1366 x58 Xeon Enthusiast overclocks club

CruisD64

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
2,346
I just ended up picking up another X5650 for 8 shipped on eBay. Going to throw it on the last X58 mobo I have that still has an i7. lol

It's getting crazy how dirt cheap the lower models are becoming. I wish the higher X5680/5690 would creep down in price tho for my Dell T5500.

man...I wish the motherboards were 8 bucks too!
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
307
X58 loves tight timings, try to find some old ddr3 if you don't need a ton of capacity.

878.PNG
 

Susquehannock

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
4,400
It's getting crazy how dirt cheap the lower models are becoming. I wish the higher X5680/5690 would creep down in price tho for my Dell T5500.
The fluctuations are weird. Got an X5690 for my T5500 for $56 back in January. Too bad the W3680 are not compatible. Drop one of those in a T3500 for $45 and it's and it's an easy OC to 4ghz. Before everyone realized they are unlocked W3680 were down below $20.
 

FlawleZ

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
1,600
X58 loves tight timings, try to find some old ddr3 if you don't need a ton of capacity.
Nice speeds! Elpida Hypers? Reminds me of what the legendary Corsair Dominator GT kits were capable of.
 

Attachments

  • DDR3-2250-CL6-HyperPi32M-thumb.jpg
    DDR3-2250-CL6-HyperPi32M-thumb.jpg
    159 KB · Views: 0

Farkle

Lurker
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
1,609
X58 loves tight timings, try to find some old ddr3 if you don't need a ton of capacity.

--snip--

That's pretty sweet. 1.5v CPU scares me though. My old (mostly retired, rarely booted) audio workstation isn't as performant, and won't even post with 1T, even if I give the RAM 1.65v:

GkW2qff.png


I pretty much kept everything stock voltage (including core and IOH voltage), and disabled all of the watt saving/turbo features after a while, as I was seeing no real savings in electricity at the UPS when it was on. That CPU will max out at 4.4GHz@1.425v (48 hours Prime95 balanced, and RealBench for 6 hours verified), and will post at 4.6GHz then make it into Windows 10 probably 60% of the time, but it takes a lot of volts to get there: 1.495v for core, plus increases across the board, plus LLC enabled, and goes from 69-72c at load straight to 81.5-82c. I've got other X5675's that do far worse, and hit 72-75c at stock in turbo modes, relegated to T3500, T5500 and gathering dust in drawers duty. I'm always tempted to revisit memory timings, because the RAM that is in that system can actually do 7-8-7-24 2T in MemTestx86+ for 9 hours, but it will eventually fail with Prime95 balanced; which is why I just said to heck with it and let XMP profile take over. There's also the matter of for some reason a lot of the CPU I've tested have IMC on them that simply can't handle more than 3 DIMM with XMP timings.

Any tips on getting tighter alpha timings stable in Windows?

I've also had no luck trying the four sticks of RAM in tri-channel mode on this board, or the Sabertooth X58 board I've got -- it posts, it just won't ever actually boot Windows 10, just a loop with USB peripherals never initializing and having to power either machine down. I'm starting to think that feature never worked properly, or was intended for non-matched memory sizes as a budget option.

I sure wish I could find a golden sample CPU that will hit 4.6 GHz at an acceptable 24/7 voltage, and take 4 or 6 DIMM at tight timings without complaining, at that point I wouldn't mind going back to X58 as my daily driver just on principle.
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
307
Yup, Hypers, tho not as good as yours heheh. I don't know what they can actually do, as I haven't given more than 1.665v. With that I get 800 6-6-6-20 1T, 900 7-7-7-21 1T, 1000 8-8-8-24 1T. I pretty much only get 1 divider to play with. I would like to replace my X5690 with an i7 or a W series just so I can play with more speed. I also have a bunch of BBSE and some pretty decent PSC.

As for vcore, you can pretty much run what you want, as long as you can keep it cool. Don't forget, stock voltage tops out at 1.35, I say 1.375 because that's where the i7s top out for stock volts. 1.375 gets me 4300. Things start to warm up a bit at 1.4 which is 4.4 on mine, 4.5 comes in at 1.45, 4600 at 1.5, 4700 at 1.55, and 4800 comes in at pretty much 1.6v iirc. As for tips.. no not really.. you'd have to play with it.

X58 can be a bit finicky as you are finding out..
 

