1366 x58 Xeon Enthusiast overclocks club

rickmig

n00b
Joined
Nov 5, 2020
Messages
8
  • I also have a question regarding the QPI/North speed. I'm using 3200Mhz as reference (and always used). Is ther eany benefict regarding SEEN performance upping this value? lets say 3400 or 3600? Keeping in mind that will probably be necessary to up the QTI/VTT voltage substantially for a minor gain??
  • Another thing that always intrigued me was if has any difference in using for ex. BCLK 200 + 20X Multi (4000Mhz) or 16B BCLK + 24X Multi (~4000Mhz) ??? Is there a benefit in using a high base clock? Or a lower is the same and have lower CPU loads at idle for instance??
Thanks :)
RicK
 
Last edited:

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
300
Nice system. With my old D14 I was able to run my X5690 @ 4300 everything stable. I could bench higher of course, but was tough getting airflow back then.. its fans were quiet and barely moved any air. Running a high bclk is preferable mainly for memory performance, and it gets the QPI up. Not only for increased reads/writes but also latency. A higher uncore is also preferable, there are differing views on max qpi vtt, but I ran 1.39v for years with my uncore @ 3600. Mostly ran 200x21 ram at 800MHz 6-6-6-20 1T 1.65v. I've got a Rampage III Formula with X5690 and a bunch of different memory. Some Hypers, BBSE, PSC, and a lil Hynix. Those ones are no fun. IIRC I had to run my IOH at about 1.25v or so once I got over 4GHz. Didn't matter if I was running a low, medium, or high bclk. YMMV of course. Make sure you check the bios now and then to make sure the voltages you set are actually what they are, some boards sag more than others in the voltage dept. Leaning towards QPI VTT and VCORE.
 

rickmig

n00b
Joined
Nov 5, 2020
Messages
8
Hi freeagentt thanks for you helpful insight!
- Regarding the Noctua D15 it's night and day from what I was used to! Now the temps are my least concern.

- I understand the higher BCLK get higher QPI and RAM speeds. That will leave me in doubt about this 2 options:
BCLK = 160 X25 Multi = 4.0 Ghz --> QPI = ~3200 --> RAM = ~1600
BLCK = 200 X21 Multi = 4.0 Ghz --> QPI = 3200 --> RAM = 1600
- Now i can use the same speeds for different BCLK's, the only gain i see is with 160 when IDLE in windows i get 1920 Mhz (160X12) because of speedstep. And with BCLK 200 I got 2400 Mhz IDLE... Well in low task I gain the lower volts/temps with the 160 BCLK. All this because I can change the settings in the BIOS for the QPI and RAM values, even with different BCLK's and Multi's.
- I don't know if this makes any sense or as some advantage/disadvantage...

- I have a feeling what you said about checking in BIOS to make sure voltages is a thing , yes. I'll be checking more often. Because sometimes the system is all good and other times restarts. it's gets some BSOD in low/medium load operations (youtube or playing). I'll try to bump the IOH also as you suggested to check it.👍

Regards,
RicK
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
300
I cant help you with that buddy, sorry. I turned off all power save stuff, no speedstep..1 clock 1 voltage. I could never get it to work right. Not like on a more modern setup. For instance, yes I could get it drop down to 1600mhz , but voltage would still be high, so in my eyes no point and a waste of time.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
30,101
I set my offset to a positive number. I had my X5660 running at 4.2Ghz with a BCLK of 200. I adjusted the RAM divider so it was at 1600Mhz. With speedstep it would drop to 2.4Ghz and maybe 1.0V and under load it would jump to 1.35V.
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
300
Lol I think I was doing it wrong :D

I don't remember what I was doing. But I will remember our little chat when I do pull my x58 out of its box again god knows when and I will figure it out.

I got it working on my Z77 no problem lol.
 

rickmig

n00b
Joined
Nov 5, 2020
Messages
8
Hi all, thanks for insight.
- Right now i've got pretty stable:
4.0 Ghz - 1.296v MAX - Vcore ( Multi X20)
BLCK = 200
Norh bridge = 3200 Mhz
QPI/RAM (VTT) = 1.25v
PLL = 1.84
IOH = 1.12
RAM (12Gb+6Gb Ripjaws)- 1600 Mhz @1.64v
LLC = Enabled

Disabled CSTATES (except Speedstep and C1E - these are ON)

  • I think it's pretty stable, run various benchmarks, as IBT very high and custom (~8000 mem ) , OCCT, played some games etc. etc. SOLID.
  • -Temps are in 60's region max, for testing. In general gaming around 50ºC to 60ºC.

