visited miningpoolprofits.com?
No, and honestly I do not pay much attention to this. I asked someone I trusted on this, and they told me what they are doing and I followed.
 

undertaker2k8

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
1,833
Added a second 6600xt to my sff rig, better than even a solo 6800 and slightly lower power. Finally crossed 400 Mh/s (415 Mh/s across 7 GPUs and 2 machines) and think I am finally done with this experiment.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20211018-163041_NiceHash.jpg
    Screenshot_20211018-163041_NiceHash.jpg
    108 KB · Views: 1

Bigbacon

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
20,166
My daily has been all over the place for lasf week or so. Was constantly in the 26/27 dollar range but this last 7 days, its lime 16 then 27 the 14 the 26 and just up and down xonstantly. Really beating up my earnings. For at least the prior 12 weeks, i was like 325 or so evey 14 days which was awesome.
 

kaneO

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 11, 2021
Messages
142
Started yesterday with nicehash using an EVGA FTW3 3080 and I've made $5.57 from 5 payouts(4hour intervals) with the optimizer on medium. Tried high twice and it crashed instantly. I have a hybrid cooler for the GPU I wonder if that would help much?
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,906
Started yesterday with nicehash using an EVGA FTW3 3080 and I've made $5.57 from 5 payouts(4hour intervals) with the optimizer on medium. Tried high twice and it crashed instantly. I have a hybrid cooler for the GPU I wonder if that would help much?

You have to tweak the settings. I have a 3080 that I run at ~230W tops and nets me right around $5/day. The program I use lets me tweak each individual setting for each algorithm.
 

kaneO

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 11, 2021
Messages
142
You have to tweak the settings. I have a 3080 that I run at ~230W tops and nets me right around $5/day. The program I use lets me tweak each individual setting for each algorithm.
Thats about what I'll be getting after I pay the utility bill. Not to bad either way. What program do you use?
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,906
Thats about what I'll be getting after I pay the utility bill. Not to bad either way. What program do you use?

Nicehash Miner Legacy Fork Fix.

It does everything that the regular NH program does except it throws back in a couple miners that NH doesn't like anymore like Phoenix and T-rex. It adds autolykos as an algorithm which isn't in the regular program. And it allows you to manually adjust each specific miner/algorithm with its own settings in afterburner. I can also go in and replace the miner files with the newest ones (NBMiner and T-rex) so I get higher hash rates than the included ones.

I have much better results with T-rex than with NBMiner for ETH mining, but NBMiner is much better at autolykos than T-rex. I can enable only the algorithms I want and then tweak the settings to get maximum efficiency.

Edit: The only time I would stay with the regular NH program is if you're using a FHR card that can run with the NH miner since it has Zero developer fees. Even if it is slightly slower than the others, you aren't paying developer fees so you profit more. On an FHR card, the highest profitability is still going to come from ETH.

Edit2: I accidentally mixed up FHR and LHR in the edit above. I fixed it. FHR - use regular NH; LHR - use the NHLFF posted above is what I use.
 
Last edited:

kaneO

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 11, 2021
Messages
142
Nicehash Miner Legacy Fork Fix.

It does everything that the regular NH program does except it throws back in a couple miners that NH doesn't like anymore like Phoenix and T-rex. It adds autolykos as an algorithm which isn't in the regular program. And it allows you to manually adjust each specific miner/algorithm with its own settings in afterburner. I can also go in and replace the miner files with the newest ones (NBMiner and T-rex) so I get higher hash rates than the included ones.

I have much better results with T-rex than with NBMiner for ETH mining, but NBMiner is much better at autolykos than T-rex. I can enable only the algorithms I want and then tweak the settings to get maximum efficiency.
Cool, I'm gonna look into this
 

Bigbacon

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
20,166
anyone explain to me a bit more how the profits work on mining cards?

So my profitability has been dropping and what I'm seeing is just a weird spread between similar cards.

so 3 of my 1080tis can be at like $2.30 a day, the 4th one, running the same hash rates gets 1.70 a day. At the same time, my 3080 at a hash rate more than 30 more than a 1080ti is only getting like 2.60 cents a day...