FlawleZ

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
1,600
Not mine just an example if what they were capable of from one of the guys on XS. I would like to try a kit on my X79 to see if the IMC is any better.
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
307
Its pretty much only forums will you find that stuff I think. I've looked a few times on and off nd came up empty. Not recently though. But there is way better stuff than what I have, but at least I can run cas 6 so in the end I cant complain much.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
It's honestly surprising how well this platform has lasted to be honest, im still running my rampage 3 gene with an X5660 at 4.1GHz daily, can do 4.4 daily with 1.4v and 4.6GHz for benching with 1.55v but i need a fan on the heatsink for anything past the 4.1GHz daily clock which doesn't work so well since i move this system around a lot as the system at the other halves shat the bed a few weeks ago (they only live down the road so it's not so bad) im actually eyeing up an X5680 off of aliexpress for like 30 quid which would get around the needing high bclk problem, do we have a rough idea as to what they clock like?

also as a secondary question, is running say 1.45v daily for these safe? like i don't mind running 1.45 daily on the X5660 since those are like 12 quid so no big deal if it dies, but i'd rather not have to buy two X5680s if i can avoid it, unless i also got a W3670 or something local as a backup
 

crazycrave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
1,545
I have the water blocks for it I never got around to installing .. now that I have my Ryzen 3600 running I may molt ball it again lol .

but I am not finish yet as it will be at 4.5 soon as I have a lot of voltage never used yet over 1.35v
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
307
I spent a couple of grand on my x58 setup when it was new, and honestly it has been the longest I have ever kept a computer. I used to upgrade every time something new came out, for like 10 years lol. But when I built my x58 I certainly didn't think I would run it for 10 years. But kids, life, bills all that happens, and next thing you know.. your not upgrading like you used too.. But this year will probably be her last year of service. She doesn't owe me anything. I did blow a fan header, but outside of that she is still fully operational, and still clocks the shit out of my old x5690 e.s. She will probably sit on the shelf next to the original Rampage Formula, which also has a blown header from the same fan lol. I loved that board, but not as much as I wuved my R3F. My wife and kids can fight over my z77 which also has a blown header.. from the same fan and I will build something new.. I have built high end AMD systems that last 2 months lol. Always had problems with mobo longevity, until I tried intel when Conroe was fresh. Never looked back until recently.. but I will probably just roll with what I know..
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
I spent a couple of grand on my x58 setup when it was new, and honestly it has been the longest I have ever kept a computer. I used to upgrade every time something new came out, for like 10 years lol. But when I built my x58 I certainly didn't think I would run it for 10 years. But kids, life, bills all that happens, and next thing you know.. your not upgrading like you used too.. But this year will probably be her last year of service. She doesn't owe me anything. I did blow a fan header, but outside of that she is still fully operational, and still clocks the shit out of my old x5690 e.s. She will probably sit on the shelf next to the original Rampage Formula, which also has a blown header from the same fan lol. I loved that board, but not as much as I wuved my R3F. My wife and kids can fight over my z77 which also has a blown header.. from the same fan and I will build something new.. I have built high end AMD systems that last 2 months lol. Always had problems with mobo longevity, until I tried intel when Conroe was fresh. Never looked back until recently.. but I will probably just roll with what I know..

it really has been a really long lasting platform hasn't it, I didn't start on X58 from new, my first X58 build was back in 2016 but it's always been the cornerstone of fun to overclock and not terribly expensive for the performance even to the point that i still use it to this day, really solid platform and it's still possible to pump out some decent scores, i recently scored 17.1k in firestrike with my X5660 at 4.6GHz, 24gb ram and my RX vega 56
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
307
Nice man. Yeah its been good. I didn't use a quad for very long, my only quad was a 965xe es that I ran at 4 or 4.1, and I think it maxed at 4.2, being a C0. Moved to a 970 and it was buttery smooth, but it clocked just like the 965 did. I knew someone with a 970 and had very different results. I ended up trading that cpu and 500us for the xeon. My hypers were probably the cheapest component heh. But I think this platform was definitely meant for hex's. Its just so smooth. But my brother hooked me up with his old z77 system and its been my daily driver for about a year and a half now. The kids fight over the roblox box now, and I just maintain it.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
Nice man. Yeah its been good. I didn't use a quad for very long, my only quad was a 965xe es that I ran at 4 or 4.1, and I think it maxed at 4.2, being a C0. Moved to a 970 and it was buttery smooth, but it clocked just like the 965 did. I knew someone with a 970 and had very different results. I ended up trading that cpu and 500us for the xeon. My hypers were probably the cheapest component heh. But I think this platform was definitely meant for hex's. Its just so smooth. But my brother hooked me up with his old z77 system and its been my daily driver for about a year and a half now. The kids fight over the roblox box now, and I just maintain it.

