Battlefield 2042

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
19,563
I just tried the beta and something is up with my system. fire button seems to be stuck. restarted the game a few times and no dice.
 

criccio

Fully Equipped
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
13,977
Helis are OP, there's nowhere to hide. Infinite rockets rain down. You would think after four that's it, nope. They keep coming until you die.
In the technical preview weekend it was so, so much worse. The rockets would refill/recharge about 4-5 times faster so it truly was unlimited. Never had a reason to switch to the cannon.

My aim on MnK with the minigun is.. poor, but I'm' sure it'll get better. Yaw sensitivity is the real problem, I'll have to remember to go and look if I can tune that specifically for the scout heli.
 

Chris_B

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 29, 2001
Messages
5,282
In the technical preview weekend it was so, so much worse. The rockets would refill/recharge about 4-5 times faster so it truly was unlimited. Never had a reason to switch to the cannon.

Which makes me wonder what they're smoking at dice if at some point they needed player feedback to tell them infinite missile barrages from above was OP. You'd have thought common sense would prevail there, but they needed to be told....:confused:
 

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,689
Which makes me wonder what they're smoking at dice if at some point they needed player feedback to tell them infinite missile barrages from above was OP. You'd have thought common sense would prevail there, but they needed to be told....:confused:
Why assume they needed player feedback? I think the test was mostly for servers anyway cause it was full of issues. the frame rate was capped at 30, do you think they needed player feedback to tell them to uncap it?

that being said, they were smoking something when they were making bf5.
 
Last edited:

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
19,563
Remap the button

that is the first thing I tried.
It seems to have something to do with the controller settings, I don't use a controller so I went ahead and unbound every controller setting and now it works fine.
 

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,689
that is the first thing I tried.
It seems to have something to do with the controller settings, I don't use a controller so I went ahead and unbound every controller setting and now it works fine.
do you have a joystick or controller connected to your pc?
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,544
This is my biggest gripe so far is the flight model / physics being in aircraft being taken yet one step further to arcade/CoD, which I didn't think was possible. Particularly felt in the Heli's like the Scout- like there's no weight to it and it just turns and yaws instantly like gravity doesn't exist.

Flight model in BF2 was widely considered excellent, had some deep learning curves that rewarded your time, but then with each iteration BF3 -> BF4 the flight model was watered down further, and BF2042 no exception. Admittedly I'm a heli/jet whore, and I realize this isn't going to matter to most players.

Yeah the vehicles are awful in MW 2019. I never bothered getting into their BF style game mode because of it. If BF 2042 ends up being like that it would be a huge downgrade.
 

Chris_B

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 29, 2001
Messages
5,282
Why assume they needed player feedback?

Because dice have proved time and time again they're utterly clueless. It took years for dice to stop grenade spam by finally removing them from ammo packs, every time they release a new game it's like they start from a blank canvas and things learned from feedback in previous games get chucked out the window and they have to address the same issues over again. Some issues like prone spamming, adad spamming etc date back to battlefield 2 yet on just about every release you see a ton of complaints about it in their forums. So it wouldn't surprise me in the least if they thought infinite rocket barrage was a non issue.
 
Last edited:

WorldExclusive

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
11,419
Because dice have proved time and time again they're utterly clueless. It took years for dice to stop grenade spam by finally removing them from ammo packs, every time they release a new game it's like they start from a blank canvas and things learned from feedback in previous games get chucked out the window and they have to address the same issues over again. Some issues like prone spamming, adad spamming etc date back to battlefield 2 yet on just about every release you see a ton of compaints about it in their forums. So it wouldn't surprise me in the least if they thought infinite rocket barrage was a non issue.
Sliding is the new bunny hop.... Find a hill, jump and crouch before you land and you will slide at high speed.
Jump slide jump, whatever combo you can come up with. Infinite running speed including up hills without a loss of speed.

Lastly, you can jump gates with a full loadout with ease like a gold medal gymnast, with minimal loss of speed.
 

Chris_B

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 29, 2001
Messages
5,282
Sliding is the new bunny hop.... Find a hill, jump and crouch before you land and you will slide at high speed.
Jump slide jump, whatever combo you can come up with. Infinite running speed including up hills without a loss of speed.

Lastly, you can jump gates with a full loadout with ease like a gold medal gymnast, with minimal loss of speed.

And they've made it even easier to slide, just tap crouch when sprinting so you see almost everyone doing it. Do they just see cod putting dumb features like this in and go "we have to have that"? In BFV there was plenty of talk that it fucked with hit detection as well, so what do dice do? Put it into the next game as well. :censored:
 

THUMPer

2[H]4U
Joined
May 6, 2008
Messages
3,924
every time I die, my load out is reset to guns default. I have to add in the grip each time I respawn. anyone else?
 

Vega

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
6,903
Sliding is the new bunny hop.... Find a hill, jump and crouch before you land and you will slide at high speed.
Jump slide jump, whatever combo you can come up with. Infinite running speed including up hills without a loss of speed.

Lastly, you can jump gates with a full loadout with ease like a gold medal gymnast, with minimal loss of speed.