My average daily for a very long time was in the .0004xx range BTC and it has been dropping, I'm at like .00031xx average now.

Also, what are people going to do if/when ETH stops being minable? I'm lost at this point. I want to expand, I can only do so slowly but what the best move with the ETH mining ending, possibly, middle of the year?
 

Andrew_Carr

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
2,603
Are you using nicehash? It sounds like the 4th one isn't getting the same hashrate as the others for whatever reason. I hear nicehash does a pretty good job of setting overclocks but Asus 1080TIs are weird when it comes to overclocking. Your 3080 should be getting more than double your 1080TIs if it's setup correctly.

For income, look at the bars on this graph. Difficulty is currently increasing and price has been decreasing for ETH, so you should expect to see income & profits drop steadily.

 
Last edited:

auntjemima

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
10,334
Are you using nicehash? It sounds like the 4th one isn't getting the same hashrate as the others for whatever reason. I hear nicehash does a pretty good job of setting overclocks but Asus 1080TIs are weird when it comes to overclocking. Your 3080 should be getting more than double your 1080TIs if it's setup correctly.

For income, look at the bars on this graph. Difficulty is currently increasing and price has been decreasing for ETH, so you should expect to see income & profits drop steadily.
I'm wondering if that one card is being used for a different algorithm right now. Pretty sure Nicehash pops all around depending on what people are buying.
 

Bigbacon

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
20,166
I'm wondering if that one card is being used for a different algorithm right now. Pretty sure Nicehash pops all around depending on what people are buying.

so all my 1080s are on NHQM. I need to start getting them off QM into the normal one so it can start algo switching to whatever is best but I haven't had the time and almost don't have the will power to figure out all the settings to use. I'm thinking of switching them all to T-Rex or NBMiner.

My 3080 is an LHR card and the LHR unlock works well with it.

All my cards are daggerhashimoto right now. the quick miner ONLY runs that. my 3080 does jump to octopus also but when it does, it seems the profits plummet even more than if it just stayed on dagger. its like it benchmarks higher, switches, and the benchmark was just way off. I haven't figured that out.

I'm sitting here watching so many damn videos on this stuff right now it seems pretty daunting once you get out of QM to figure out every thing for each type of card.
 

auntjemima

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
10,334
so all my 1080s are on NHQM. I need to start getting them off QM into the normal one so it can start algo switching to whatever is best but I haven't had the time and almost don't have the will power to figure out all the settings to use. I'm thinking of switching them all to T-Rex or NBMiner.

My 3080 is an LHR card and the LHR unlock works well with it.

All my cards are daggerhashimoto right now. the quick miner ONLY runs that. my 3080 does jump to octopus also but when it does, it seems the profits plummet even more than if it just stayed on dagger. its like it benchmarks higher, switches, and the benchmark was just way off. I haven't figured that out.
If all you're doing is mining eth, you should have moved to T-Rex ages ago. Personal opinion, sure, but I found I was able to do about 10% more per day.

Even with my 3080 LHR I was able to get 71. Not near the 100 the FHR gets, but better than the 64 I was getting before.
 

Bigbacon

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
20,166
If all you're doing is mining eth, you should have moved to T-Rex ages ago. Personal opinion, sure, but I found I was able to do about 10% more per day.

Even with my 3080 LHR I was able to get 71. Not near the 100 the FHR gets, but better than the 64 I was getting before.

that is what I'm learning. I can't seem to get my 3080 past maybe 66. it doesn't seem to like to OC. Probably just a bad card for it. I'm in the process of getting Trex working again in NH on my 3080 computer. I need to downgrade the nvidia driver also back to 471.whateveritwas.
 

auntjemima

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
10,334
that is what I'm learning. I can't seem to get my 3080 past maybe 66. it doesn't seem to like to OC. Probably just a bad card for it. I'm in the process of getting Trex working again in NH on my 3080 computer. I need to downgrade the nvidia driver also back to 471.whateveritwas.
I ran on whatever was newest at the time. Definitely wasn't the 471 driver.