some of the quads were nice, i've used an E5640 and a few X5570s in the past and those were nice, for the 12 quid i paid for my X5660 you really can't go far wrong with that, and yeah this platform really was built from the ground up for hex cores too imo, these things fly with hex units, this is probably going to be my daily for the next year too or when im able to work again, whichever comes first :p but these are really lovely platforms for the money, my X5660 is a bit of a bad bin though mind you so im eying up a nice X5680 or something along those lines so i can run higher clocks without having to push the board too hard (with this being a mobile system i can't really have a fan pointing at the heatsink so much) but i reckon once I'm done with this I'll likely have it be my secondary as a permanent rig at the other halves place or just a backup or something
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
307
If you were going to do that, spend the few extra bux and get a W series. At least you have the option of playing with fast ram without having to run a high bclk. I might get one just to play with. I would sell my x5690 but its an E.S. so probably not worth the hassle.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
If you were going to do that, spend the few extra bux and get a W series. At least you have the option of playing with fast ram without having to run a high bclk. I might get one just to play with. I would sell my x5690 but its an E.S. so probably not worth the hassle.

yeah a W3680 is tempting but I could get a pair of X5680's for not much more (60 for a pair vs 50 for a W3680) and I always prefer to keep a pair handy in case I kill one when pushing bench numbers, that and with the X5680 I could be cheeky and grab a few hwbot first places ;P
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
307
Have you killed one yet? I may have tried a little a couple of times in frustration, but it didn't die. I think you will probably be ok.. 5ghz with air or water is a bit of a stretch, but anything under 1.6v should be ok if you can cool it.. might be tough to do.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
Have you killed one yet? I may have tried a little a couple of times in frustration, but it didn't die. I think you will probably be ok.. 5ghz with air or water is a bit of a stretch, but anything under 1.6v should be ok if you can cool it.. might be tough to do.

I've killed a few in the past when pushing for HWbot #1 scores so it's not impossible, but i have awful luck so I don't want to take any chances there, though what I'm likely going to do is get one X5680 for £32 off of aliexpress and one W3670 for £22 both including shipping, the W3670 has a large multi still and would do as a spare I reckon
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2018
Messages
1,005
Nice man. Yeah its been good. I didn't use a quad for very long, my only quad was a 965xe es that I ran at 4 or 4.1, and I think it maxed at 4.2, being a C0. Moved to a 970 and it was buttery smooth, but it clocked just like the 965 did. I knew someone with a 970 and had very different results. I ended up trading that cpu and 500us for the xeon. My hypers were probably the cheapest component heh. But I think this platform was definitely meant for hex's. Its just so smooth. But my brother hooked me up with his old z77 system and its been my daily driver for about a year and a half now. The kids fight over the roblox box now, and I just maintain it.
It's that triple-channel memory that helps them run so sweet, there's alot of bandwidth there that we just don't get to see because of the other bottlenecks. Load these babies down wil lots of ram, minimize the disk bottleneck, and it'll rock hard.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2018
Messages
1,005
So here comes the Stupid Question of the Day (SQotD):

How the hell do I overclock this bitch? Asus P6T Deluxe, X5670, Hyper 212, 12GB RAM.

I've never done this before, and don't know what tools I need to do it.

Again, as usual, thanks in advance. :cool:
 

slayer3032

n00b
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
5
So here comes the Stupid Question of the Day (SQotD):

How the hell do I overclock this bitch? Asus P6T Deluxe, X5670, Hyper 212, 12GB RAM.

I've never done this before, and don't know what tools I need to do it.

Again, as usual, thanks in advance. :cool:

Raise vcore, raise QPI/VTT, raise BCLK.

