Command Line and VM's

Ur_Mom

Fully [H]
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
20,591
I want to make 2 virtual machines, but I'd like to have both CLI only, no GUI.

Is that possible? Are there any command line VM's out there?

If not, I'll just put a minimal Linux GUI on there and go that route.
 

LittleMe

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
Messages
2,977
You just want 2 virtual guests that are CLI only? Or you're looking for a hypervisor that is CLI only?

If you just want a guest os that is CLI only, look at Ubuntu Server.
 

Ur_Mom

Fully [H]
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
20,591
You just want 2 virtual guests that are CLI only? Or you're looking for a hypervisor that is CLI only?

If you just want a guest os that is CLI only, look at Ubuntu Server.

I want both the guest and the hypervisor to be CLI. I am probably only going to be lucky enough to get the guests as CLI. And I will probably go with Ubuntu or straight Debian.

Thanks!
 

supergper

Gawd
Joined
Apr 25, 2005
Messages
766
Any Linux, FreeBSD, etc can be loaded without the gui. You can also set just about any of them to not boot in to the gui even if there is one.
 

eth00

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
1,090
Xen and vmware are both good choices. Xen is more of a true virtual computer while openvz is more of an emulation. I usually end up simply going with openvz on most machines but if you need to compile your own computer for each node xen is the way to go.
 

sabregen

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
19,502
why not just set the run level on the linux distro to not start the GUI? I am also a bit confused by your initial post, are you looking for the virtualization solution (desktop virtualization or a bare metal hypervisor) to be CLI only, or are you trying to run the VMs with just a CLI?
 

Ur_Mom

Fully [H]
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
20,591
why not just set the run level on the linux distro to not start the GUI? I am also a bit confused by your initial post, are you looking for the virtualization solution (desktop virtualization or a bare metal hypervisor) to be CLI only, or are you trying to run the VMs with just a CLI?

I have a low end (Dual P3's 1 GHz, 1 GB RAM) that I want to run 2 Linux machines on. But, I don't want to bog it down using a GUI on either Linux install. So, both installs need to be GUI-less. Can a hypervisor run form a CLI? Once setup, all work will be done by SSH, the machine will be headless.

I'll look into Xen and the others. Thanks!
 

supergper

Gawd
Joined
Apr 25, 2005
Messages
766
For that, you ought to look into OpenVZ as mentioned. It runs on Linux (among others) so you can have that completely gui-less, and then the VE's (Virtual Environments) it runs are gui-less as well. However, the VEs are pretty much full on machines. So it sounds like it would be a perfect solution, and it's free :)
 
Top