I was able to overclock the memory to 1000, while some were able to get 1300. I wasn't able to touch the core though, iirc.

I *think* the power slider was at 55%, but I could be thinking about my 2070 cards.
 

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,695
I have to use nvidia profile inspector and turn off "cuda - force P2 state" to get my 3070 non lhr to full hash rate. once you click apply changes, you'll need to reboot for it to take effect. I have to do this with every driver update.
 

Bigbacon

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
20,166
I ran on whatever was newest at the time. Definitely wasn't the 471 driver.

I was able to overclock the memory to 1000, while some were able to get 1300. I wasn't able to touch the core though, iirc.

I *think* the power slider was at 55%, but I could be thinking about my 2070 cards.

yea with LHR cards, there a specific driver that does a little bit better than the newer ones. I have to look it up again. it s 471.something.
 

auntjemima

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
10,334
yea with LHR cards, there a specific driver that does a little bit better than the newer ones. I have to look it up again. it s 471.something.
The only reason I know it wasn't 471.xx is because when I used that driver on my 1080, Fortnite would always warn me that the 471.xx driver has known issues, on every bootup. I never saw that message on my 3080.
 

Bigbacon

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
20,166
I swapped my 3080lhr to t-rex ( through NH) and it runs exactly the same as everything else. i guess I just have a dud of card. it maxes at 65/66 no matter what OC and LHR settings I use. The first pump says like 75 and immediately it just drops to 65ish after. Its profitibility, according to nicehash, is like way worse that a 1080ti which I still don't get.

its running close to how much a 1080 is making.
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
11,616
I swapped my 3080lhr to t-rex ( through NH) and it runs exactly the same as everything else. i guess I just have a dud of card. it maxes at 65/66 no matter what OC and LHR settings I use. The first pump says like 75 and immediately it just drops to 65ish after. Its profitibility, according to nicehash, is like way worse that a 1080ti which I still don't get.

its running close to how much a 1080 is making.
a 1080TI doesn't hit 65MHs, so that doesn't make sense.

My experience in trying a half dozen different pools is nicehash is the easy button and profits are darn near anything else. I have eight cards mining. The 3080s are launch units and they hit 100MHs, the 3060TI and 3070s all hit 58-60mhs. They are all reliable. The rig just runs and runs and runs - almost a year now with hardly any maintenance, troubleshooting or down time.
 

obs

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 4, 2002
Messages
4,816
anyone explain to me a bit more how the profits work on mining cards?

So my profitability has been dropping and what I'm seeing is just a weird spread between similar cards.

so 3 of my 1080tis can be at like $2.30 a day, the 4th one, running the same hash rates gets 1.70 a day. At the same time, my 3080 at a hash rate more than 30 more than a 1080ti is only getting like 2.60 cents a day...

My average daily for a very long time was in the .0004xx range BTC and it has been dropping, I'm at like .00031xx average now.

Also, what are people going to do if/when ETH stops being minable? I'm lost at this point. I want to expand, I can only do so slowly but what the best move with the ETH mining ending, possibly, middle of the year?
It's going to depend a lot on what happens then when all the GPU miners start looking for a new coin. That will likely impact the current profitability of those coins as their difficulty increases.
 

obs

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 4, 2002
Messages
4,816
I thought I had a dud 3060-ti (non-LHR) that would only do like 40MH/s for a long time but after switching from phoenix to t-rex it's at 60+.

mining.png
 

Bigbacon

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
20,166
a 1080TI doesn't hit 65MHs, so that doesn't make sense.

My experience in trying a half dozen different pools is nicehash is the easy button and profits are darn near anything else. I have eight cards mining. The 3080s are launch units and they hit 100MHs, the 3060TI and 3070s all hit 58-60mhs. They are all reliable. The rig just runs and runs and runs - almost a year now with hardly any maintenance, troubleshooting or down time.

its showing worse profitibility than some of my 1080tis even though it has the high hash rate.
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
11,616
Bigbacon

It doesn’t matter what the profit calculator says. It matters what your hash rate is. A 1080ti won’t actually be making more than your 3080LHR card cause the MHps numbers are higher on your 3080. What it means is the 1080TI isn’t making what Nicehash is showing either, and it making less than you.

