ARECA Owner's Thread (SAS/SATA RAID Cards)

KnickKnack

n00b
Joined
Mar 16, 2022
Messages
2
Good point! Thanks! I forgot about URE risk at such a high drive capacity. Hasn't been something to concern me coming from 3TB drives. Think I'm safe enough 5-disk RAID-6? Or should I drop more capacity and go RAID-10? Actually, right after posting here I found a Supermicro CSE-846 bare-bones on eBay and bought it. Now I'm pivoting my plans from a Windows SMB share to perhaps TrueNAS or UnRAID, or something. Gonna find out if my ARC-1680 works in a Supermicro MB-X9DRI-LN4F+ (or whatever mobo I get). I already snagged a Supermicro BPN-SAS-846A a while back. This backplane has 6x SFF-8087 so I expect it to pair up nicely with the ARC-1680 (I've never used expanders so I don't know if a backplane with expanders could be a problem).
 

arnemetis

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
4,001
Good point! Thanks! I forgot about URE risk at such a high drive capacity. Hasn't been something to concern me coming from 3TB drives. Think I'm safe enough 5-disk RAID-6? Or should I drop more capacity and go RAID-10? Actually, right after posting here I found a Supermicro CSE-846 bare-bones on eBay and bought it. Now I'm pivoting my plans from a Windows SMB share to perhaps TrueNAS or UnRAID, or something. Gonna find out if my ARC-1680 works in a Supermicro MB-X9DRI-LN4F+ (or whatever mobo I get). I already snagged a Supermicro BPN-SAS-846A a while back. This backplane has 6x SFF-8087 so I expect it to pair up nicely with the ARC-1680 (I've never used expanders so I don't know if a backplane with expanders could be a problem).
Myself I would still go with raid 6, but just be aware it might just fail during a rebuild twice in a row. As long as you have a backup plan in place, you can always recover. I've been wanting a 846 for a while too, I never seem to catch them.
 

dir

n00b
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
2
Problem: I get a segmentation fault on ubuntu when running archttp64, but only when my config is set to use gmail for smtp. If I configure it to use my local server's smtp, it works fine.
I thought after all these years I'd know the correct values to use for gmail smtp, but perhaps I'm getting it wrong.
I have app passwords set in google so each application has it's own password.
Could someone look over this and tell me where I'm getting it wrong, or post their own archttpsrv.conf?

Code:
[GENERAL]
HTTPPort=81
SMTPPort=587  (I've also tried 465)
SMTPS=YES  (I've tried with and without this line)
BindingIp=0.0.0.0
ScanPci=YES
ScanRs232=NO
ScanInband=NO
ConnInfo=YES
EventLog=events.log

[MAIL]
Server=smtp.gmail.com
Sender=intheback@gmail.com
SenderMail=intheback@gmail.com
Account=intheback@gmail.com
Password=xxxxyyyyzzzzaaaa  (The 16-character password google accounts created for this app)
MailToName1=admin
MailToName2=
MailToName3=
MailToName4=
MailAddr1=intheback@gmail.com


The following works fine:
Code:
[GENERAL]
HTTPPort=81
SMTPPort=25
BindingIp=0.0.0.0
ScanPci=YES
ScanRs232=NO
ScanInband=NO
ConnInfo=NO
EventLog=events.log

[MAIL]
Server=192.168.1.20
Sender=root
SenderMail=root
Account=root
MailToName1=admin
MailToName2=
MailToName3=
MailToName4=
MailAddr1=root
 

dir

n00b
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
2
Regarding google's use of 'use less secure apps'? I've tried it with all possible combos (I think). Port 25, 465, and 587, with SMTPS=YES and SMTPS=NO.
Fundamentally, the app shouldn't really be crashing with no error and a segmentation fault. The app runs fine unless it needs to do something useful like send me a message that a fault has occurred, at which point it segmentation faults.
I'm assuming that others are running this OK on their linux systems. I've narrowed it down to the [MAIL] section of the config, so all I really need is to see someone else's archttpsrv.conf that is hopefully using gmail. That should immediately tell me what the difference is and hopefully I can get mine running.
 

Snowknight26

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
4,423
I'm assuming that others are running this OK on their linux systems. I've narrowed it down to the [MAIL] section of the config, so all I really need is to see someone else's archttpsrv.conf that is hopefully using gmail. That should immediately tell me what the difference is and hopefully I can get mine running.

From a Windows system but working nevertheless:
Code:
[GENERAL]
HTTPPort=81
SMTPPort=465
BindingIp=0.0.0.0
ScanPci=YES
ScanRs232=NO
ScanInband=NO
ConnInfo=NO
HTTPS=NO
SMTPS=YES

[MAIL]
Server=smtp.gmail.com
Sender=
SenderMail=xxxx@gmail.com
Account=xxxx@gmail.com
Password=xxxx
MailToName1=
MailToName2=
MailToName3=
MailToName4=
MailAddr1=xxxx@gmail.com
MailAddr2=
MailAddr3=
MailAddr4=
EvtLevel=2
NotifyForNoEvent=NO
EvtLevel2=0
NotifyForNoEvent2=NO
EvtLevel3=0
NotifyForNoEvent3=NO
EvtLevel4=0
NotifyForNoEvent4=NO
 

Gethin

n00b
Joined
Nov 20, 2017
Messages
13
I have a 1223 8i, (pcie 2x8). I just found out the pcie slot on my new board is an x16 but in X4 mode. Anyone know if it'll work?
 

mwroobel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
5,123
It will work fine but the link will be half as fast as the board is capable of. Depending on the types of drives you have connected it may or may not be a limiting factor in transfer speeds.
 

Gethin

n00b
Joined
Nov 20, 2017
Messages
13
It will work fine but the link will be half as fast as the board is capable of. Depending on the types of drives you have connected it may or may not be a limiting factor in transfer speeds.
thanks! I gave it a punt and its working. I have 2 raid 5's with 4 drives each. Seems to get me about 400mb/sec read which seems pretty good I think.
 

Gethin

n00b
Joined
Nov 20, 2017
Messages
13
new question: windows 11 - on resume from sleep the raid had disappeared. Is there a way around this?
 

D-EJ915

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
1,688
new question: windows 11 - on resume from sleep the raid had disappeared. Is there a way around this?
It could be an issue with pcie power down, if your bios lets you disable it on the slot it's in you could try that and see if it has any effect. There would be the issue with that is it will get pretty hot with no airflow.
 
Top