  • Now some day I might wanto to try 4.2 GHz. I did little testing and did game fine @1.336 VCore , but did 1 test in IBT (high) which fail and did not try again. Maybe someone can give some ideias for that kind of overclock? Raise Vcore? VTT? PLL?

Thanks,
Best Regards,
RicK
 

rickmig

n00b
Joined
Nov 5, 2020
Messages
8
Hi all!
Well, after a few more tests I end up with the following settings:
4.0 Ghz - 1.296v - Vcore ( Multi X20) using offset voltage (+ 0.2000v)
BLCK = 200
North bridge = 3200 Mhz
QPI/RAM (VTT) = 1.225v
PLL = 1.80 (stock)
IOH = 1.10 (stock)
RAM (12Gb+6Gb Ripjaws)- 1600 Mhz @1.60v (for now - will try lower voltages)
LLC = Enabled
C-STATES all enabled + SPEEDSTEP

- Stable as it is 100%. Temps in 60ºC in CPU.
- 4.0 I think it is done. Now I might try to bump to 4.2 and see what it got for me :)

Regards,
RicK
 

ChineseStunna

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2002
Messages
393
Hi all!
Well, after a few more tests I end up with the following settings:
4.0 Ghz - 1.296v - Vcore ( Multi X20) using offset voltage (+ 0.2000v)
BLCK = 200
North bridge = 3200 Mhz
QPI/RAM (VTT) = 1.225v
PLL = 1.80 (stock)
IOH = 1.10 (stock)
RAM (12Gb+6Gb Ripjaws)- 1600 Mhz @1.60v (for now - will try lower voltages)
LLC = Enabled
C-STATES all enabled + SPEEDSTEP

- Stable as it is 100%. Temps in 60ºC in CPU.
- 4.0 I think it is done. Now I might try to bump to 4.2 and see what it got for me :)

Regards,
RicK
Nice nice! I've just placed an order for my X5670 to start my 3rd X58 build around the Asus p6x58d-e that I picked up. Twist this time, will try to run 8GB ECC Reg RAM sticks to max board out at 48GB total, beyond the "24GB max" limit
 

rickmig

n00b
Joined
Nov 5, 2020
Messages
8
Hi!
ChineseStunna i've order an X5675 also! Just to take some comparison. But for now i'm liking very much my W3680!
UltraTaco Well the step for 4.2, form me, is to push the multiplier to X21 (instead of X20 which is now) and bump the core voltage a bit maybe to 1.336v and QPI to 1.25v. And see how it goes from there.

- Another thing I'm curious about, is SDD / NVME performances in our beloved X58. I did some tests in the HDD's and SSD I have, and would to like to have some comparison just because if I buy a new hard drive I want to know if tis OK to go with SSD (Samsung Evo 860 for ex.) or NVME is worth it... I know there are some difficulties booting from NVME with X58 right?

Regards,
RicK
 

Attachments

  • CrystalMark.jpg
    CrystalMark.jpg
    306.7 KB · Views: 0

ChineseStunna

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2002
Messages
393
Hi!
ChineseStunna i've order an X5675 also! Just to take some comparison. But for now i'm liking very much my W3680!
UltraTaco Well the step for 4.2, form me, is to push the multiplier to X21 (instead of X20 which is now) and bump the core voltage a bit maybe to 1.336v and QPI to 1.25v. And see how it goes from there.

- Another thing I'm curious about, is SDD / NVME performances in our beloved X58. I did some tests in the HDD's and SSD I have, and would to like to have some comparison just because if I buy a new hard drive I want to know if tis OK to go with SSD (Samsung Evo 860 for ex.) or NVME is worth it... I know there are some difficulties booting from NVME with X58 right?

