Corsair AX1600i PSU is it worth to buy it/? for futureproof?

tecjim

n00b
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
48
You are asking way to many questions over and over again when the answers have been the same from the beginning. If you want to try to figure out specific power on a per device level then look up the device and its TDP and read some reviews on typical power consumption for said device. Alternatively like I mentioned use a tool like this and plug in everything you are asking me about in the post above and figure it out.

https://www.coolermaster.com/power-supply-calculator/
from your experience how many watts is this system??
how many watts is the 5950 x?

2 rtx 3090 both how many watts are these 2 cards?

2 how many watts is one custom watercooling in cpu and gpu ?? include
oc ,,undervolt/core clock locking the cpu and the gpu>?>



4 4 ssds

5 6 internal hardisks/../

7 1 soundcard..?

i dont trust the suply calcuator is not corect./.
 

lopoetve

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 11, 2001
Messages
31,734
from your experience how many watts is this system??
how many watts is the 5950 x?

2 rtx 3090 both how many watts are these 2 cards?

2 how many watts is one custom watercooling in cpu and gpu ?? include
oc ,,undervolt/core clock locking the cpu and the gpu>?>



4 4 ssds

5 6 internal hardisks/../

7 1 soundcard..?

i dont trust the suply calcuator is not corect./.
The calculator is pretty close. It's estimating 830W for my Threadripper, which pulls about 760 from my UPS (according to its screen) - that sounds pretty close enough to me. It's being more conservative, which is good.

You can google the TDP - watts in is watts out - of each part. Add them up manually from there. We all use the calculators to get a baseline - I'm running a Thor 1200 (or 1600, can't remember) on the threadripper, and a BeQuiet 1200W on my X299 system.
 

tecjim

n00b
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
48
i did this calcuator
#
1626562054319.png




1626562027334.png
 

tecjim

n00b
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
48
so the max is 1200 watts with 2 rtx 3090 or 2 6900xt

but if you do oc the cpu and the 2 gpus and also put one custom wattercooling how many watts will be add??

1400 watts for everything??
 

lopoetve

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 11, 2001
Messages
31,734
Ok. Your first calculator is sane. The 5950 isn't - there's no x570 board with 6 dimm slots - and if there was, 192G takes a decent amount of juice to energize alone (also, I believe, exceeds the maximum amount of RAM that Zen3 supports...?). Also, 8 drives and 8 SSDs are gonna pull some power.
Your last one is also sane - dual 3090s pull a LOT of power. Not sure what you're trying to DO with those, but sure - that looks right ish?

Pumps/fans/etc aren't that power hungry. hundred watts max normally.

What the heck are you ACTUALLY putting in this system?
 

tecjim

n00b
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
48
Ok. Your first calculator is sane. The 5950 isn't - there's no x570 board with 6 dimm slots - and if there was, 192G takes a decent amount of juice to energize alone (also, I believe, exceeds the maximum amount of RAM that Zen3 supports...?). Also, 8 drives and 8 SSDs are gonna pull some power.
Your last one is also sane - dual 3090s pull a LOT of power. Not sure what you're trying to DO with those, but sure - that looks right ish?

Pumps/fans/etc aren't that power hungry. hundred watts max normally.

What the heck are you ACTUALLY putting in this system?


i will build one new system in some months

cpu 5950 x oc

motherboard x570 oc


one rtx 3090 and later in the future i will put one second rtx 3090


32 giga drr4


soundblaster ae-9


2 ssds sata 3 2TB each

2 nvmes 2 tB

5 hardidks 8TB 7200 rpm

and oc cpu and gpu


Pumps/fans/etc for custom watercooling.. i will add one custom watercooling for all the pc


so what psu i need for all these things??
 

hititnquitit

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 16, 2018
Messages
1,269
You absolutely, unequivocally, MUST HAVE the CORSAIR AX1600i for that system. DO NOT ask anymore questions.

