AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX & 2950X Unboxing @ [H]

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
54,107
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX & 2950X Unboxing

AMD is allowing us to pull back the curtain on it upcoming Generation 2 Threadripper packaging. The new model 2900WX and 2950X CPUs will certainly not be missed on retail shelves and this time the CPUs have a sort of "collector's case" for those of us enthusiasts that like to display such things. It also works a lot better than it did last time around.

If you like our content, please support HardOCP on Patreon.
 
Last edited:

Bigdady92

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
5,767
Must resist ... must resist ... must R-E-S-I-S-T ...

The e-peen is strong in this one. :)

I'd need to drop 2500 at least on this monster.

CPU/RAM/MOBO/Video card

The longer I can hold out the cheaper this will become and then I can buy a bigger/better video card.

Shit forgot NVME drive. How much is a 1TB NVME anyway? 299...not bad.

So yeah....2500$
 

MrC4

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
1,664
Bummer we have to wait a week to see how it performs!
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,232
that case/box looks a whole lot easier and simplier to open/re-use then the first one.. good to see AMD learned from that oversight.
 

mjz_5

2[H]4U
Joined
May 24, 2001
Messages
3,637
What happens if the motherboard you purchase doesn’t have the new BIOS update for the TR2 chips. How would you update it when you only have a TR2 CPU?
 

Nobu

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
8,847
What happens if the motherboard you purchase doesn’t have the new BIOS update for the TR2 chips. How would you update it when you only have a TR2 CPU?
Send to manufacturer for update, or buy an older chip flash and return it, or (on motherboards that support it) perform a usb flash without the cpu installed.
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
54,107
What happens if the motherboard you purchase doesn’t have the new BIOS update for the TR2 chips. How would you update it when you only have a TR2 CPU?
Last time around AMD offered a "flash kit" for those in that situation.
 

N4CR

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
4,948
Hnnnng! Very nice.
They review kit will look good on the wall, can't deny i'm a little jealous!
Looking forward to [H]review heaven.
 

AthlonXP

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
20,507
Man that is some sexy packaging... Sadly I just do not need all those Cores but for someone who does this is a great deal.
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
54,107
LOL, I just bought this for funsies.

81QaWOW0luL._SL1500_.jpg
 

meganuke

n00b
Joined
Aug 31, 2017
Messages
33
Kyle, I hope you will cover backwards compatibility with the existing TR4 boards. I know the TDP is different, but rumors have suggested that the new processors may work with current boards. I'd like to know if my Gigabyte Aorus board will support the sexy 32 core goodness...
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
54,107
Kyle, I hope you will cover backwards compatibility with the existing TR4 boards. I know the TDP is different, but rumors have suggested that the new processors may work with current boards. I'd like to know if my Gigabyte Aorus board will support the sexy 32 core goodness...
No rumor about it. Almost like I mentioned this twice in the video you are commenting on. :)
 

jfreund

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
1,483
I have one of those - for making beer:). A counter-flow chiller works much better, but that's essentially a second loop.
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
54,107
I have one of those - for making beer:). A counter-flow chiller works much better, but that's essentially a second loop.
Yeah, this is much easier to dump into a 5 gallon bucket of brine solution though.
 

gigaxtreme1

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2002
Messages
3,577
I have one of those - for making beer:). A counter-flow chiller works much better, but that's essentially a second loop.
Hold on chief, mebe bohemian style fire brewed might make a winner. Threadripper beer....Hmmmm.
 
Last edited:

Chebsy

Gawd
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
523
WOW, 32C/64T with a 4.2GHz max Boost clock, and according to some sites who have released an AMD cimemark benchmark comparing it to an i9 7980XE, it is 53% faster than the i9 for $200 less. Sounds like a winner to me.
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2017
Messages
42
Kyle, I hope you will cover backwards compatibility with the existing TR4 boards. I know the TDP is different, but rumors have suggested that the new processors may work with current boards. I'd like to know if my Gigabyte Aorus board will support the sexy 32 core goodness...

The new TR chips will work in all existing X399 motherboards (I'm certainly putting a 2990wx in my Aurous), however, due to the higher TDP, overclocking may be very limited or even non existent. But if they get XFR2 working in the same way as the 2700x, overclocking might be a mute pount anyway.
 

Iratus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
1,574
Excited but also damn it's happening, shame ram is so expensive I feel I need to take out shares in crucial before buying.


I really want 32gb dimms but I can almost get 2 full systems loaded with 16s for the same price.
 

Nytegard

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
3,735
Excited but also damn it's happening, shame ram is so expensive I feel I need to take out shares in crucial before buying.


I really want 32gb dimms but I can almost get 2 full systems loaded with 16s for the same price.

Fortunately, you won't need new RAM. I'm going to strip out 64 GB from this system to use with the 2990wx system. The good news is, I have pretty much every part I need except for the processor and MB, so that's going to save a ton of money. Now I'm just waiting for the refresh boards to come out.
 

Iratus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
1,574
Fortunately, you won't need new RAM. I'm going to strip out 64 GB from this system to use with the 2990wx system. The good news is, I have pretty much every part I need except for the processor and MB, so that's going to save a ton of money. Now I'm just waiting for the refresh boards to come out.

Sadly It's replacing a pretty old box, ddr3 etc. I've just been spending money on cloud workloads to do what I need instead but that is heaps expensive and needing hz and cores made Xeons batshit crazy expensive for the sort of spec I wanted. Like $30k for the machine. Couldn't get a ROI in time for these coming.


At least I do finally get a use for my warranty replacement seasonic 1000 Platinum that's sat shrink wrapped under a desk for a year though. It'll actually need it as I start adding v100s as well.

Now to go do my research that optane as a system/scratch disk works properly on AMD.

And where's the Epycs with these cores AMD, get on with it :D
 

Grimlaking

2[H]4U
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
3,246
Sadly It's replacing a pretty old box, ddr3 etc. I've just been spending money on cloud workloads to do what I need instead but that is heaps expensive and needing hz and cores made Xeons batshit crazy expensive for the sort of spec I wanted. Like $30k for the machine. Couldn't get a ROI in time for these coming.


At least I do finally get a use for my warranty replacement seasonic 1000 Platinum that's sat shrink wrapped under a desk for a year though. It'll actually need it as I start adding v100s as well.

Now to go do my research that optane as a system/scratch disk works properly on AMD.

And where's the Epycs with these cores AMD, get on with it :D

Do you mean core count? Because Epyc's have had 32 core single socket solutions for a while now.
 

oldmanbal

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 27, 2010
Messages
2,613
now that's some juicy cpu porn. Apparently the size of your HEDT cpu packaging is the new dick measuring standard.

I'm still recovering from buying my 1900X :cry:

At least your board may allow an upgrade. . .
 
Top