Core 2 Duo T9400 no power up Dell Vostro 1500

nomar

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 30, 2002
Messages
1,404
I'm upgrading the processor on a Dell Vostro 1500 laptop and can't get it to power on.

Original processor was a Core 2 Duo T5270 (1.4 GHz)

I purchased and installed a Core 2 Duo T9400 SLB46 2.53GHz 1066MHz and it won't boot.

I've tried it with one stick of RAM, battery/no battery, resetting the CMOS battery... nothing. I don't even get a power LED when I turn it on.

BIOS is the most recent.

I've seen several threads where people said they used a T9400, T9500, or T9600 to upgrade this computer.

This is the 2nd T9400 I bought.... the first one I returned to the seller saying it was DOA... well it seems like it really wasn't or it's a big coincidence that both T9400s from different sellers are DOA.

Any suggestions? Thanks.
 

Mr. Bluntman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 25, 2007
Messages
6,677
Not trying to be Capt. Obvious here, but have you tried powering up the laptop with the original 1.4GHz CPU in it? I highly doubt that two CPUs in a row are dead unless the seller isn't protecting them or packaging them properly...

If it works with the T5270 again maybe try a T9500 or T9600 instead?
 

nomar

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 30, 2002
Messages
1,404
Yes it works fine with the T5270. In fact, I am posting from it right now in Linux Mint.

I read one post on a blog that said it may be because of incompatibility with the chipset... apparently the T9300 and T9500s will work... meh.
 

shoota

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
1,550
Yeah there's a HUGE chance that cpu isn't compatible with your laptop.
 

nomar

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 30, 2002
Messages
1,404
That is odd that this one would be 1066MHz while the others at that time period were 800MHz. I never thought that would be an issue; I guess it isn't the same as how desktop mobos handle it.
Also interesting how the T9400s are so much cheaper than the T9300s and T9500s on eBay right now.
I got my 9400 for $21 and the others are selling for $50 or more.
Thanks for the input.
 

800XL

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 5, 2004
Messages
94
I find it a bit odd that the 9400 didn't even POST, I would have guessed it would boot but not run at the correct speed. I've never tried to run a 1066Mhz bus CPU in a Vostro 1500 though, could be it sees it as incompatible and refuses to go anywhere.

That said, I have a Vostro 1500 with a T9300 in it. Runs great no problems. The 9300 and 9500 CPUs are so expensive because they are the top two 800Mhz bus CPU options. Anything that can run the 9400 has several faster options they can go to.

T9300s do show up on ebay for 30-40 shipped from time to time, t9500s seem to always stay above $100 though.
 
Top