Regards,
RicK
rickmig very cool! I decided to stick with my trusty X5670 but X5675 definitely gives you an additional 1x on multiplier and I think W3680 is even stronger. Your first 128GB SSD benchmark looks off the charts, was it done with this board? Seems like there might be some caching going on.
Using NVME on X58 from my research seems doable and not hard unless you want to use it as a boot drive, here's a tutorial I found but didn't get to do: https://mrlithium.blogspot.com/2018/04/uefi-booting-nvme-on-x58-project-w.html
 

rickmig

n00b
Joined
Nov 5, 2020
Messages
8
ChineseStunna I think the RAPID setting from Samsung Magician was doing all the caching. I disabled it and got more real scores. Now looks normal? It was done in this system yes (asus P6X58D Premium). It's also connected to the SATA 2.0 port. I also have a SATA 3.0 (marvell) but i don't know if it's better... i think not.
Regards.
 

Attachments

  • CrystalMark1.jpg
    CrystalMark1.jpg
    73.2 KB · Views: 0

ChineseStunna

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2002
Messages
393
ChineseStunna I think the RAPID setting from Samsung Magician was doing all the caching. I disabled it and got more real scores. Now looks normal? It was done in this system yes (asus P6X58D Premium). It's also connected to the SATA 2.0 port. I also have a SATA 3.0 (marvell) but i don't know if it's better... i think not.
Regards.
Ah yes that makes a lot more sense and numbers look good. From everything I've read the marvel controller sucks on this board and perform worse than the SATA2 ports off the Intel chipset
 

rickmig

n00b
Joined
Nov 5, 2020
Messages
8
Hi all!
- I tried the SATA port 3.0 (Marvell) for the SSD and got a little bit better results in read tests and and some even below at write speeds... I think it's maybe a little bugged the controller... It takes much more time to load to windows and sometimes it got some jitters when moving arround windows or something. I reverted to the INTEL 2.0. In the real world I don't really see difference besides more stability in INTEL one.

- Meanwhile I got my X5675 yesterday! Time to do some tests. Installed it all OK.
- In BIOS i could see some diferences regarding W3680. The W3680 had option to change the turbo and cores max multiplier, which i've tried but didn't do much, or I don't know how to... TDP is now 95W (X5675) instead of 130W (W3680). And multipliers in X5675 goes from 12X to 23X (Turbo 25X). There's no 24X.
- For me, I went straight from my stable 4.0 with the W3680 (settings in post above) to the same in the X5675. Then for the 4.2 with 1.3v Vcore in the BIOS. Tested it and drop it until it become unstable = 1.270v~.
- Now i'm @ 4.2 Ghz with 1.296v MAX and going strong with all my usual tests/games!

- So conclusion (for now): The X5675 got to 4.2 with the SAME voltage as the W3680 and with lower temps! Right now i'm doing OCCT and max temp. is 50ºC. in IBT got me to 68ºC tops. Idles @30ºC. My case is NOT OPEN! Just for the record. Just upped the fans for testing. I'm using 3 more fans besides the CPU cooler.
- I think this chip is bit better overhaul in comparison of the W3680. Maybe lucky or the 95W giving some edge here I don't know...
- In the future will test it to 4.4 and see... I think I got som margin left from Temps. and Volts. In the W3680 I could also get to 4.2 but it required me around 1.35v+ and to daily use it got my fans to blow a little bit more and the noise it's not wotrh for me.

4.2 Ghz - 1.296v MAX read in CPU-Z - Vcore ( Multi X21) using offset voltage (+ 0.2250v).
BLCK = 200
North bridge = 3200 Mhz
QPI/RAM (VTT) = 1.25v
PLL = 1.80 (stock)
IOH = 1.10 (stock)
RAM (12Gb+6Gb Ripjaws)- 1600 Mhz @1.60v 9-9-9-24 1T
LLC = Enabled
C-STATES all enabled + SPEEDSTEP on
Temps in around 50ºC MAX while gaming and 68ºC peak while stress testing. 22ºC room temp. Idles @ 30ºC tops.
Cooler = Noctua NH-D15.

Regards,
RicK
 

rhkcommander959

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
337
Nice RiCK!

If you want NVME on x58 for boot you either have to find an older samsung 950 pro drive or similar with legacy boot, or using a boot loader on another device with something like Clover or DUET.

Here's my usual settings for the last several years lol:

4.2 GHz, 1.272 V
BCLK 200, CPU Multiplier 21. Speedstep on
QPI Link 3600
*QPI/RAM (VTT) = 1.25v
*PLL = 1.80 (stock)
*IOH = 1.10 (stock)
RAM 3x4gb Mushkin blackline - 2000 MHz 1.65v, 9-11-9-27 2T

* I think those are correct voltages for me, I'll have to verify.

averaging ~54ºC at full load without maxing out my fans, custom water loop with a triple radiator. ~23ºC idle with the CPU throttling
 

Deimos

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 10, 2004
Messages
1,036
Hi Rick.