I love how DICE copy the worst aspects of COD. Jesus fucking christ.
 

Zorachus

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
10,194
The sliding thing is so stupid. And wish there were servers with no sniper weapons allowed
 

Snappshoota

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 8, 2005
Messages
1,977
every time I die, my load out is reset to guns default. I have to add in the grip each time I respawn. anyone else?
I only have that with the AK. everything is else fine


The sliding thing is so stupid. And wish there were servers with no sniper weapons allowed
Its only the "beta". Pretty sure once its released their will be server mods for how many Snipers / etc
 

WorldExclusive

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
11,419
The sliding thing is so stupid. And wish there were servers with no sniper weapons allowed
You can slide on any surface, dense forest no problerm.....six flags.
It's not an arcade sim anymore, just full blown arcade. M5A3 is all you can use.

The tornado hitting and destroying the missile was chaos, swept up by it, I watched it from like 3000ft in the air....very cool to end the round.
 

DPI

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 20, 2013
Messages
12,197
Because dice have proved time and time again they're utterly clueless. It took years for dice to stop grenade spam by finally removing them from ammo packs, every time they release a new game it's like they start from a blank canvas and things learned from feedback in previous games get chucked out the window and they have to address the same issues over again. Some issues like prone spamming, adad spamming etc date back to battlefield 2 yet on just about every release you see a ton of complaints about it in their forums. So it wouldn't surprise me in the least if they thought infinite rocket barrage was a non issue.
This post by couldn't be more right when considering all the past titles - they would spend months or years really refining and balancing things to where most people were pretty happy with the game in the later part of its lifespan, then a new Battlefield comes out and reshuffles the entire fucking deck; back to square one.

That said, if there's one constant it is that anything that craps on infantry too hard will be neutered, and rightly so since its their bread and butter part of the playerbase.
 
Last edited:

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,544
Is it me or does this have a BF3 style blue filter on? So far haven't gotten into a match that wasn't completely laggy.

And does anyone know how to turn off the blur when using scopes? I must've ticked a setting because I now see an annoying blur when looking down scopes. Wasn't there initially.

Started like this:
Battlefield 2042 Screenshot 2021.10.08 - 19.40.02.63.png

Ended up looking like this after I clicked something:
Battlefield 2042 Screenshot 2021.10.08 - 19.42.06.88.png


Also seems like there is a bad fisheye effect with FOV at 75 or 80 which is what I typically set all FPS games to.
 
Last edited:

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,544
I go to 70+ as well and it's very strong. It kind of forces you to go lower, but then it feels like playing on console.

Yeah I can't really play it at normal FOVs. Makes me a bit dizzy.

Flight controls are all messed up by default, will see if I can remap it to be workable. A and D yaw, that should be roll. Come on DICE, it feels like armature hour and you slapped on a helicopter for a vehicle section in an on rails section in an SP game. They're mixing the stick and the pedals into one awkward device. Or think a helicopter uses a steering wheel to turn.
 

travm

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
1,836
Yeah I can't really play it at normal FOVs. Makes me a bit dizzy.

Flight controls are all messed up by default, will see if I can remap it to be workable. A and D yaw, that should be roll. Come on DICE, it feels like armature hour and you slapped on a helicopter for a vehicle section in an on rails section in an SP game. They're mixing the stick and the pedals into one awkward device. Or think a helicopter uses a steering wheel to turn.
A and D have always been yaw... mouse or arrow keys roll. Its literally always been that way.
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,544
A and D have always been yaw... mouse or arrow keys roll. Its literally always been that way.

You're right, I just checked BF4. Controls are still the same. At first it seemed like W and S were pitch but those are arrow keys. I'm getting bad lag every match which makes messing around harder. Finally got into one match that wasn't too bad. I think there is a bit of a difference in how the camera reacts to rolling, will check it out.

The tanks still seem fun but wondering how the upgrades will work. It seems like the tanks guns don't have the same elevation as before but it actually seems realistic. Kind of a pain though. So many times I couldn't aim up on roof tops or to shoot at helicopters. But mostly similar to what I expect, and it was still fun to use.
 
  • Like
Reactions: travm
like this

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
19,563
I noticed that GPU usage is like 100% while on the loading screens. My system is pulling 550 watts on the menu screen before I click play to join the server and ranges between 450 and 550 while playing.
 

criccio

Fully Equipped
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
13,977
I noticed that GPU usage is like 100% while on the loading screens. My system is pulling 550 watts on the menu screen before I click play to join the server and ranges between 450 and 550 while playing.
Set a framerate limit in NVCP or whatever the AMD version is called these days.
 

WorldExclusive

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
11,419
I mean...that's enough time I put in. I give the game a D+/C- for a beta. They didn't give us anything close to the retail game so what's the point of releasing this?
Anyway, I got it on GamePass so no dedicated funds for this game. I just don't think the game with it's current theme will get me to put in 300+ hours like BF3.

Lastly, I experienced a glitch at the loadout screen. All the character skins were visible from past BF games, about 8 of them. It happened right at the beta launch.
 
Top