To see if what you are making is within the lines of expected, use a website called whattomine.
https://whattomine.com/coins?aq_480=0&aq_69xt=0&aq_68xt=0&aq_68=0&aq_67xt=0&aq_66xt=0&aq_vii=0&aq_5700xt=0&aq_5700=0&aq_5600xt=0&aq_vega64=0&aq_vega56=0&aq_3090=0&aq_38Ti=0&aq_3080=0&aq_38L=1&a_38L=true&aq_37Ti=0&aq_3070=0&aq_37L=0&aq_3060Ti=0&aq_36TiL=0&aq_3060=0&aq_36L=0&aq_55xt8=0&aq_580=0&aq_570=0&aq_470=0&aq_fury=0&aq_380=0&aq_2080Ti=0&aq_2080=0&aq_2070=0&aq_2060=0&aq_166s=0&aq_1660Ti=0&aq_1660=0&aq_1080Ti=0&aq_1080=0&aq_1070Ti=0&aq_1070=0&aq_10606=0&aq_1050Ti=0&eth=true&factor[eth_hr]=71.00&factor[eth_p]=240.00&e4g=true&factor[e4g_hr]=71.00&factor[e4g_p]=240.00&zh=true&factor[zh_hr]=134.00&factor[zh_p]=250.00&cnh=true&factor[cnh_hr]=2400.00&factor[cnh_p]=250.00&cng=true&factor[cng_hr]=3700.00&factor[cng_p]=250.00&cnf=true&factor[cnf_hr]=4100.00&factor[cnf_p]=250.00&cx=true&factor[cx_hr]=4.40&factor[cx_p]=230.00&eqa=true&factor[eqa_hr]=470.00&factor[eqa_p]=250.00&cc=true&factor[cc_hr]=14.20&factor[cc_p]=250.00&cr29=true&factor[cr29_hr]=14.30&factor[cr29_p]=250.00&ct31=true&factor[ct31_hr]=2.30&factor[ct31_p]=250.00&ct32=true&factor[ct32_hr]=0.80&factor[ct32_p]=250.00&eqb=true&factor[eqb_hr]=46.50&factor[eqb_p]=250.00&rmx=true&factor[rmx_hr]=1500.00&factor[rmx_p]=250.00&ns=true&factor[ns_hr]=0.00&factor[ns_p]=0.00&al=true&factor[al_hr]=190.00&factor[al_p]=180.00&ops=true&factor[ops_hr]=77.00&factor[ops_p]=250.00&eqz=true&factor[eqz_hr]=63.00&factor[eqz_p]=250.00&zlh=true&factor[zlh_hr]=76.00&factor[zlh_p]=250.00&kpw=true&factor[kpw_hr]=39.50&factor[kpw_p]=250.00&ppw=true&factor[ppw_hr]=38.90&factor[ppw_p]=250.00&x25x=true&factor[x25x_hr]=11.10&factor[x25x_p]=250.00&fpw=true&factor[fpw_hr]=41.00&factor[fpw_p]=250.00&vh=true&factor[vh_hr]=1.45&factor[vh_p]=240.00&factor[cost]=0.13&sort=Profitability24&volume=0&revenue=24h&factor[exchanges][]=&factor[exchanges][]=binance&factor[exchanges][]=bitfinex&factor[exchanges][]=bitforex&factor[exchanges][]=bittrex&factor[exchanges][]=coinex&factor[exchanges][]=dove&factor[exchanges][]=exmo&factor[exchanges][]=gate&factor[exchanges][]=graviex&factor[exchanges][]=hitbtc&factor[exchanges][]=hotbit&factor[exchanges][]=ogre&factor[exchanges][]=poloniex&factor[exchanges][]=stex&dataset=&commit=Calculate