If I remember correctly, the Marvell controllers on X58 occupy only a single PCIe lane, which means it is only fast enough for a single modern SSD (500MB/s max over SATA3). If you run more than one SSD on the controller, you will see a performance drop in some situations. Also, because it operates over the PCIe bus, there is more 'work' being done to access the data. Generally the Intel controller performs better in most scenarios for these reasons despite being only SATA2.

The reason why PCIe storage won't work on X58 is because the vast majority use NVME. NVME is an interface protocol over PCIe, so it had to be supported by the chipset. I think, from memory, thijs could be implemented with a simple BIOS update. There was either a compatibility issue with X58, or they simply didn't want to support the older platforms to encourage people to upgrade. Either way, NVME is unsupported on X58 to the best of my knowledge.

There are other, non-standard, storage devices that will work, but if you look at myu posts on page 1, they are a bitch to get working, and you have to compromise in some way. I gave up in the end.
 

jojo69

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
11,107
Samsung 950pro works fine

you are right about the Marvell controller though, just disable that, it's a waste of clock cycles
 

Edwired

n00b
Joined
Jul 23, 2022
Messages
9
Hi sorry to bump the thread I have this pc as my current daily runner
Xeon X5675
Asus P6X58D-E revision 1.01
DIMM1: Corsair Vengeance CMZ6GX3M3A1600C8
DIMM2: Corsair Dominator CM3X2G1600C8D
DIMM3: Corsair Vengeance CMZ6GX3M3A1600C8
DIMM4: Corsair Dominator CM3X2G1600C8D
DIMM5: Corsair Vengeance CMZ6GX3M3A1600C8
DIMM6: Corsair Dominator CM3X2G1600C8D
The only difference between the rams is rank, dram voltage and trfc the rest of the timings matched up
EVGA GTX 1060 6gb SC Gaming Single fan model
ANTEC HC850M
NZXT Phantom 530 black
Drive #1 - Crucial_CT256MX100SSD1 (238 GB) C:
Drive #2 - ST1000DM003-1CH162 (931 GB) D:
Drive #3 - ST500LM012 HN-M500MBB (465 GB) E:
Drive #4 - HGST HTS545050A7E680 (465 GB) W:
Drive #5 - ST500LM012 HN-M500MBB (465 GB) G:
NXZT 200mm front intake
NXZT 140mm rear exhaust
NXZT 120mm top exhaust
Noctua 120mm top exhaust
Noctua C12P SE14 heatsink with Noctua 140mm redux 1500rpm

BIOS Version 0803

BIOS Settings
CPU frequency 3.60 Ghz turbo to 4.1Ghz Idle vcore 1.288v and loaded 1.232v with no crashing
Host Clock Frequency 160 MHz
CPU PLL 1.820 V
CPU Voltage Auto
ICH PCIE 1.600 V
ICH 1.200 V
IOH PCIE 1.600 V
IOH 1.240 V
QPI/DRAM Core Volt 1.27500 V
CHA CTRL 0.500 X
CHA DATA 0.500 X
CHB CTRL 0.500 X
CHB DATA 0.500 X
CHC CTRL 0.500 X
CHC DATA 0.500 X
PCI-E Frequency 103 MHz
BCLK Frequency 160.00 MHz
DRAM Bus Voltage 1.65V
CPU Ratio 23x
Turbo Mode Enable Enabled
Enhanced SpeedStep Technology Enabled
CAS Latency (tCL) 8
RAS To CAS Delay (tRCD) 8
RAS Precharge (tRP) 8
RAS Active Time (tRAS) 24
LoadLine disabled

History
This computer has been through hell and back due to my parent's house caught fire back in October last year. Only managed to get the computer to work a few times after sitting for 2 month been exposed to smoke, moisture and heat. I cleaned everything from top to bottom worked for 2 months and the motherboard packed up and died last May 2022 it was Asus P6X58D-E Revision 1.00 I only had this board since February 2020 same day my father was diagnosed with Parkinson Disease as he was the one that told me to get the board unfortunate he lost the battle back in November 29th 2021 so the board have sentimental value to me
 
Last edited:

