Closet Datacenter Project

Greatone123

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2006
Messages
1,293
Not really a data center but it sounded nice didn't it? I've posted a few pics in the Network thread but some other people in other threads have asked if I'd make a work log so I figured I would.


Background:

Room was just a extra bedroom, so i turned into a small work area and put my server rack in there:

DSC_0428.jpg


There wasn't anything wrong with it, or where it was, I was just wanting to do something different. I actually saw the idea here, I think it was in the 10TB+ thread I saw someone do it, so I took the idea and tried my own thing.


Enter storage closet:

DSC_0480.jpg



Cleaned it out, made my drops:

DSC_0505.jpg


Patched it all up, I only have 8 data connections and 3 phone so I got a 16 port panel used 1/2 for data the other side I used for the my own phone lines.

DSC_0507.jpg


DSC_0300.jpg



Got a few switches up, temporary, I'll swap those out cause I need them for other things later.

DSC_0509.jpg



The closet was bigger then I thought... so.. why not? second rack! + I got the small ups for the network and it looks a mess right now.

DSC_0309.jpg



The 24 port netgear will replace the 2216 Dell, and the other dell is POE, don't know if I'll use it or not, it was given to me but is loud as crap and I don't really think I'll need POE either.

DSC_0310.jpg



I plan on putting most of the network and small systems on the silver rack, and the file servers and larger systems on the black rack. right now I just have a shelf supporting the rear, but I've got another smaller 2 post I'll put in the back to support the heaver cases like the 4020.

DSC_0311.jpg



The Norco 4020 almost didn't fit! It still has a few inches to spare so cable won't get stressed I'll use a 90 degree power cable and everything should be alright.

DSC_0313.jpg





What my plans are:

I'm hoping to run a some VMs with Hyper-V server 2008 R2, and for storage use FreeBSD and ZFS for iSCSI targets for everything. If everything goes as planned, I shouldn't have to spend anything on software just hardware.

The VMs I run will be for others, and as a deal to run there stuff for them they get to purchase the windows license for the VM and I'll run it for them.

With all of this also, I've never gotten to mess with vlans or anything like that so I'd like to start learning all that.
 

Greatone123

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2006
Messages
1,293
I'll most likely put vents in the top of the closet. I don't know what other options I'll have besides that, I figure it wouldn't be the best idea to vent it back into the room cause it would just circulate the hot air.
 

xphil3

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
1,212
dude, this could looks really slick when you're done if you do it right and it looks like you're already off to a nice start!

as for ventilation, if you're on the second floor I would get two top-mount(high CFM) rack fans and pipe some large ducting and run it into the attic. Heat shouldn't be an issue up there as you're not increasing it substantially.

looks good so far though man!
 

Greatone123

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2006
Messages
1,293
I was looking around to see if I could find a high CFM like 250MM or something like that, if they are always on I should have to worry about any bugs or anything getting in would I from the attic?
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2006
Messages
540
I was looking around to see if I could find a high CFM like 250MM or something like that, if they are always on I should have to worry about any bugs or anything getting in would I from the attic?

http://www.google.com/products?q=bathroom+exhaust+fans

I'd get one of the high CFM ones and use that. It's covered too so you don't have to worry as much about stuff going through it. I use one in my networking closet and it's been good.
 

slayer9019

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
1,599
Just like others said a bathroom fan exhausting outside (1st floor) or attic (2nd floor) would be an awesome idea. Right now I am running into the same problem due to my networking "closet" being in a non-ac room. I was actually going to get a dedicated window AC unit pumping in air through some conduit.
 

Greatone123

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2006
Messages
1,293
Patched the 2 racks together.

DSC_0319.jpg


DSC_0320.jpg


replaced the 24 port netgear with a 16 up top so I could use the 24 else where. and put in the other 24 port down below. All my current networking stuff uses 12 - 15 % of my 500va UPS

DSC_0322.jpg


I got another UPS from newegg in, had it on sale and free shipping.. I can see why it's free, 1 came fine the other not so.

DSC_0318.jpg



I wish I could say he was into what's in the box... instead of the box it's self...