1642028048697.png


Vs. a 1080TI
1642028132124.png
 

motqalden

[H]ard|DCOTM x5
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
2,715
Bigbacon What is your card really quashing is my question. Since you are on nicehash, open the rig manager section on the website and open the rig that has the bum card. down in the profits section you should be able to switch to showing stats for dagerhashimoto.
If that card is switching to other algorithms besides eth then you might have to pick in the list than just this and "all"
This will show you your "accepted" mining rates and error percentage. If you sort over the week you get a much more accurate measure. Your miner reports hashing rate but this is not the same as the "accepted rate" which is based more so on shares found.
If your card is doing poorly on a $ basis there has to be something going on in the stats. Do you have a lot of errors maybe? I only played around with a LHR card for about a day and I found the hashrate was all over the place since it keeps needing to change the "unlock"

As for the non quick miner and algo switching, I have almost always found this to be too much of a pain, and especially so when different algorithms like different memory / core and power limit settings.
In the non quick miner I will usually lock it to only run the 1 algorithm i like in the "benchmark" section. Because there is way less bids out there for non ETH coins I have often seen it switch when it detects a higher bid , but this bid is small and then the follow-up prices drop quickly and it takes a bit for the miner to react to the price change and switch algo again. If it is switching a lot there is a certain small amount of lost time that builds up.
If you are only running the one algo you should check coin prices every so often to make sure the coin you are running is the highest average for your card.
YMMV I know there are people who have ways around a lot of these things and / or improvements. Most experienced miners will warn you off nice hash anyways, but it has its conveniences at a slightly reduced average payout.


1642042032937.png
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,906
And remember, mining profits isn't a linear line. Sometimes you are "luckier" than other times in terms of accepted shares.
 

BassTek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 13, 2002
Messages
6,303
Ya profit is not the best thing to monitor, all I really watch is my reported hash rate but I mine on a pool and don’t use nicehash.
 

Bigbacon

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
20,166
Ya profit is not the best thing to monitor, all I really watch is my reported hash rate but I mine on a pool and don’t use nicehash.

my thing is where do I go to have an easy way to manage all my hodge podge cards in one place? that was reason I was on nicehash plus the QM just worked. I've spent the last 4 hours trying to tweak cards to not use the QM and some of them I got to the same hash rate using T-rex. It was not enjoyable. I still have 2 cards to do.

Some how excavator in QM can get the same hash rates with less power and I can't figure that out. I can get them equal at about 215-220 watts, QM was like 195. Sick of messing with settings for now :)

So at least of 5 of my 7 cards they are all on the same miner now so if I get away from nicehash I at least know what cards settings to use. I do wish I could find an explanation of the --MT parameter. it tweaks memory timings, you give it a value of 1 to 6 but I can't find anything that says what it actually changes. Doesn't seem to change the hashrates regardless of which value I use. The --MT command is supposed to be like using the EthPill.
 

Andrew_Carr

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
2,603
my thing is where do I go to have an easy way to manage all my hodge podge cards in one place? that was reason I was on nicehash plus the QM just worked. I've spent the last 4 hours trying to tweak cards to not use the QM and some of them I got to the same hash rate using T-rex. It was not enjoyable. I still have 2 cards to do.

Some how excavator in QM can get the same hash rates with less power and I can't figure that out. I can get them equal at about 215-220 watts, QM was like 195. Sick of messing with settings for now :)

So at least of 5 of my 7 cards they are all on the same miner now so if I get away from nicehash I at least know what cards settings to use. I do wish I could find an explanation of the --MT parameter. it tweaks memory timings, you give it a value of 1 to 6 but I can't find anything that says what it actually changes. Doesn't seem to change the hashrates regardless of which value I use. The --MT command is supposed to be like using the EthPill.

Try https://www.awesomeminer.com/ if you're tied to windows. It does profit switching so you don't need nicehash. If you're using linux there's various options (raveos, hiveos, etc.). Typically I try to keep rigs consistent though because things become awkward when your vega56 needs to mine ETH, but your 6700XT wants to mine ravencoin, and your nvidia coins want to mine ergo or something like that for max profits.
 
Top