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
7,302
Hi sorry to bump the thread I have this pc as my current daily runner
Xeon X5675
Asus P6X58D-E revision 1.01
DIMM1: Corsair Vengeance CMZ6GX3M3A1600C8
DIMM2: Corsair Dominator CM3X2G1600C8D
DIMM3: Corsair Vengeance CMZ6GX3M3A1600C8
DIMM4: Corsair Dominator CM3X2G1600C8D
DIMM5: Corsair Vengeance CMZ6GX3M3A1600C8
DIMM6: Corsair Dominator CM3X2G1600C8D
The only difference between the rams is rank, dram voltage and trfc the rest of the timings matched up
EVGA GTX 1060 6gb SC Gaming Single fan model
ANTEC HC850M
NZXT Phantom 530 black
Drive #1 - Crucial_CT256MX100SSD1 (238 GB) C:
Drive #2 - ST1000DM003-1CH162 (931 GB) D:
Drive #3 - ST500LM012 HN-M500MBB (465 GB) E:
Drive #4 - HGST HTS545050A7E680 (465 GB) W:
Drive #5 - ST500LM012 HN-M500MBB (465 GB) G:
NXZT 200mm front intake
NXZT 140mm rear exhaust
NXZT 120mm top exhaust
Noctua 120mm top exhaust
Noctua C12P SE14 heatsink with Noctua 140mm redux 1500rpm

BIOS Version 0803

BIOS Settings
CPU frequency 3.60 Ghz turbo to 4.1Ghz Idle vcore 1.288v and loaded 1.232v with no crashing
Host Clock Frequency 160 MHz
CPU PLL 1.820 V
CPU Voltage Auto
ICH PCIE 1.600 V
ICH 1.200 V
IOH PCIE 1.600 V
IOH 1.240 V
QPI/DRAM Core Volt 1.27500 V
CHA CTRL 0.500 X
CHA DATA 0.500 X
CHB CTRL 0.500 X
CHB DATA 0.500 X
CHC CTRL 0.500 X
CHC DATA 0.500 X
PCI-E Frequency 103 MHz
BCLK Frequency 160.00 MHz
DRAM Bus Voltage 1.65V
CPU Ratio 23x
Turbo Mode Enable Enabled
Enhanced SpeedStep Technology Enabled
CAS Latency (tCL) 8
RAS To CAS Delay (tRCD) 8
RAS Precharge (tRP) 8
RAS Active Time (tRAS) 24
LoadLine disabled

History
This computer has been through hell and back due to my parent's house caught fire back in October last year. Only managed to get the computer to work a few times after sitting for 2 month been exposed to smoke, moisture and heat. I cleaned everything from top to bottom worked for 2 months and the motherboard packed up and died last May 2022 it was Asus P6X58D-E Revision 1.00 I only had this board since February 2020 same day my father was diagnosed with Parkinson Disease as he was the one that told me to get the board unfortunate he lost the battle back in November 29th 2021 so the board have sentimental value to me
Many of us donated our 1366 parts to long time members when we upgraded to newer setups. Is this your first time at Hard forums?
 

Edwired

n00b
Joined
Jul 23, 2022
Messages
9
No it ok not looking to buy or sell hardware I sign on here to find an answer to a problem I have
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
7,302
No it ok not looking to buy or sell hardware I sign on here to find an answer to a problem I have
well, if it's a faulty motherboard do to age and what not then it might require a motherboard replacement.
 

Edwired

n00b
Joined
Jul 23, 2022
Messages
9
no post no nothing I assume? try looking for power phases shorted to ground
Already checked for short on the broken board revision 1.00 it will power on but with beep speaker no beeps coming from bios even swapped ram sticks, cpu, gpu no change. But all the parts tested fine on working board revision 1.01
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
7,302
I have already replaced the motherboard that why there's two revision as it mentioned on my first post
at least one of the parts is clearly faulty, otherwise it would be powering on and posting...i had to replace the power supply 3 times in the 10 years i had my 1366 setup. keep swapping parts till it sorted out is what i always did...i have no way of being positive that your motherboard is 100% functional unless you had it working recently? i retired my system and donated the other parts on mine do to the motherboard developing issues do to old age and non stop usage. it sucks to trouble shoot pcs without being able to swap every single part if need be.:(
 

