Can't enter bios after enabling super fast boot

biggles

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 25, 2005
Messages
2,200
On the Gigabyte motherboard (see sig) enabled ultra fast boot. Now can't enter bios at startup. Is there a way to do this without having to reset the CMOS?

Desktop PC is booting in 35-40 seconds vs 15 for the laptop. Was tinkering with settings to see if desktop boot could be as fast. Both are running very fast nvme ssd's.
 
D

Deleted member 126051

Guest
Pull your boot drive or boot the machine with your finger already deperessing the BIOS select button (whatever it is).
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
21,138
Are you using UEFI? Windows has a function that will let you reach your UEFI settings via the recovery menu.
 

biggles

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 25, 2005
Messages
2,200
https://www.thewindowsclub.com/check-if-uefi-or-bios
I ran msinfo32 and under bios mode it says legacy. According to this article that means not UEFI. Is this because my Gigabyte motherboard is not compatible with UEFI? Or is there a way to switch the system to a UEFI setup? UEFI sounds like a better solution with faster boots, better security, and a list of other advantages. And perhaps that is why the laptop (MSI Dominator G, model GT72s, purchased 2016) boots so much faster.
 

Woot910

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
66
Pull the cmos battery to reset BIOS to default, then start over without enabling Fast Boot.
 

owcraftsman

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
1,058
You need to use the Gigabyte "Fast Boot" app to enter bios when the fast boot is enabled in the bios. It boots the system directly into the bios when clicking the "Enter bios setup Now" tab in the app. The problem with such schemes is when overclocking and running stress test that freeze windows and you need to enter bios to make changes but can't open the app. I have used MSI's fast boot in the past and no longer use it becasue it becomes a pain. Honestly, I track my startups with Aida64 that shows my startup time at every boot and the difference between fast boot and standard if -2 to -6 seconds making the hassel not worth it.
 

Tsumi

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
13,554
Hold shift when pressing restart -> troubleshooting -> advanced options -> UEFI settings.
 
  • Like
Reactions: djoye
like this

Jeff G

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2017
Messages
226
Gigabyte boards usually boot to standard slow boot mode if they loose power during use too. Otherwise, a cmos clear is the best option.
 

biggles

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 25, 2005
Messages
2,200
I ended up removing the battery to reset the cmos. Thanks for all the advice everyone.
 

Jeff G

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2017
Messages
226
I ended up removing the battery to reset the cmos. Thanks for all the advice everyone.
What board do you have? Might be an easier way to clear cmos in the future, other than pulling the battery.
 

biggles

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 25, 2005
Messages
2,200
What board do you have? Might be an easier way to clear cmos in the future, other than pulling the battery.
Z97X-SLI rev 1.0 (see signature). Yes, there is another way to do this, you can connect two pins on the board with a piece of metal for 5 seconds (they recommend a screwdriver). Might be easier if this happened again in the future. I had to remove the video card in order to get the battery out. The alternative method would not require hardware removal.
 

Jeff G

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2017
Messages
226
Z97X-SLI rev 1.0 (see signature). Yes, there is another way to do this, you can connect two pins on the board with a piece of metal for 5 seconds (they recommend a screwdriver). Might be easier if this happened again in the future. I had to remove the video card in order to get the battery out. The alternative method would not require hardware removal.
They have jumpers to put across them too, just slide it over the pins. It's a tiny little black piece that just connects the pins.
(Mobile platform doesnt show signature, so i do appologise for not seeing that)
 

Tsumi

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
13,554
Windows 10 has a special restart menu that allows you to get into UEFI. I suggest trying that method if you can boot into Windows rather than resetting the CMOS.
 

biggles

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 25, 2005
Messages
2,200
Windows 10 has a special restart menu that allows you to get into UEFI. I suggest trying that method if you can boot into Windows rather than resetting the CMOS.
Yes indeed. However, it only works if you are running UEFI, not when running legacy BIOS as was the case here. The computer has since been converted from UEFI to BIOS.
 
Top