Lower uncore multi from 20x since you're probably not going to get more than 3400mhz out of it. Set the QPI speed to the slowest that isn't slow mode. Make sure your memory stays at an acceptable frequency like 1333/1600mhz@9-9-9-24-2T until you are done with your cpu overclock. Don't exceed 1.35v on the QPI/VTT, everything else isn't that important and a 212 should limit you enough that you'll overheat before needing to mess with other stuff. Probably turn off turbo boost too and use like the 22 multi, X5670 owners would need to chime in on what multipliers work well.
 

jojo69

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
11,121
Raise vcore, raise QPI/VTT, raise BCLK.
everything else isn't that important

I remember there being one voltage that had to stay within some tolerance of another voltage or you would burn something up...memory controller?
 

jojo69

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
11,121
hey guys

does anyone have a working ASUS R3F board they would part with, I think I just smoked one...and I would really like to put this system back like it was...
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
So, an interesting thing just fell into my lap, friend of mine upgraded to a coffee lake i5 thing (more of a side grade imo but his wife wanted him to get something that didn't use as much power or get as hot) and is selling on his X58 kit and has offered me his X5675, normally I wouldn't bother so much but this chip does 4.7GHz at 1.37v, he wants 40 quid for it which is a little over the odds for an X5675 (they're around 32-35 usually) but i think I'm going to go for it when i get paid, that's one hell of a bin
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
307
hey guys

does anyone have a working ASUS R3F board they would part with, I think I just smoked one...and I would really like to put this system back like it was...

How much? I've got one right now with an x5690 and 6gb of Super Talent Chrome Hypers. Has IO shield, that's about it. I could sell the whole thing if you want.
 

jojo69

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
11,121
How much? I've got one right now with an x5690 and 6gb of Super Talent Chrome Hypers. Has IO shield, that's about it. I could sell the whole thing if you want.

well, that's the exact question isn't it?
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
7,302
well, that's the exact question isn't it?
when my board started going bad i knew it was time to start over. i ended up giving my cpu and ram to one of the guys here but i want broke as a joke either. (some of these motherboards are pushing 10 years now right?)
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
307
well, that's the exact question isn't it?

Fair enough I suppose, I figured you would have had a price you were willing to pay already, and seeing some new hardware bits, I assumed you would have had an offer prepared. My kids use it right now so its not a big deal to me if I sell it or not. I was just throwing it out there.
 

Griffenxz

n00b
Joined
Apr 10, 2011
Messages
8
hey guys

does anyone have a working ASUS R3F board they would part with, I think I just smoked one...and I would really like to put this system back like it was...
Hey Jojo69 I have a Rampage iii extreme with 980x if you are still looking lnib
 

kamikazi

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 19, 2006
Messages
1,486
So, an interesting thing just fell into my lap, friend of mine upgraded to a coffee lake i5 thing (more of a side grade imo but his wife wanted him to get something that didn't use as much power or get as hot) and is selling on his X58 kit and has offered me his X5675, normally I wouldn't bother so much but this chip does 4.7GHz at 1.37v, he wants 40 quid for it which is a little over the odds for an X5675 (they're around 32-35 usually) but i think I'm going to go for it when i get paid, that's one hell of a bin

I have a x5675 in my wife's computer. Wouldn't 4.7 be a platinum plated, diamond encrusted, golden chip? I'd love to see that thing hooked up to a Kill-A-Watt while it's running full tilt. You could probably heat a small apartment with that.
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
307
Seems like a bit of a stretch, but its not unheard of. On extremely rare occasion you "may" come across one, but it would be extremely rare. I used to have a Q6600 that did 4000mhz with nearly stock voltage, but the heat it threw out was just about uncontrollable, at least with high end air. I ended up trading it and a few bucks for a 965XE ES, my first i7. My x5690 ES does 4700 with 1.55v in comparison, and maxes at 4800 with nearly 1.6v, or it might be 1.6v.. I don't venture to the limit too often these days, she had a hard life. I will tell you, I am on my second 850w psu with it, and I need a new one. It draws a shit load of power when you turn on the taps. 400w+ wasn't too difficult, but I'm not shy with voltage, some CPUs like it, some don't. For day to day stuff, I would think 4200-4500 should be fine, of course the more the merrier. But mine hates mother nature, and everything she stands for.
 

Vader1975

Gawd
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
820
I have twin X5690's with 96GB of ECC 1333 and a Vega Frontier all in a MacPro from 2009. NVME 1TB drive 3 512GB ssd's and a 5TB spindle with a USB3.1/C card.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
Here, quick question, the X5675 is just an X5670 with 1 extra multi step isn't it? I've not found all that much info on this unfortunately, I'm going to be nabbing this X5675 from a friend of mine but having never played with an X5675 before I'm not sure what the difference is, are they just better binned or is it an additional multi step? Many thanks in advance
 
Top