Edwired

n00b
Joined
Jul 23, 2022
Messages
9
I know where you are coming from as I know now it the cpu socket is borked due to several areas of pins is broken and mangled don't know how it happened. But did find a company in America that can replace the 1366 socket for something like €150 including delivery in the price. I never had issues with the power supply I have in the system. I have no issue on the newer board as it running since I'm typing on it now. As the broken board will be packed up in a parcel box and be sending it to the company for socket replacement as I have seen the amount of boards that he took personally to show his work on replacing sockets and I spoken to him directly by email about the success rate after the socket been replaced and he told me 95% successful as the other 5% failure
 

Deimos

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 10, 2004
Messages
1,036
Hope you get it all up and running. I still have my X5670 and P6X58D Premium running 24x7 as a file server and domain controller. The longevity of the enthusiast boards is extraordinary.
 

Edwired

n00b
Joined
Jul 23, 2022
Messages
9
Hope you get it all up and running. I still have my X5670 and P6X58D Premium running 24x7 as a file server and domain controller. The longevity of the enthusiast boards is extraordinary.
It be some day in a few weeks that I be able to send it away as money is tight as most of it is put into my parent's house in repairs it would cost about €75000 to fix it completely
 

Edwired

n00b
Joined
Jul 23, 2022
Messages
9
I nearly forgotten to show pictures of my pc it abit dusty and it abit different as it might trigger some people due to cable ties, different ram sticks and different fan. But it is how I like it. It pretty quiet and cooling is good since I'm controlling the cpu, gpu and chipset fan by Fan Control found on this link https://github.com/Rem0o/FanControl.Releases while the pc case fans is set to medium speed by the fan controller.
As shown I made custom graphs for the cpu (hottest core selected) and gpu each have it own algorithm based on temperatures so it can ramp up the fans when it going past certain threshold in the graph like example 40c core temp = 50% fan speed as you get the general idea where it going in the graph so it won't go flat out and be noisy at the same time. Since each points in the graph goes like every 3c = 3% or 7% fan speed. It work great on asus p6x58d-e as a replacement fan control software since asus never updated ASUS AI Suite to work on windows 10 due to compatibility issue.
Fan Control Custom Profile.jpg
My pc 2.jpg
My pc.jpg
 

rhkcommander959

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
337
Bent pins can be somewhat fixed by a fine needle, like a sewing needle, and a magnifying lens. I've had to use a mounted lens and two needles with both hands on some. There are a lot of unused pins, get a picture of lga1366 and check the bent pins. Missing pins are a lot tougher but sometimes you can jump a pad or ignore if it's not too critical. But having touching pins, etc is generally bad.

If you are trying the newer CPUs you'll need an updated bios to run them, you would need an old Nehalem to post and update bios for the westmere(IIRC) to boot.
 

Edwired

n00b
Joined
Jul 23, 2022
Messages
9
Bent pins can be somewhat fixed by a fine needle, like a sewing needle, and a magnifying lens. I've had to use a mounted lens and two needles with both hands on some. There are a lot of unused pins, get a picture of lga1366 and check the bent pins. Missing pins are a lot tougher but sometimes you can jump a pad or ignore if it's not too critical. But having touching pins, etc is generally bad.

If you are trying the newer CPUs you'll need an updated bios to run them, you would need an old Nehalem to post and update bios for the westmere(IIRC) to boot.
The other board I have a good number of pins broken like broken at the end of the tip some ended up getting stuck in the holes but the sad thing about it that before the pins got damaged it was having instabilities issues in stock and overclocked state before the fire happened and same issue after the house fire but the one I have running currently is a newer revision 1.01 along with the latest bios with updated microcodes and other bits added to it. I am having a hard time thinking should I send it away for socket replacement risking €150 and it may still carry over the instabilities issues or set the motherboard as display set on my computer desk.....
 
Last edited:

rhkcommander959

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
337
The other board I have a good number of pins broken like broken at the end of the tip some ended up getting stuck in the holes but the sad thing about it that before the pins got damaged it was having instabilities issues in stock and overclocked state before the fire happened and same issue after the house fire but the one I have running currently is a newer revision 1.01 along with the latest bios with updated microcodes and other bits added to it. I am having a hard time thinking should I send it away for socket replacement risking €150 and it may still carry over the instabilities issues or set the motherboard as display set on my computer desk.....
I would get a new board and either do wall art with the old ones, or sell as-is for parts. The socket is bad but somebody may need another piece from them?
 
Top