DSC_0332.jpg
 

Adam

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Messages
1,592
Whats above you in the closet, attic or 2nd floor. If its an attic your set. Drill a hole, exhaust fan... then put an exhaust fan pulling air in from the bottom of the floor near the "door" if you have a door
 

Brak710

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
1,424
Whats above you in the closet, attic or 2nd floor. If its an attic your set. Drill a hole, exhaust fan... then put an exhaust fan pulling air in from the bottom of the floor near the "door" if you have a door

An exhaust fan can pretty much beat your home AC/Heater unit at keeping air in the house. Might not be such a good idea unless the racks are isolated from the rest of the house.
 

Greatone123

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2006
Messages
1,293
they arent isolated at all, thats why i havent done anythig major yet cause i dont want to screw up our AC. During the winter we dont run the heater so it wouldnt be an issue then.... but texas summer sucks
Posted via [H] Mobile Device
 

omi

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 6, 2002
Messages
253
Network porn right here... hahaha. Wish i have the money and time to play with something like this. Awsome setup by the way. Please keep us update on your progress.
 

NTAuthourity

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Messages
147
I love the way that you are able to utilize this closet space so well. Very nicely, Neatly done. If anything why not crack the dell open and hot-wire the fans to a few resistors :) POE phones or access points in the plans maybe?
 

Greatone123

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2006
Messages
1,293
i would like to try some poe stuff out just not sure where to start on that stuff.

current status, working with a customer to find out how much resources his sofware is going to require. my first group of customers when this project is finished will all be running the same stuff. That way i can shape the first few servers for them while i get in money to work out the rest of the hardware.

currently he running it on xp home a intel e8400 utilizing maybe 10% or 15% and 1gb of ram.
Posted via [H] Mobile Device
 

edicwhun

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 30, 2006
Messages
93
How do you like that CyberPower UPS? I'm contemplating buying one based on your setup.
 

Greatone123

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2006
Messages
1,293
So for so good, I've had 2 power outages for random reasons in my area/house since I've had and it's kept everything up and going during that time.



yea yea... took a long time, I hate punching cable so I put it off for a LONG time...

DSC_0333.jpg


DSC_0336.jpg


DSC_0335.jpg


DSC_0338.jpg


DSC_0337.jpg


DSC_0340.jpg


random

DSC_0324.jpg



One of my smaller racks, I'll put in the back of the #2 rack for rear support for the larger cases like the 4020 and whatever else I throw over there.

DSC_0339.jpg


To help with time lapse of the project... still in the box...

DSC_0346.jpg


DSC_0344.jpg
 

NTAuthourity

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Messages
147
Looks sweet man well done on the panels especially...Can i Have your cat? lol jk Why do you hate punching cable? It is better and more fun than doing jacks..frack don't get me started on individual jacks...:)
 

Berg0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2005
Messages
1,038
Looks sweet man well done on the panels especially...Can i Have your cat? lol jk Why do you hate punching cable? It is better and more fun than doing jacks..frack don't get me started on individual jacks...:)

unloaded patch panels FTW! I usually run SC fiber inline couplers in my patch panels in each rack, love it. Also color code keystones
 

MrGuvernment

Fully [H]
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
20,884
looking awsome, but i would of made it flush so i could close a door over it and poof! all hidden :D
 

Greatone123

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2006
Messages
1,293
Would look nice but I can imagin someone closingthat door and killing my gear's airflow lol
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2010
Messages
30
Okay I have to ask.

Why all the patch panels?

Silver Rack 2x 24 Port
Black Rack 1x 24 port, 1x 48 port

Looks like you have the 48 port connected to one of the 24 ports

And not to be a pest AFAIK the network cable is not supposed to free hang after it's punched down, that's the reason for the little white brackets.
 

Greatone123

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2006
Messages
1,293
Bytecc cables and trendnet panels. Atleast till I start having issues with them.


