AMD Drivers

travm

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
1,385
I don't speak english, I use a translator.
Maybe that's why something turns out stupid, if i didn't use a translator it would turn out even stupider.
I don't believe that a translator translated anything to "stupider" is your translator a physical person?
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
32,840
I don't believe that a translator translated anything to "stupider" is your translator a physical person?
maybe, websters nows says its a real word along with stupidest. but you know how they like to redefine words...
 

travm

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
1,385
I know but I played with Google translate for a bit, I could get stupider to translate to other words, but then those words back to English always was something else that made sense, like more stupid, or very stupid.
 

crazycrave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
1,136
I know but I played with Google translate for a bit, I could get stupider to translate to other words, but then those words back to English always was something else that made sense, like more stupid, or very stupid.
Dumb and Dumber would translate to English = Stupider
 
  • Like
Reactions: travm
like this

b1rd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2021
Messages
177
It's not my fault that people who translate from one language to another are stupid. I have nothing else to use, this is the fastest.
True literary and spoken english is from the UK and this as spoken in other countries and america is far from correct and literary.
 
Last edited:

travm

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
1,385
It's not my fault that people who translate from one language to another are stupid. I have nothing else to use, this is the fastest.
True literary and spoken english is from the UK and this as spoken in other countries and america is far from correct and literary.
its just interesting they make up words, English likely has 15 other words that meant what you wanted to say.
 

crazycrave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
1,136
I did get my wish as to see AMD testing new driver releases using all in house parts..

RS-398 – Testing conducted by AMD as of August 18, 2021 on a test system comprised of a Ryzen 9 5900X CPU, 16GB DDR4, Radeon RX 6800 XT GPU with Radeon Software Adrenalin 21.8.2 and 21.8.1 on Myst. Game tested with Medium preset at 4K with ray tracing enabled. Performance may vary
 

Furious Nerd

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
3,415
Is the power limit setting in the AMD software the same as under/overvolt? if I set to a negative value will it undervolt? I want to undervolt to reduce heat, but am not going to use 3rd party software
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
32,840
Is the power limit setting in the AMD software the same as under/overvolt? if I set to a negative value will it undervolt? I want to undervolt to reduce heat, but am not going to use 3rd party software
it should do sorta the same thing. do you not have this button:

1631228251672.png
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
32,840
But then it won't allow you to change the fan curve to your liking like it does in 'manual' mode :grumpy:
ive never tried it, you cant enable custom fan after you enable undervolt? weird. try lowering your power limit then, see what happens.
 

Furious Nerd

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
3,415
ive never tried it, you cant enable custom fan after you enable undervolt? weird. try lowering your power limit then, see what happens.
Well, I tried comparing FPS, GPU clock, GPU power and GPU temp (via the Radeon overlay) in Remnant: From the Ashes, which utilizes ~90% GPU and is relatively demanding, standing motionless in one scene. Between the default profile, undervolt, and manual with the power limit set to lowest... there were no real changes in any of those numbers. 🤡 Temps stayed the same, GPU power remained at 135W-ish, FPS remained the same, GPU clock fluctuated the same... no changes. I only tested each mode for a minute or two before switching back and forth to other modes.. maybe over the long term temps would have dropped a degree or two from the 60-62C it was at, but definitely nothing drastic happened like I was hoping, immediate -5C drop or something from undervolting, and odd that FPS or nothing else really changed.

Starting a test in Ghostrunner which uses 98% GPU. Will let it settle for 5 minutes in each mode before switching, will update.

Edit: stood in same scene in Ghostrunner, let it idle 5 minutes in each mode before taking a screenshot of the overlay. Results are here, in order I recorded them (aka heat build up in the case over 15 minutes of testing plus an additional 5 minutes of getting to the scene and letting PC warm up before starting tests):

Undervolt profile:

FPS - 178
GPU Utilization - 98%
GPU Clock - 2188 MHz
GPU Power - 189W
GPU core temp - 71C
GPU Junction temp - 93C
Fan speed - 1741 RPM

Default profile:
FPS - 179
GPU Utilization - 97%
GPU Clock - 2207 MHz
GPU Power - 200W
GPU core temp - 74C (higher, but also undervolt profile was used first, so it heated up my SFF case up before switching to default profile.)
GPU Junction temp - 98C
Fan speed - 1755 RPM

Manual with Power Limit set to -8%:
FPS - 175
GPU Utilization - 98%
GPU Clock - 2152 MHz
GPU Power - 186W
GPU core temp - 72C
GPU Junction temp - 93C
Fan speed - 1734 RPM

Based on these results it seems undervolt profile is more useful than manual with power limit, but none are really impactful to overall temps in the grand scheme of things. Granted my case is Coolermaster NR200 SFF case so heat is kept inside pretty good. Maybe in a larger case it may make more/less of a difference.
(Ryzen 5600x & 1st party AMD 6800 used)
 
Last edited:

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
32,840
Well, I tried comparing FPS, GPU clock, GPU power and GPU temp (via the Radeon overlay) in Remnant: From the Ashes, which utilizes ~90% GPU and is relatively demanding, standing motionless in one scene. Between the default profile, undervolt, and manual with the power limit set to lowest... there were no real changes in any of those numbers. 🤡 Temps stayed the same, GPU power remained at 135W-ish, FPS remained the same, GPU clock fluctuated the same... no changes.
got afterburner? it should be able to adjust the voltage, works fine on my 5700 and previous 280x/470/580.
 

crazycrave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
1,136
it should do sorta the same thing. do you not have this button:

View attachment 393566
The newest driver works for me .. I have a ref XFX RX 5700 and these were said to be built on the XT boards ..

When I hit the Overclock GPU it came back with 19% boost clock above XT bios flash settings , The biggest thing I notice was not being limited to a 180watt power level with the GPU as it raised it to a 220 watt card and now it boost to 2050Mhz in stock form (never apart) count the shader' s 2304 ..

https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details/8ne2h
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
32,840
The newest driver works for me .. I have a ref XFX RX 5700 and these were said to be built on the XT boards ..

When I hit the Overclock GPU it came back with 19% boost clock above XT bios flash settings , The biggest thing I notice was not being limited to a 180watt power level with the GPU as it raised it to a 220 watt card and now it boost to 2050Mhz in stock form (never apart) count the shader' s 2304 ..

https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details/8ne2h
nice but that has literally nothing to do with what we were talking about, undervolting.
 
Top