GO

GET

IT

NOW

or the sky will fall on top of your head the very moment you start to type or copy/paste another repetitive question.
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
18,673
i will build one new system in some months

cpu 5950 x oc

motherboard x570 oc


one rtx 3090 and later in the future i will put one second rtx 3090


32 giga drr4


soundblaster ae-9


2 ssds sata 3 2TB each

2 nvmes 2 tB

5 hardidks 8TB 7200 rpm

and oc cpu and gpu


Pumps/fans/etc for custom watercooling.. i will add one custom watercooling for all the pc


so what psu i need for all these things??
What exactly are you putting into the machine?

are you going to use a current windows key or are you getting a new one?

what color are the fans going to be?

Also, what keyboard and mouse are you going to be using as that may or may not require a larger power supply.
 

bwang

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 6, 2011
Messages
1,043
If you have the money for a pair of 3090s (keep in mind you can't really take advantage of two 3090's in games!) just buy the AX1600i, it uses GaN FETs that put it in a league of its own compared to other consumer power supplies.
 

tecjim

n00b
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
48
If you have the money for a pair of 3090s (keep in mind you can't really take advantage of two 3090's in games!) just buy the AX1600i, it uses GaN FETs that put it in a league of its own compared to other consumer power supplies.


what you mean when you say that the AX1600i, it uses GaN FETs that put it in a league of its own compared to other consumer power supplies.???

what you mean with this??
 

bwang

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 6, 2011
Messages
1,043
what you mean when you say that the AX1600i, it uses GaN FETs that put it in a league of its own compared to other consumer power supplies.???

what you mean with this??
The power transistors in the AX1600i are made of gallium nitride (as opposed to silicon), which gives it performance superior to other power supplies which use Si FETs. Unless something has changed, Corsair gets their FETs from Transphorm.
I *think* this also implies that the AX1600i is a unique-to-Corsair design as opposed to a rebadged OEM (not that there is anything wrong with OEMs).
 

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
19,830
My word!
Getting the popcorn out :)

OP, do some homework before posing such an open question.
That will narrow down what you need to ask substantially and you will be wiser for it.
If you dont understand anything, just buy it and walk away.
 

pclausen

Gawd
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
625
I've had a AX1500i since they first came out like 2-3 years ago maybe? I used it for the first 2 years in a mining rig powering 5 1080Ti's running 24/7. Never had a single issue with it.

It is currently in my main gaming rig with a 5950X and a 3090 KingPin and a loop with a D5 pump. It is still going just as strong as the day I got it.

I do run 240V to it, btw, as I do all my power hungry rigs. PSUs are generally more efficient at 240V as opposed to 120V.
 
  • Like
Reactions: noko
like this

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,452
I've had a AX1500i since they first came out like 2-3 years ago maybe? I used it for the first 2 years in a mining rig powering 5 1080Ti's running 24/7. Never had a single issue with it.

It is currently in my main gaming rig with a 5950X and a 3090 KingPin and a loop with a D5 pump. It is still going just as strong as the day I got it.

I do run 240V to it, btw, as I do all my power hungry rigs. PSUs are generally more efficient at 240V as opposed to 120V.
Yep, run 2 rigs at 240v, one has 2 PS. For HTPC machines I don't think 1600w is too much, current config:
  • 3960x - 280w stock -> up to 360w OC
  • 3090 - 350w stock -> 366w maxed (depends on which 3090 you have)
  • 5700XT - 225w, 275w+ max if OC
Max I should see if everything is maxed out current config-> 1000w
I mine when not doing other stuff and here are powers
  • 280w mining XMR
  • 280w 3090 mining ETH
  • 150w 5700XT mining ETH
  • 50w for all the other stuff
  • Total ~760w
But I have options, looking at moving 2x 1080Ti's into rig and putting the 5700XT in a mining rig, this will put power at around 1000w. If i can get another 3090 or a 3080 (preferred, maybe 2) that would extend the power to 1200w mining as an example. 2x 3090's for rendering would basically run at 700w for both plus all the other loads. Anyways the jest is if you have the slots, cards, future expansion, having a high power PS will not hold you back.
 
Top