I always thought as long as their weight is supported its ok. I never let the punches support the weight of the cables. Ignore the 24 on the black rack. I only have the 48 run to the 24's connected. I already had the 24's so I just used those instead of buying another 48.
 

aaronearles

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 31, 2006
Messages
2,016
And not to be a pest AFAIK the network cable is not supposed to free hang after it's punched down, that's the reason for the little white brackets.

Looks fine the way it's supported shortly after, it's really hard to bundle all those cables through the white channels, they're just not big enough for that many cables.

Atleast till I start having issues with them.

lol, that was my thought until I got to the end of your sentence, I've never used a trendnet panel though so I don't have a real opinion.

(edit) I guess I lied, I just looked and my 24 port is a trendnet, it's been troublefree...
 
Last edited:

Greatone123

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2006
Messages
1,293
Couple More:

1 panel connected to switch, yellow will be external traffic, I haven't desided on internal traffic color yet.
DSC_0347.jpg


Small rack in place, 4020 in place, dunno if I like orange or not...
DSC_0348.jpg
 

Greatone123

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2006
Messages
1,293
Where do all the CAT5 wires in the yellow patched trendnet panel go?

Do you have 24 computers?

To the switch :-p

And no I don't, ya never know, virtual machines... teaming...

I just like the look of a full panel... it would look silly with only 1 or 2 wires... or well none since its not even in use yet.

I have no clue what im doing... I have no technical background, no certifications, no degrees, but hey it helps me fit in right?
 

Red Squirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,211
Awesome. That's inspiring, once I have the money I want to do something similar in my basement. I'm actually going to be building a room dedicated for my server/network equipment. 2x4's, drywall, copper wire, electrical items like plugs, all cheap. Then I checked the price of racks. My jaw dropped.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2010
Messages
30
Awesome. That's inspiring, once I have the money I want to do something similar in my basement. I'm actually going to be building a room dedicated for my server/network equipment. 2x4's, drywall, copper wire, electrical items like plugs, all cheap. Then I checked the price of racks. My jaw dropped.

You don't have to get a full rack, you can get telcom racks like Greatone123 or just the rails and build your own.

My eventual plan is to have a rack of some sort, with a dedicated server to handle file storage and reliability and a switch and a patch panel.
 
Last edited:

Red Squirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,211
You don't have to get a full rack, you can get telcom racks like Greatone123 or just the rails and build your own.

My eventual plan is to have a rack of some sort, with a dedicated server to handle file storage and reliability and a switch and a patch panel.

Yeah I will probably get the rails to build my own. Actually looking forward to it but don't quite have the money/tools yet.
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
If you're gonna start running cables, you may as well go all the way. I have 16 ports of my 24 port switch occupied and only two desktops in my house.

I hear ya there on that ONE lol! I have a few computers mainly wireless, but lots of the ports i have are used all up, different devices and such!
 

Greatone123

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2006
Messages
1,293
Not including network gear cables n stuff. I spent about $50 on wood and the racks all together lol
 

3one5

Gawd
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
579
What is on the other side of the closets back wall? It would drive me nuts not having access to the back of the servers.
 

Greatone123

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2006
Messages
1,293
there is enough room to get behind most things, I plan on using mostly shallow cases to help maximize it... the room behind it is just my room with my other PCs, gaming and whatnot.


with the heat and noise I figured I'd leave the wall, at one point I wanted to have a rack walk through... female of the house declined my idea tho... >.> damn
 

3one5

Gawd
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
579
there is enough room to get behind most things, I plan on using mostly shallow cases to help maximize it... the room behind it is just my room with my other PCs, gaming and whatnot.


with the heat and noise I figured I'd leave the wall, at one point I wanted to have a rack walk through... female of the house declined my idea tho... >.> damn

Yeah, that would be pretty slick to put a door on the other side that you could open and access everything. Just use a good commercial door or exterior insulated door and you shouldn't hear anything.
 

techguy101

n00b
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
62
Hey Greatone123, great thread!

Do you mind me asking whats going on here? Are you just patching the telephone line to all those ports on the patch panel?

How are you handling the distribution of the phone line on the other side?

Cheers!

DSC_0300.jpg
 
Top